We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for chilling out”
Review of Villa Manoly

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Manoly
Ranked #29 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Vientiane
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Traveling with 2 children the Manoly was perfect. Large gardens to run around and a pool, great to retreat to after full days sightseeing. There are two family rooms which are adjoining rooms, we stayed here twice on this trip rooms 205/206 are slightly better than 203/204. Can recomend this hotel for friendlyness and location, just far enough out but still close enough. With kids would recomend hiring bikes for the duration of stay in city then getting anywhere is a breeze and kids loved wizzing around.
also round the corner fromteh hotel is the must see Cope Museum, not well publicised but not to be missed.
Guay is a star, the owners should value this young man as it is his personality that makes this hotel especially memorable. When Guay has a day off the service standard declines.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 80 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

Fantastic place to stay! The best things about this hotel were the beautiful, quiet garden, the big size of the rooms and the lovely wooden decor. Villa Manoly was a great place to relax.The downside of the beautiful garden is that there are LOTS of mosquitos. If you're planning to stay here, you'll definitely need to plan for how to avoid getting bitten and get a good night's sleep. Luckily we'd brought a mosquito tent with us, so we had no problems. Maybe email ahead and ask the hotel to prepare a mosquito net for you.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank dbmonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

What a charming colonial style home with character, looks lived-in, with overhanging vines, shrubs, a pool, and a nice outdoor eating area where breakfast was served. Guay (I apologize if the spelling is wrong) was our host, had a great sense of humor, and made our stay memorable. Our room was on the first floor in the old wing for $25.00 a night and included a nice little terrace with chairs to relax after a day out and about. While on the first floor, the terrace and room felt quite quiet and private, perhaps due to the surrounding shrubbery and landscape design. Our bed was comfortable and the room clean. Another perk of this place is the sweet and charming cafe located a block away called Kung's Cafe Lao. Be sure to go! Ask Guay about how to get there if you're not sure.
Willa Manoly is about a ten minute walk to central Vientiane and we couldn't have chosen to stay in a better area. It is a bit removed from everything but not far or out of the way by any means! Perfectly placed, quiet and a nice walk to and from the central area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at Villa Manoly for 3nights as a couple- We stayed in a downstairs in a new wing room overooking the garden and pool. The Villa is about a 15 minute walk from central Vientiane but that was an attraction as it was not noisy at all. Rooms are basic but clean and serviced each day. Garden relaxing albeit a bit run down but pool was regularly cleaned. Service staff were friendly and some residents seemed to have stayed for extended period of time. Continental breakfast served daily in the garden setting and comprised breads, fruit and eggs plus of course tea/coffee. Laundry can be done by local trader who has a shop opposite and will deliver clothing back to Manoly Villa.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rh0nda58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hotel was brilliant, it's in a great location, get service and there's a pool with sun chairs surrounding it! What more could you want. With just a 10min walk from the Vientiane night market. This place is great for relaxing in the garden. There is a great pizza restaurant and cafe near by. The service was great, Guai (a staff member) helped us book a bus for the following day. The first time we stayed ther the room we were had a very hard bed but the second time was a big improvement!!! In all would highly recommend the place to any family wanting a great location just out side the busy city, a pool, great service and a great atmosphere. Defiantly a great stay and would go back again

Room Tip: Don't get room 107 the bed was really hard and springy. A price for a tuk tuk to the night mark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airya456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The service at Manoly Villa was excellent. Guay (spelling?) was brilliant. He had excellent English and was always happy to help, book tickets etc. you pay a few kip more (10,000 extra per ticket -$1.20) but he organised to us to be picked up at the door and taken to bus station - it would have cost us more than that to get a tuk tuk or taxi. The only bad part was the bed in our room was very hard, you could feel all the springs. The second room we had was only slightly better. Overall, the value $45 for a family room 2 adults, 2 children 5 min from the centre of town was great. My children loved the pool too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PIcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

A lovely place set in beautiful gardens about 15 minutes walk to the fountain. The location is gorgeous and very very peaceful. Just up the road there are a couple of local restaurants and also a nudle shop and a great pizza place. A nice massage place is right next door and Si Mueng a short walk away. Here is a great deli nearby too.
Rooms and adjoining bathrooms are a great size every room has its own outdoor area with seating. Upstairs it is on a balcony and downstairs a little landing right outside your front door. The balconies and the landings look onto a lovely pool.
But everything needs maintenance. I have stayed in three different rooms. Each of them needed loving care. Bathroom fittings had been plastered to hold the, together. They weren't dirty but definitely could not be called clean. Lightbulbs in all rooms were missing. The doors had gaps in the woodwork so bugs come it. On one door someone had patched it with bits of toilet paper and masking tape. It stopped the bugs.
Apart from noisy residents and a few doors that scrape the ground when opening it is very quiet and thats why I kept going back.
Despite its few shortcomings it is great value for money and I would go back if looking for a quiet and cheap,place to stay

Room Tip: My favourite room was 207. Room 208 right next door was nowhere near as nice and needed a bit of TL...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poohtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.9 mi away
Vayakorn Inn
Vayakorn Inn
#27 of 95 in Vientiane
169 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chanthapanya Hotel
Chanthapanya Hotel
#23 of 95 in Vientiane
164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#9 of 95 in Vientiane
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#20 of 95 in Vientiane
520 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#4 of 95 in Vientiane
476 reviews
2.1 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 95 in Vientiane
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Manoly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Manoly

Address: 29 Ban Phiawat, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Vientiane
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Villa Manoly Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing