We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location”
Review of Mali Namphu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mali Namphu Hotel
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed July 20, 2007

The hotel is in a handy location to walk to many places. The local area has some good bars, restaurants and shops. Easy to walk to the waterfront. The hotel has decent clean rooms and the breakfast in the courtyard in the morning was very pleasant. Just opposite the hotel is a good place to have an inexpensive massage too.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sydney_traveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 343 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2007

I've mostly been staying in 4-star hotels on my southeast Asia trip, but spent a few nights at the Mali Namphu guest house to save some money. It turned out to be a good, central option.

The place was on a little street that had, within a block, Internet and food stalls and a nice little place for massages. It's also near the 'international' corner of the city near Namphu Fountain, and just a few blocks from the coveted international ATM (which was broken on one of the days I was there, but working the other). Lots of wats nearby, walking distance to the morning market, the river's a few blocks away, and so on. Good location.

I had no problem with mosquitos while I was there. My room was a basic single, so on the fourth floor -- no lift of course, but I've been quite adept at climbing stairs while in Asia, and someone hauled my bag up for me. The shower had good pressure and hot water, the a/c worked (if was a bit noisy), and the TV had some English language channels. It was a small room, but bigger than you get in London for a lot cheaper. And I found it clean.

Breakfast, as a note, was different things different days. Sometimes they had two choices, to allow for a vegetarian (not vegan, there'd be eggs or milk maybe) option. It was a nice break from the standard 'bread and jam' or 'eggs' fare at most of the guest houses I stayed at when staying lower budget. And the eating area, the gardens, really was gorgeous.

Final note, if you're concerned about valuables, there's a few rows of safes at the front desk. You keep the key, and dump your stuff inside.

So this typically 4-star traveler can recommend it as a good little guest house.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rabidstoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2007

We were given a downstairs room in the corner of the courtyard. I can only assume the room had not been used for a few days, because we had a big mosquito problem. When informed the reception staff did come immediately to spray the room. -blaming the bedroom staff for not spraying it before our arrival. Bedroom service was very sloppy, with staff forgetting to leave towels etc. and we returned to the room one day to find an ashtray had been knocked to the floor, - not by us- there was broken glass everywhere.
The room itself was comfortable with multi channel TV and AC.
I enjoyed the breakfast choices each day.
Maii Namphu is well situated. Just a shame that sloppiness lets them down.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rawtalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2007

An amazing hotel for its value. Super-friendly staff, free breakfast and good location. Nothing more that you can wish for for your $16

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hessie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2006

Bit of a mixed bag. We booked a deluxe room for 3 nights and then extended it for a further 2 nights at the start - but they only had a standard room for the first 2 nights. We agreed to change after 2 nights, fair enough.

However, when we came to change rooms they had no idea what we were talking about and hastily moved around bookings to fit us in. When we got to the new room it hadn't been cleaned from the last guests and the a/c didn't work. Cue 3 hours of sitting in the courtyard waiting for it to be fixed. They told us it had been fixed but it still didn't work! We eventually moved back to another standard room which had a very musty smell.

Decided for sheer ease to book here again after a 2 night trek and requested they keep our bags for us. They tried to put us back in the no a/c room and we had to specifically ask to book a different room (cycnical? us?). Glad we did as when we came back the room had all the windows open and bits of a/c unit in the courtyard!

However, the deluxe room was very nice and excellent value - only $1 more than standard (well worth paying, even if just to save an extra 2 flights of stairs!). The courtyard was very pleasant and breakfast was nice though often unusual!

Staff were very friendly, though not great when anything goes wrong. Would recommend - but don't stay in room 212!!

Stayed: November 2006
1  Thank LucieandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2006

The room was just acceptable but the service was great. Unfortunately we had our bags snatched when we went cycling. The hotel staff was very helpful in accompanying us to the police to lodge a report.

Stayed: November 2006
1  Thank dctperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2006

We stayed at this Guest House for three nights in October. It is a great location and provides good value for money. The rooms are basic however they do have a good bed and air conditioner. There is also a TV and breakfast is included in the price for the room (US$17). We would definitely stay here again, the staff were very good.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kosta100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.5 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Family Boutique Hotel
Family Boutique Hotel
#14 of 97 in Vientiane
200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#23 of 97 in Vientiane
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#7 of 97 in Vientiane
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
#15 of 97 in Vientiane
78 reviews
0 mi away
Vientiane Luxury Hotel
Vientiane Luxury Hotel
#27 of 97 in Vientiane
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mali Namphu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mali Namphu Hotel

Address: 114 Pangkham Road, Vientiane 0100, Laos (Formerly Mali Namphu Guest House)
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range: $26 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mali Namphu Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Mali Namphu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mali Namphu Guest House Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing