We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vientiane Stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beau Rivage Mekong Hotel
Ranked #14 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Vientiane Stay!!!”
Reviewed March 9, 2010

We stayed at the Beau Rivage for two nights and highly recommend it as a mid-range hotel in Vientiane.

The rooms are unique without being tawdry. The bed was comfortable, the rooms are sizable, plenty of light and it is a quiet and easy hotel. Beau Rivage is small and at the end of the main road running along the Mekong. It is a quick and easy walk to coffee shops and the main strip (5 minutes). The Mekong itself is being dredged right now so the entire shore-line is not all that pleasant but it can’t be avoided and would be the case at any hotel.

We do recommend if possible that you request a room on one of the top floors--a better view of the river, though our room was on the ground floor and completely comfortable and private and you wouldn’t have known you were on the bottom floor.
Breakfast was also included with our room at a good restaurant/bar next door – the Spirit House and it made for enjoyable lazy mornings sitting outside. The drinks at the Spirt House were also good and the restaurant is a great spot for a sundown.
All in all the service and rooms at the Beau Rivage were comfortable and easy and we definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    159
    40
    8
    0
See reviews for
25
179
52
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We recently stayed at this hotel and very much enjoyed it. It has a great location on the riverfront but is removed from the hustle and bustle of the main streets.

The hotel is extremely clean and the rooms are nicely appointed though not fancy. The staff were very helpful and arranged to have motor scooters brought to the hotel for us so that we could tour around.

The hotel restaurant, The Spirit House, serves good and reasonably priced food and has a nice outdoor area right on the river. A lovely place to sit.

We were very happy with out choice and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vangr00vy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

We stayed in a room with river view. The room was great. Clean, spacious, well equiped and nicely furnished. It also had the best beds in Laos.
Staff is very helpfull and friendly.

There is no restaurant in the hotel, but breakfast is served in the Spirit House restaurant next door. We also had a great dinner there one evening.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaartenVWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
585 reviews
235 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

A small hotel, a guest house in some countries. Immaculately clean, well kept very large room. We had a front balcony room giving a good view of the Mekong river opposite although, being the dry season, the river was some way away across the dry river bed. Breakfast is served at the restaurant immediately next door either in their nicely decorated bar/dining room or on their veranda restaurant on the opposite side of the very quiet road looking over the river. The restaurant is a good choice if you don’t want to walk far in the evening. Great thought has been given to the furnishing and decorating of the rooms and the detailing is excellent. Some have criticised it for being chic and European but we liked it, look at the photos and decide yourselves. The road is unmade outside but does not make for a difficult or unsafe walk. And its only a short 10 minute walk to the riverside night food stalls. I love basic local eating places, but some of these did look a little too basic. City centre with the main tourist sights only a short tuk-tuk ride or 20 minutes walk away. The furthest point you’d want to walk, Victory Monument ( Patuxia) is about 45 minutes walk to give you an idea of how small the city is. A good location and really comfortable room at a good price.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KS&HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brasília
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Excellent restaurant and with good prices. Nice and cozy rooms. Breakfast not so great. Good and fast laundry service.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank augmello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley NSW Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

I choose this hotel for the location and uniqueness. I wanted to stay in only boutique style hotels for this trip and was not disappointed.
We stayed in the ‘blue room’ which has a front balcony with an outlook over the dirt road (this did not prove to be an issue and we stayed during the rainy season) with views across the Mekong River to Thailand on the other side. Very nice.
The unusual part starts with the spiral winding stair case from reception up to your room and then be warned it is all in one room – including the glassed in shower in the corner. Be sure you are ‘friendly’ with the one you share with. Fortunately the toilet is a separate room within the unit.
I loved the quiet residential neighbour hood this property was located in. Still close enough to town to walk or grab a tuk tuk if too hot for about $2 (i think, anyway it was cheap) to get you there.
Our accommodation package included breakfast daily next door at the Spirit house. We found the food fresh and the juice the sweetest I have ever tasted. For me the set breakfast option I choose of juice, coffee, croissant and fresh fruit was a fine amount, but the best part was just sitting back and watching the neighbourhood wake up and wander by doing their daily activities.
The Spirit House has some delicious and unusual cocktails made by the friendliest and most enthusiastic bar staff. There is one with mint....yum. while they are not giving them away, they are also the best quality cocktails by far I drank throughout our Laos holiday. So I guess they can afford to charge the around $7 Aussie per cocktail. Keep an eye out for Happy hour though. Do carry insect repellent and use liberally prior to taking up the Alfresco seating on the river bank, we did and had a great relaxing time and remained unbitten. For price, position and just sampling something a bit different i would definitely say give this place a go. Perhaps if you are planning on spending a lot of time in your room (why would you though?) go elsewhere and wouldn’t suggest bringing small children either.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suz003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

The hotel is located at the banks of the Mekong River, next to an unpaved road. Traffic is rare, restaurants and bars are all around. I had a room on the ground floor facing the backyard but was actually facing the reception area. For some privacy I did not open my curtains for the whole stay. So my room was dark all the time. Amenities are not available; you even have to pay for drinking water. Shampoo or body wash is not available; the TV is old and should be removed to a museum. WiFi-internet was very slow. Breakfast is served on a nice terrace on the river but the free selection is strictly limited and the service slow and lazy.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.0 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#11 of 93 in Vientiane
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#18 of 93 in Vientiane
508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beau Rivage Mekong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau Rivage Mekong Hotel

Property: Beau Rivage Mekong Hotel
Address: Fa Ngum Road | Ban Seetarn Neua, Vientiane 54120, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Vientiane
#4 Business Hotel in Vientiane
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beau Rivage Mekong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beau Rivage Mekong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Mekong Vientiane
Hotel Beau Rivage Mekong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing