We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wee oasis”
Review of Villa Manoly

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Manoly
Ranked #26 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Vientiane
Reviewed December 16, 2013

A lovely place set in beautiful gardens about 15 minutes walk to the fountain. The location is gorgeous and very very peaceful. Just up the road there are a couple of local restaurants and also a nudle shop and a great pizza place. A nice massage place is right next door and Si Mueng a short walk away. Here is a great deli nearby too.
Rooms and adjoining bathrooms are a great size every room has its own outdoor area with seating. Upstairs it is on a balcony and downstairs a little landing right outside your front door. The balconies and the landings look onto a lovely pool.
But everything needs maintenance. I have stayed in three different rooms. Each of them needed loving care. Bathroom fittings had been plastered to hold the, together. They weren't dirty but definitely could not be called clean. Lightbulbs in all rooms were missing. The doors had gaps in the woodwork so bugs come it. On one door someone had patched it with bits of toilet paper and masking tape. It stopped the bugs.
Apart from noisy residents and a few doors that scrape the ground when opening it is very quiet and thats why I kept going back.
Despite its few shortcomings it is great value for money and I would go back if looking for a quiet and cheap,place to stay

Room Tip: My favourite room was 207. Room 208 right next door was nowhere near as nice and needed a bit of TL...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poohtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Villa Manoly
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 80 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

Villa Manoly is a very calm and beautiful place to stay in Ventiane. The garden is full of exotic plants and flowers, and its well-maintained swimming pool is just an incredible treat you can offer to yourself after an exhausting hot day full of walking and visiting. Do not get "scared" when you see that this place is located outside the map of the city center in the Lonely Planet guide. Villa Manoly is only 15-20 minutes walk from the city center (3 minutes in Tuk-Tuk). Many temples to be visited in Ventiane are actually on the way, so it is a perfect location in the end!

Room Tip: The mattress of our bed was quite hard. Check it before you select a room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

this is a delight, if you want 5 star service and facilities, this is not for you. Rooms are clean, tidy and really need a makeover..
The pool is perfect and welcomed.
Breakfast is included, but it is basic.
The staff are friendly and warm, will do anything for you, and there are always smiles on the faces of the staff.
In a quiet side street and out of the main tourist part town, very peaceful, though local transport is not always immediately available, we didn't find it too hard to get transport when we wanted it.
Just beware the beds are very hard.
We will return if in Vientiane again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garryBendigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The pool was such a refreshing treat after biking around in the hot sun everyday. The rooms are lovely with eclectic antiques, air con & mini fridge. Close to the center but located on a quiet street. We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have stayed at the Villa Manoly for several times and it always feels good to be back here. Nothing much has changed during the last 10 years and for some this is a good sign, while others would prefer some changes. The price for the room is still 35$
The double room I got last time is certainly big enough, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom is ok (maybe a little bit more pressure on the water?) and the little fridge is good to keep some drinks cold. If you're looking for a giant flatscreen TV with 199 channels, you'll be disappointed here.
The owner makes sure there is taken good care of the beautiful garden, while Guoy and Lee will do their best to take care of the customers.
Breakfast is served outside. It's not the most copious you'll find in the city, but it will do. The Lao coffee has been replaced by Nescafe now.
It was really hot in April and it was good to have the pool for cooling down.
I'm looking forward to return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PatrickLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here overall. A big bonus is the nice pool which you need in the heat of April. Location wise it is quiet, about 15 minute walk along the river to the town. The front desk staff was very friendly to us and helped arrange good price transport onwards. The place has character for sure but in our room leaking air con, poor shower and many mossies were a problem. Also breakfast was hard work, it seemed to take an age to get an egg and bread. Overall would recommend.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank beachbabyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked the Villa Manoly for when we first arrived in Vientiane and the last week of our trip. We booked via email and we got a nice sized double room in the new block. We stayed on the first floor and we had a view of the garden and pool. Sitting out on the balcony was a most relaxing experience. The fridge was useful for chilling drinks. Only breakfast is provided but there are plenty of places to eat in that area. We tended to eat in town which is a 20 minute walk. our favourite eatery was The Taj Mahal Indian restaurant. We found good ice-cream at the popular Swensens opposite the Lao Plaza Hotel. We spent over a week in Vientiane only because we wanted to chill out and relax. You can see all the main areas of interest in a couple of days. We walked everywhere even to That Luang. We booked our bus to Luang Prabang through the Villa which was convenient as we were picked up by the bus company. There were loads of ATMs in town so cash was easy to obtain. The Post Office is next to the Telat Sau market. Out of office hours there is a yellow post box down a side street next to the post office. We enjoyed Vientiane mainly because we were staying at the Villa Manoly. Just to let you know that if you send emails to the Villa Manoly you may not always get a reply.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Munbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.4 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#6 of 93 in Vientiane
485 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mandala Boutique Hotel
Mandala Boutique Hotel
#21 of 93 in Vientiane
184 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#10 of 93 in Vientiane
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vayakorn Inn
Vayakorn Inn
#28 of 93 in Vientiane
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Somerset Vientiane Serviced Residence
0.9 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Manoly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Manoly

Address: 29 Ban Phiawat, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Vientiane
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Villa Manoly Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing