We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveler rating
123
2
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house lao food fantastic hosts other guests stimulating conversation mike's tour cocktail hour welcoming home lao culture slice of paradise nice sheets served family style huge fish never stay anywhere else cope center stocked fridge home away from home
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 126 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2017

it is an unforgettable stay, Mike Boddington and his wife make you feel at home. Mike picks you up at the airport, takes you to town whenever you feel like it, and his wife is a wonderful cook. You have a very special breakfast in a peaceful atmosphere, surrounded by the jungle trees. All this is included in the prize. I spent Xmas with them, and fortunately did not choose a hotel. It was altogether a delightful experience.

Room tip: You have the choice of rooms or cottages if you are a family or a small group
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehentschel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikelao, Owner at Jungle House, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2017

Dear Elke
Among the range of very special guests that we have had, you go down as extra-very-special. You are a remarkable lady - 48 days on a container ship to get here! Wow! Thank you so much for being with us and sharing your Christmas with us. We truly hope to see you again and perhaps we shall be able to meet in France.
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2017

Jungle House offers the very best in personal service with Mike and Xoukiet truely looking after the guests one on one. The food is excellent and we enjoyed the meals enormously. Mike is a wealth of knowledge on Loas and this provided us with a great grounding for our trip through this beautiful country. Jungle house certainly started our trip through Loas on a very high, high and the positive mood that gave us prevailed throughout trip.

Room tip: Don't miss Cocktail hour.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikelao, Owner at Jungle House, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2017

Miss you both, Brett & Nikki! Thank you so much for being with us and for this lovely review. With any luck, we shall see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2017

Jungle House has hundreds of excellent reviews which tell it all. Mike and Soukiat give generously of their time and hospitality, making each guest feel very welcome and cared for. We can't imagine staying anywhere else on subsequent visits to Laos and will recommend Jungle House to our friends. The whole experience of staying there is unique and wonderful. Khop jai lay der.

Room tip: The cottage is quiet and comfortable.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ali575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikelao, Owner at Jungle House, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2017

Dear Brian and Alison
And you were superstar guests! We gained so much from you - with those marvellous Vientiane News editions from the 1970s, the meetings with old friends in town, numerous lively conversations, and much, much else. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2017

The previous reviews are correct: this is an exceptional establishment, with extremely high levels of care and attention; in a very individual way. In fact, our stay started not well, as there was a mix-up over arrival dates and hence we were not met at the airport as arranged; and our phones did not work and other problems. So by the time we had found the address, got a taxi, and were on our way, I said: "this is going to have to be REALLY exceptional to stop me writing a less-than excellent, non-5-star review". But it WAS exceptional, and this IS a 5-star review. Service is brilliant - but don't expect 'hotel' service - this is personal, with Mike doing most and overseeing all. Meals are taken collectively - lovely breakfasts, including excellent local croissants and local yogurts; excellent evening meals with good quality wines (after equally good pints of Mike's special gin & tonics); and Mike's tours of the city, and of the COPES Centre which he used to run, were instructive, interesting, entertaining, and (with the COPES one) sobering and shocking too.
So - very highly recommended, and although everything in Laos has been very good so far, he and Jungle House are the main reason for us to want to return to Laos!

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikelao, Owner at Jungle House, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2017

Dear Richard and Gill
I still feel very bad about that pick-up issue and cannot apologise enough, and nor thank you enough for overcoming all of the obstacles and battling through to Jungle House. And to come up with such a stunning review, after all of that .... thank you, thank you, thank you. And we hope so much that your steps will bend this way again before too much longer. Go well and stay well. Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2017

It is difficult to adequately express our thanks to Mike and Xoukiet for providing such wonderful hospitality and I think even more importantly for giving us true insight into life in Laos – not just the tourist version! I know that we have learned a great deal more than we would have if we’d just been staying in standard hotels. They introduced topics and issues that I had barely thought about before, and caused me to think more deeply about the world we live in and how it operates. I have a whole lot more thinking to do!

Nothing was ever too much trouble. How many hosts would arrange for a teenager's favourite cake for her birthday on the day of arrival! Lifts into town and back were provided as needed, washing was done, gin and tonics were poured, the dinners cooked by Xoukiet were local foods cooked and presented beautifully, and overall I think it was an experience that the whole family will continue to treasure.

Jungle House really does deserve it’s number one Vientiane B’n’B spot! Thank you for welcoming us into your home.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thornberrylara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikelao, Owner at Jungle House, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2017

Dear Lara and family
We loved having you with us and were much challenged by the younger members of your party! Intellectually that is!

Thank you so much for staying with us.

You are our hundredth reviewer on TripAdvisor and earn a free night for the family when you come back!

All best wishes
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews