We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveler rating
246
106
71
18
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
106
71
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswould stay here againgreat hotelswimming poolbreakfast buffet isminute walknight markettuk tukquiet areathe ground floorbars and restaurantsnice roomhot watermekong rivergymbalconywifivietnamese
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 450 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2017 via mobile

Golden Sun Hotel.

Comfortable but a long way to go. Rooms are HUGE however are old and could be cleaned a bit better. Bathrooms are good and the hotel provides complementary soaps and shampoo. There is a pool on the 3rd floor. The sun hits it in the morning and early afternoon but after 2pm, it’s behind the building and it gets cold pretty fast. Towels are available but not always available. Just walk down to the front desk and they will send some up.
Breakfast in the morning is complementary. There is a chef to cook omelets for you. There’s also an assortment of breads, cereal, various hot and cold items, tea, coffee, juice and fruit. Word to the wise, not everything is covered and there’s an abundance of flies and mosquitoes buzzing around. Just be careful what you pick up that’s not been covered.
Front desk staff are helpful despite the language barrier. Just be patient and talk slowly. I️t will work out in the end. They also have decent, free maps of town available. Make sure they tell you that any credit card payments, like for your entire bill, will incur a 3% surcharge. I️t may not sound like a lot of money, however this was not communicated to me upfront. I see this as a deceitful way for the hotel to make a few extra bucks off unassuming clients. This really left a sour taste in my mouth.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank JNFII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2017

We stayed three nights in this property and our stay was really disappointing.

The overall building would need some refreshments: we had the feeling to be in an old and dusty manor. Perfect for Halloween time.

We could have been satisfied by our room if the cleanliness was not so poor [a lot of dust in the wardrobe, not able to use our balcony because the floor and the furniture were dark of dust] and the maintenance so bad [hole in the bathroom door, hole in the bathroom, few light switches were not working...].

Regarding breakfast: buffet didn't meet our expectations. It was supposed to be served from 6:30am to 10:00am but when we arrived at 9:45 am, more than 70% of the items were missing. We had to request for a refill. Overall, items were not tasty.

WiFi was really poor: impossible to load emails from our room. We complained and the receptionist gave us the password for an other WiFi only available in the lobby. Kind of annoying in such a property.

Service was average: staff may need additional training. For example, they forget towels when making-up the room and they lost our room-key card the second day.

To summarize: we clearly do not recommend this property. You can easily find the same kind of room and services in a better location at a cheaper price.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BTChevalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2017 via mobile

Positive:
- Amazing breakfast (served inside on ground floor - buffet: fresh Pho soup, fresh cooked eggs/omlette/..., fresh fruits, very good coffee, roasted toast and a few other warm dishes)
- 2 swimming pools - clean, good to relax
- Clean room
- Bus ticket booking - good price, worked well

Only small negative points:
- Location (about 15 min walk to the river, but that was ok for us)
- balcony not special (2nd floor, smell from kitchen, no special view)
- no safe in our room

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Weltenbummlerine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is an older style hotel but luxurious lobby and staircase.

Very reasonably priced.

Two pools and a small gym.

Walking distance from the city centre.

Breakfast was really good

Wifi better in some places than others

Would stay again

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile

Having booked through booking.com for a very reasonable price (discounted from usual rate), I decided to treat myself to a hotel with a pool, following three months of travelling.

The place is nice and central, although slightly off the beaten track. However, Go Dunk bar at the end of the lane is fantastic for both food, drink and atmosphere so that's a bonus. Easy access to the bus station in 20mins and the airport by tuk tuk in 10.

The hotel itself is nice, although the decor is massively outdated. A fresh lick of paint here and there would really transform this place into a 5* place. The rooms are large and spacious, although the air conditioning unit in mine was weak and barely offered any respite from the gruelling heat (Room 5511). The bed was nice a comfy, and a fridge in the room is a nice touch too.

The room came with free breakfast which was okay, but needs refining slightly, such as the constant topping up of the buffet dishes. The leftover bacon pieces an hour on were somewhat off putting. The airport transfer is also a great addition if you need it.

There are three things here though which make it great.
1) the staff - flawless from start to finish, always with a beaming smile on their faces
2) the pools - yes 2 pools! Both are clean and well equipped for any sunny days. Even better than one is 24hrs
3) the gym - a great little add on if you need that exercise during your stay

Good place, great people!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MattC1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews