We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, clean place at good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seng Lao Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seng Lao Hotel
Ranked #49 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Hanoi
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean place at good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I would definately recommend this place. The room was very clean, the receptionist spoke English well and had some great tips, and the location is quiet but still central. WiFi is available only in the lobby, but it is comfortable and quiet there. The bed was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the stair, rooms on the 4th floor are the most quiet ones.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I did like Seng Lao, it was convenient to restaurants, shopping, nightlife, the river, etc. It was kind of what I expected at that budget level. Not an upscale, fancy place, just down to earth and you get what you pay for....even though the bathroom was bigger than mine at home. Aircon worked very well. The staff was very friendly and the owner is delightful. She speaks excellent English and helped me prepare for the New Year's celebrations! They also own the DVD shop next door. I was traveling for work, so used to a bit higher standard, but had a friend who stayed here and recommended it when I could not get in to my normal place because of the holiday. Not a snob, just not traveling on a budget. So, I was absolutely fine with the return for the money paid.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mowgli415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

The location of this hotel is central and is quite affordable. This newly built building is simple but looks neat. My room was simple, but clean and comfortable. It had air conditioning, a television, and nice beds. The bathroom is decent and has shower in it. The staff are charming and helpful. There are many restaurants in the vicinity of Seng Lao and so I tried a lot of them. They are good. My room was in the ground floor, so I had no problem of climbing stairs. But those who had rooms upstairs were grumbling about it as there were no stairs. I think this is the only demerit of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evascarellee551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

this is great hotel, nice room and clean

thank all

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david_moir960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2008

The Seng Lao was just what we were looking for as we had decided to check out of the Lane Xang (see review). It was closer to the centre of things, in an interesting building (an ex-cinema) and had a board out the front saying "Opening Specials". It turns out it has been open nearly a year but the special price is still only US$23 a night for a room with a/c, cable TV, a decent shower and good beds.

The lady who runs the place (whose name I regret not getting) is very cheery and helpful and has excellent English. Our room was on the third floor and there is no lift or bellboy so it may not appeal to everyone but the room was clean and comfortable.

There's nothing else included - no breakfast, no phone etc but that doesn't matter. There's about 10 good places to eat within 100m of the front door and your mobile phone will work fine (at least if you're Australian).

  • Liked — Simple, cheap, clean, friendly. Good location.
  • Disliked — All those bloody stairs.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hzbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.5 mi away
New Rose Boutique Hotel
New Rose Boutique Hotel
#13 of 97 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rashmi's Plaza Hotel
Rashmi's Plaza Hotel
#26 of 97 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sinnakhone Hotel
Sinnakhone Hotel
#31 of 97 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.3 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seng Lao Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seng Lao Hotel

Property: Seng Lao Hotel
Address: 47/1 Unit 12 Chao Anou Road, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Number of rooms: 201

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing