We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, lovely courtyard, but too expensive for what you get.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mali Namphu Guest House
Ranked #14 of 197 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Haacht, Belgium
Level Contributor
365 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Central location, lovely courtyard, but too expensive for what you get.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The location is very central. Restaurants and shops are nearby. A short walk will bring you to the Mekong Rivierpark, another stroll to Wat Si Sukat. And yes, the courtyard is very lovely. But would you stay just for a courtyard? My room was very small with only a window facing the courtyard. A lot of people are walking by, so you have to close the curtains. Otherwise you won't have any privacy at all. Breakfast was average. And I definitely paid too much for what I got.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors. you will have more privacy there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    104
    76
    28
    10
See reviews for
16
85
50
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our room had a leaking roof so we had rain water dripping through. the night staff were as helpful as they could be and attempted to cover it of some sorts. We had reported the hole in the roof to the day manager on arrival but nothing was done at all. The bathroom was dirty and the shower head fell off the wall mounting so couldn't be used properly. Which for a room charging over $30 per night was below par.

We stayed in iHouse next door the following night. Fantastic room, clean, comfortable, had a TV to catch up on western news and a quiet nights sleep and it was cheaper!!! I'd advise stay at iHouse. They were also able to sort us a good deal on onward transport.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiera o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The location of the Mali Namphu was very handy to a lot of the attractions in the area and of a very decent standard. Clean and tidy. The breakfast they provided was really nice and had more options than I was expecting! They serve you in a lovely outdoor courtyard area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have been staying at Mali Namphu since 2005 but decided this is the last. Prices have doubled in that time, but we ended up in a cramped room on the 4th floor ( no lift!). Breakfast was mediocre with poor quality fruit and little variety. Ambience of patio garden spoilt by construction going on. Better, cheaper options in the same neighborhood.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

It has a nice courtyard concept & quiet place to have a cool breakfast. Staff were very friendly & always helpful. They were cooperative in arranging the bus tickets.
Since it is a courtyard concept, the windows of the room face the corridor & hence lack privacy-nothing much can be done for a courtyard model.
Few people have complained of construction noise - this is unavoidable in developing countries since neighbors are allowed to have their own construction rules! During such time it might be better to opt for a lower floor room.
End of the street has a pleasant street plaza with a water fountain-nice place to hang out in the evening. Location is also central walking distance to most places.

Room Tip: Since a neighbor is constructing, avoid upper floor rooms close to it for noise problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kumaresh_sekaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Avoid the rooms in the old building. The room I got was old, air-con not working well and bad smell from bathroom. Very disappointed! and overpriced! The construction work starts from early morning, be careful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnjoyBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just come from spending Xmas and stayed at a Clarion hotel in Prague for the same money. What a difference! This hotel is rubbish. The booking was mishandled. There are extensive building works going on throughout the day. At night the noise pollution from the surrounding area makes sleeping almost impossible. Breakfast is a joke. The rooms are tiny and we found old tissues and a used condom under our bed. Do not give people like this even one cent please.

Room Tip: Choose a different Guest House
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 293950JohnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.3 mi away
Riverside Palace Hotel
Riverside Palace Hotel
#24 of 94 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 94 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 94 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 94 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 94 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mali Namphu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mali Namphu Guest House

Property: Mali Namphu Guest House
Address: 114 Pangkham Road, Vientiane, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mali Namphu Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mali Namphu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mali Namphu Guest House Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing