We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”
Review of Mixay Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mixay Guesthouse
Ranked #79 of 95 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed 2 nights in the dorm and it was very nice - very clean, aircon, quite. They clean it every day, the bathroom next door was also clean. Staff was friendly. Would go there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zusa_unterwegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 218 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

I don't know where tripadvisor has the prices from but the cheapest room we saw on their list was 10€~100.000Kip!
We paid 10.000 extra for TV.
The TV didn't work the whole stay and after asking fir payback - they just denie, turn around and walk off.
I mean it's just about 1€ but it totally matches the way the staff is serving you.
Lots of Ants in our room ( 3rd Floor ).
Windows, we could not close.
There always like 4 people at the reception, but no one ever said welcome to us...
breakfast is cheap and okay though

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lupus243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

We booked 6 rooms here upon arriving to Vientiane. It seemed. CLean and nice. Upon checking into our room we found hundreds of ants that had to be taken care of. As each day went on the staff at the front desk ( all cleaning staff were amazing ) became more and more rude. Some of my laundry was lost with no apology or compensation, and we were harassed from the moment we woke up to pay ahead for the next night- even as much as 5 hours before checkout. I would not stay here simply for the rudeness of the staff at the front desk. Rooms were $15 for a double occupancy with air con, which is way more than its worth. Don't even bother!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggieawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Staff were rude. On arrival asked to see a room and was presented with a check in form. Asked again and was given a key. Took a room, then at 9pm had one member of staff hammering on the door saying 'pay now, pay now!!'. He didn't ask for it when I checked in so I told him we would pay in the morning. After alot of arguing he relented. In the morning we paid, then he demanded the same money again! We walked out.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cheese_monkeyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

First of all, there is a cheaper place down the block, Youth Hotel, right next to Mixay Paradise.



Now, don't pay attention to the sign Free Wi-Fi, internet is sooo slow, you'll be able to go to Bangkok and back and your page will be still loading. The have cheapest internet they could get.



Most unwelcoming place I've been in to. It's like they are trying very hard to make sure that you feel as unwelcome as possible. Each floor has at least 10 signs about what you can't do, every room has about 6 signs about what you can't do and what penalty will be if you'll do that. They are treating you like you are a little kid from Eastern Europe traveling for a first time with his crazy uncle. 



Place looks and feels like you are at the hospital. Go there and you'll see what I mean.



Staff will wake you up at 8AM by talking too loud outside and then at some point someone gonna try to open your door without knocking, so you better be dressed and try to scare them on the way in. At least thats what I did.



So, if you are boring and cheap, you might like this place, but if you are just cheap, there is better places down the block, don't bring them business, they don't deserve it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dimaphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Was put in 'dorm' room (four beds in a very small room) with two much older men (I am female, under 21). Sheets were dirty, rooms was cramped, air con was stuck on full blast all night. Shower and toilet on this floor (very top floor) did not work and staff did not show where the ones of the next floor were.
All staff were unfriendly and unwilling to talk, let alone help with anything. Was not shown where the room was (on the top floor, up a rickety metal staircase that led to what was once the roof of the building but now has bedrooms built onto it). At checkout they seemed confused as to what I wanted and did not look at me once.
Friends staying in same guesthouse downstairs in a double room downstairs had to deal with the smell of sewage and the staff being noisy all night as they sleep in the reception area. Maps on offer were actually of Luang Prabang, not Vientiane, and all bus/train/trip services offered were more expensive that all other travel agents in the area offering the same thing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherlock1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This was the cheapest place in Vientiane that I found and I have been there about 10 times. Its very basic. If you dont get into town early its hard to get a room at all. You can come in after curfew.

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor are hot, as always
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.3 mi away
New Lao Paris Hotel
New Lao Paris Hotel
#53 of 95 in Vientiane
106 reviews
0 mi away
Sengphachanh Hotel 2
Sengphachanh Hotel 2
#77 of 95 in Vientiane
4 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
#16 of 95 in Vientiane
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#45 of 95 in Vientiane
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sinnakhone Hotel
Sinnakhone Hotel
#32 of 95 in Vientiane
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Lao Silk Hotel
New Lao Silk Hotel
#47 of 95 in Vientiane
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mixay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mixay Guesthouse

Address: Unit 506 Norkeokumman Road, Mixay village, Chanthabouly district, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 95 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: $10 - $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mixay Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Mixay Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mixay Guesthouse Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing