We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, comforatble and well located”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Khamvongsa Guesthouse
Ranked #55 of 197 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent, comforatble and well located”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We followed reviews to choose this place and were not disappointed. It is very well situated for visiting the main sites in the centre of town, very close to the river and the night-market, yet far enough away to be quite and peaceful too. Rooms are very comfortable and spacious, with tasteful decor of dark wood furniture and floor boards, and a colonial style feel to the rooms and interior, despite the unassuming facade of the exterior. Staff were very helpful and spoke good english. Good value for money too. Due to a late change of plans and to our itinary we had one of the loft rooms and a single room for our 12 year old niece. Both were excellent. If your budget stretches to the loft rooms - they are very spacious and comfortable suites with a small kitchen area, living room area and mezzanine bedroom. Breakfast was good, with strong Lao coffee served in the comfortable dining area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
9
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

After reading reviews of this hotel i had high expectations and yet was sadly disappointing. The smallest request like an extra bath towel (it had been raining heavily) was looked upon as a huge inconvienince for the staff. Not only this but my room was cleaned for the first 2 days of my stay. I mentioned to reception and they were apologetic. The breakfast was good but there was no City Information around or anyone i felt could help me. Very limited engligh apart from the reception Girls, but always seemed too busy to help.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Nice little guesthouse that is ideally situated in central Vientiane. We stayed there after reading previous Tripadvisor reviews and did not regret our decision. We also happened to be in Vientiane during the Laos New Year (in April) which was quite an experience and something I would recommend to anyone planning a trip to Laos. They really get into their celebrations !!

Guesthouse pros: Very clean, they spoke excellent English at reception, although it was a central location, it was quiet, nicely decorated guesthouse, fantastic breakfast and lots of choice and free wifi

Guesthouse cons: not much of a view from the room, a wet shower so water tends to go everywhere in the bathroom, hard bed (but found this everywhere in SE Asia)

Value for money score: 9/10

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back because they are quieter, we had room 402
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woorim, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This place is great value for money and in a great location central to the main street and river and in a quiet area. If you accept what Laos is like, then the room, service and staff are excellant. Desk staff do have limted english skills, but they helped us and did everything possible to make it work. Breakfast was great and if going back to Vientiane would defnitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Gorgeous colonial style mid range hotel in perfect location - pagoda across the street, riverfront around one corner and main street around the other, with a 30 second walk each side. The room and en-suite were beautifully decorated and spotless. The staff were very helpful and sweet. But the best thing was eating breakfast in the lovely restaurant - five delicious sounding options, though I went for the amazing and very unique "Guatemalan Breakfast" each time. I stayed three nights, one at the top and two at the tail of the trip, each time in a different room and with different staff on arrival. I couldn't recommend it enough for anyone happy to spend a little more. Worth every cent!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed there for the 4th time. It has been good as always. Its quite popular among the business travelers. However, you can sense its getting old.
Wood finished hotels face these issues. I would suggest the management changing the bed to new ones and low height ones.

As the guest house is frequented by the business travelers, they should also provide cabs for day usage. I mean good to have this service, at least with tie-ups.

The management should think about refurbishing the hotel and make it enclosed to get rid of the mosquitoes.

No issues otherwise.

Room Tip: All are equally good. Avoid choosing the ones that faces the road and avoid the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellersg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a double room for $40.

Pros:
- Beautiful hotel, very classy.
- The room was nice, in a walk-up 3rd floor, nice windows and light, very quiet
- the included breakfast is good (although nothing outstanding as other travellers think!)
- the staff was helpful; some didn't speak English, but they would find someone who did and help you booking transfers...
- it is well located, a short walk distance from almost anywhere

Cons:
- the bed was pretty hard
- the water pressure wasn't outstanding and I didn't like the open shower, you would get the rest of the bathroom wet all the time
- the Internet didn't really work for us: we soon found out that it's the norm in laos rather that the exception!)

Verdict:
Very nice charming hotel. The silence made up for the hard bed. For the price, it's very nice and elegant.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so choose accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jutrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.0 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
468 reviews
0.0 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
905 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#18 of 93 in Vientiane
502 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mali Namphu Hotel
Mali Namphu Hotel
#7 of 197 in Vientiane
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khamvongsa Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khamvongsa Guesthouse

Property: Khamvongsa Guesthouse
Address: Khounbalom Road | Opposite Wat Mixay, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing