We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Location”
Review of Lao Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lao Orchid Hotel
Ranked #11 of 94 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Location is definitely the biggest seller of this hotel. Rooms are nice and confortable. Staff is friendly. Breakfast is ok. I would definitely stay there again. There are a lot of bars around and the sunset is just a few steps away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 401 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

Nice, clean and friendly.
Our room was spacious, aircon worked really well, the bed was soft, but still comfortable and lovely soft pillows. Oh, and fluffy towels - the best in Laos so far.
Wifi was a bit hit and miss.
Only a few metres to the night markets and loads of restaurants.
Can recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissT603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I've been staying here regularly for work and I always look forward to the welcome at the Lao Orchid. The rooms are neat, tidy and spacious. The air-con works great! The staff are very helpful and the bar area offers a great breeze and a view of the city life as well as the Mekong River. It's in such a great location - close to some wonderful shops (Walkerman), the night markets and a range of traditional Lao and French foods.

Room Tip: They offer an airport transfer service - this is so helpful after the flight. Remeber to book this w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for four nights with my daughter - in a great spot close to river with a lovely breakfast area (try the omelette). Staff are lovely & helpful and rooms clean and quite spacious ( although I probably wouldn't go for an inside room!). Beds are nit as hard as other hotels. Interesting mixture of visitors makes breakfast entertaining. Lots of food within easy walking distance - would happily recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing street if you like to watch - not really noisy, but I'm sure the rooms facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinoniTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed with my family and friends for 2 nights. The room is clean. Service is good. Wifi throughout the whole hotel. Simple and nice breakfast served. Good Location to visit night market at the river side every night. Beautiful Sunset view beside the river. Lots of restaurant and hawkers stall at surrounding.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank erNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel and found it to be in a fantastic location near the night markets, river, restaurants and bars. The staff were exceptionally helpful. It is an older hotel but very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuegalCoffsHarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Lao Orchid hotel is a well furnished, well run hotel. We were very happy with the service and the quality of the hotel itself. Unfortunately for me, our experience at the hotel was ruined by the fact that the hotel clearly has no policy in relation to sex tourism. At breakfast there were quite a number of male guests who were accompanied by their young, female "escorts". I was astonished to see so many of the guests of the hotel with their "escorts". This is a really ugly side of tourism in Asia and I would like to see the hotel develop a zero tolerance policy in relation to the exploitation of young, vulnerable local women by male tourists.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
16  Thank Sanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 94 in Vientiane
953 reviews
1.2 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 94 in Vientiane
541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#8 of 94 in Vientiane
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#4 of 94 in Vientiane
476 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#5 of 94 in Vientiane
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lao Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lao Orchid Hotel

Address: Chao Anou Rd., Vat Chanh, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vientiane
#8 Business Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range: $67 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lao Orchid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lao Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lao Orchid
Lao Orchid Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing