We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired Hotel in need of a Facelift”
Review of Inter Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inter Hotel
Ranked #100 of 197 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Noosa Queensland Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tired Hotel in need of a Facelift”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I found this Hotel to be lacking in providing an acceptable standard of Hotel Room.
On check in upgraded to a supposed "Deluxe Double" room which is a corner room with Partial Views of the Mekong (the river is was a long way when I was there because of a large sand bank,so the view factor not that important!!!!!!).
1--The rooms looked nothing like the photo's provided on Trip Adviser and Agoda (the Standard or Deluxe rooms). I think these Photo's were taken 10-15 years ago, of a Suite room or something but be warned they are not the same!!!!!!
2--The Deluxe double was a mattress lying on a raised timber step in the corner with the
bathroom next to it, ie no proper bed, lights,powerpoints, no access to side of mattress
(found this a bit lacking in a "Deluxe Double").
3--Paint falling off in room with mould on ceiling and walls with masonary missing etc....exposed
electrical wiring, tap handles falling off,noisy air con. the list goes on.
I only paid $30 a night for 2 nights but after looking at some of the Guesthouses down the road on the side streets you can definitely get better value for money in something thats not a "TIRED HOTEL IN NEED OF A FACELIFT".I'll only mention the GOTHIC/CHINESE/OUT THERE Interior Design of the place (needs to be seen to be believed)......

PS I found the free Breakfast to be very good with Omelettes cooked on demand as long as you got their early 6:00-7:00am while it was still warm/there.
Staff were also friendly and helpful!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxTheMadDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    176
    63
    25
    11
See reviews for
8
29
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Good and clean hotel in good location near Mekong river and beach "boulevard". View to Mekong river and Thailand from room balcony. Friendly and helpfull staff. Motorbikes could be parked to sidewalk in front of hotel. Breakfast average/basic. Good value.

Room Tip: Balcony facing Mekong river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sangsomset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

POSSITIVE THINGS:
Good hotel for a Budget traveler who likes to stay in a hotel
Intercity Hotel is in a very good location.
Rooms are clean and spacious.
River view
Nice Friendly and helpful staffs.
You feel calm and comfortable.
Cheap when you book via Agoda.

NEGATIVE THINGS
Breakfast is a disappointment (Don't worry, there are a lots of choices near by the hotel)
No English speaking staffs at the Reception.
Invalid info Mail address (in case if you want to contact the Hotel)
Updated computer for guest use in the common area.

But It is a good hotel i can recommend to all kind of travelers. You will be satisfied.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chefsiju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klong Luang, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

This is an excellent choice for a budget stay in Vientiane.

For around USD 45, I had a huge, clean room with polished parquet flooring, overlooking the Mekong.Not noisy at all, despite being next to a well known night club/bar, and excellent location. Good free wireless internet. The bed is ok - comfortable enough. The windows open, so on a cool night, you can use the ceiling fan - no need for air conditioning.

The breakfast is average, in a dark, unappealing room at the back of the hotel. Otherwise, very good.

Room Tip: A room at the front, overlooking the Mekong, and preferably on the left hand side, away from the nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonathanshawThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

The room was spacious ,nicely antiques decorated and clean.The breakfast was included.
Great sunset and sunrise facing the Mekong river, walking distance to nightly attractions and restaurants. The staffs were very helpful and friendly. There is a night club right next to it ,very noisy until midnight .
have a great stay:)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islanderbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

I booked six nights there in one of the two executive suites at 75$. Nice decor with antiques. Some travelers have complained of the noise from the bar next door but honestly I could not hear over the whirring of the aircon unit in my room. Wifi in the room does not work. When I complained that one of the bathroom towel had been badly washed, they wanted to charge me 10 dollars for having stained it. They called a taxi for me to go to the Thai consulate at a rate of 10 dollars. Coming back from there to the hotel with a meter taxi cost me 3 dollars.
They call themselves a boutique hotel but seem to cater to low-end package tours. Buffet breakfast is minimal.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AsiaHandMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

I paid us$35 for a room at the rear of the property after talking myself out of the $55 riverside rooms.
I would say that it was very overpriced for what i paid given other properties in the vicinity that were better at almost half the cost.
Whilst the hotel has a nice foyer and friendly staff and restaraunt i would say that i was almost dissapointed with my room as the shower felt like small drops of water and toilet did not flush properly and also had a flimsy lock on the door.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussietraveller2647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.5 mi away
City Inn Vientiane
City Inn Vientiane
#14 of 93 in Vientiane
370 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#10 of 93 in Vientiane
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.2 mi away
Lao Silk Hotel
Lao Silk Hotel
#44 of 93 in Vientiane
97 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Lao
Villa Lao
#35 of 100 in Vientiane
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inter Hotel

Property: Inter Hotel
Address: 24-25 Fa Ngum Road, Ban Wat-Chan Chanthabury District, Vientiane, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Inter City Vientiane
Hotel Inter City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing