We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mali Namphu Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$104
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$86
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$52
ibis
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dhavara Hotel(Vientiane)
$111
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$43
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
$52
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lao Orchid Hotel(Vientiane)
$58
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vayakorn Inn(Vientiane)
$29
$26
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveler rating
93
125
87
34
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
125
87
34
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffet breakfast was greatgreat gardenmr samguest househighly recommend this lovely hotelgarden viewminutes walk to night marketgreat hot showerstrong wifithe room was nicehotel locatedswimming poolwat sisaketgreat wifienjoy your staycomfortable bedwithin walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 353 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Much of our trip to Vientiane, my parents and I looked to find a place that would satisfy my parents very stringent standards at a decent price. And for that very reason we switched between 4 different hotels in the span of 5 days! This seemed to be our final stop though.

Firstly, for the most part, due to the increasing construction work in the city central, most preceding places suffered noise pollution. Another criteria was cleanliness which had failed us two nights ago. Also to fit an odd number of people had proven to be a challenging task. Last but not least, due to mom's injuries we tried to avoid stairs as much as possible.

We had gotten a place opposite the garden area with a queen size and a single bed. So the issue with the numbers was then no more. And the price also seemed decent for 3 people. The room being on the ground floor meant no stairs at all. It was a clean room too but also had a bad mosquito problem. But nothing that couldn't be solved with a spray.

Room Tip: Try the rooms on the ground floor with a window facing the garden area. Ask and you shall be granted.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aboo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This guest house enjoys a very good location that is walking distance few main tourist attractions in town. Few Indian restaurant are also nearby. The staff are friendly, accommodating and able to speak reasonable English to be able to get the message across with little difficulty. However, on our first night, we found the room infested with mosquitoes. After we complained, the staff sprayed the room that helped!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor that has less mosquito problem.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bala P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I fully support the majority of positive reviews here.The hotel could scarcely be in a better area for either business or pleasure.The Mekong riverside and Presidential Palace are both within a couple of hundred of yards which helps with orientation.I fully agree with the amenity afforded by the courtyard and believe the breakfast served there is more than acceptable for the Hotel's standard.
WiFi is supported by a strong signal and there are also 3 desktops available for guest use in the foyer.
For the price paid and service received I will happily visit the Mali Namphu again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear building.You can avail yourself of late afternoon sunshine from the table and chairs provided outside your room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crooked Nose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Locating the guest house was not easy. Trying to ask around does not help as not many locals know about it and on top of that, most Laotians could not speak English.
Here is a tip, just search around the stretch of shop houses along Vientiane famous touristic landmark, Nam Phou Fountain, and you will find it hidden among other shop houses.

The front view of Malinamphu Guest House might mislead you to think that it is a small, narrowed house. However, do not worry, the house opens up to a big and spacious courtyard inside and it was rather comfortable to be in.

The room was relatively clean though nothing impressive.
A note to be taken is that they close the front door at midnight. You have to alarm the guards to open the door for you if you are planning a late night out.

Breakfast is worth mentioning as they arranged our breakfast to be served in its opened-air courtyard.A sufficient range of Western and local choices was given and we were pleased that
each of us could choose up to 2 main dishes and 2 drinks of our preference from the menu.

Overall, we had a rather pleasant stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikiKhaiLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The location is very central. Restaurants and shops are nearby. A short walk will bring you to the Mekong Rivierpark, another stroll to Wat Si Sukat. And yes, the courtyard is very lovely. But would you stay just for a courtyard? My room was very small with only a window facing the courtyard. A lot of people are walking by, so you have to close the curtains. Otherwise you won't have any privacy at all. Breakfast was average. And I definitely paid too much for what I got.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors. you will have more privacy there
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotter045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews