We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over rated - plenty of better places at a lower rate” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lani's House By The Ponds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lani's House By The Ponds
Ranked #6 of 196 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Manila
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Over rated - plenty of better places at a lower rate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We booked on-line to have a place to stay when we arrived late in Vientiane. We usually stay in guest houses and know what to expect

The lobby through us off at the beginning as they have a lot of interesting old artifacts, which have never been dusted - combined with poor lighting and an abscense of guests or staff it seemed like an mauseleum

The building itself is an old 50s house that has been converted to a guest house. The rooms are large with high ceilings and with nice beds. Aircon, but no TV and the fridge is located in the bathroom - a first in any hotel!

Breakfast - average - American B'fast -- eggs, bread or coffee, or continetal - bread and coffee. Overall quite dissapointing with an air of place going down hill fast. We checked out into a hotel in the Mekong - same price but with a nicer room, cable TV [we good skip, but good to get the kids in bed early when they're tired] , buffet breakfast and staff that took the time to chat and give a good time.

We paid $35 plus tax = $39. It's worth $25 a night and no more

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManilaRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    27
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
35
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

Located up a quiet cul-de-sac opposite a Wat, the Lani is close to almost everything you need to get to in Vientiane, although nothing in Vientiane is very far away. I stayed in the main building so I can't say what the adjoining building was like.
It feels like a hotel that is not only in it's own garden oasis but also in time warp. It's massive spacious structure feels vaguely soviet in an asian sort of way. It's clearly a hotel that has seen better days.
My room was huge with a comfortable bed and fan and mosquito net, I think there was A/C but I didn't check to see if it worked. The bathroom was adequate with the normal low pressure instant hot water shower system common throughout Laos. Breakfast was included in the room price and could be served either downstairs in the under cover lounge area or upstairs on the wide balcony. It was pretty the basic eggs, toast, coffee, jam, but adequate.
i actually really enjoyed staying here. It was such a quiet respite after a days sight seeing. And a lot of the time I felt I was the only person staying in the hotel. Although there was always somebody around I would usually just go and collect my own room key from behind the front desk.
Finally a word of advice if you arrive late (after 9.30pm) the outside gate will be locked. There is a small button to the left of the gate at about shoulder height that will call someone to come and open up. Typically nobody tells you about this.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

We spent two nights here with our teenagers. It was lovely and we were relieved to not be on the main road. The position is great and a few minutes walk from everything. Lani and her pleasant ladies made us feel very safe and looked after. I enjoyed evenings reading on the gorgeous veranda after my girls had gone to sleep. Can't imagine that this place has changed much in the past 30 years so if you like large rooms , a garden, and simple pleasures like pots of coffee brought to you on the veranda, and nothing of great consequence happening, then you will love this place. There is no internet and that was part of its charm. Lani told me hers was the first guest-house to open after the war. She has a formula for quiet, simple and down-to-earth hospitality. It wasn't a great bargain but a fair price. Laos in general had higher accommodation charges compared to Cambodia and Vietnam.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LittleLaurie008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2009

Tucked into a little road off one of Vientiane's nicest tree-lined street, the Lani has a simple, peaceful atmosphere that makes it quite inviting. The rooms in the front are quite large and clean and comfortable - we stayed there coming and going out of Laos and were happy with both rooms, although the one we got downstairs (one the 2nd stay) seemed to run out of hot water rather more quickly than the one we had upstairs. Not the greatest breakfast but the coffee is guaranteed to jack you up!

For you light sleepers, you might want to take into consideration that it is right next to one of the city's minor Wats, and you may thus hear the monks next door who wake up with some minimal drumming and chanting very early in the am (seemed to be around 5am). I didn't mind it - in fact, I actually sort of enjoyed it and went back to sleep listening to it - but since not everyone would probably feel this way it seemed worth mentioning!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DCTravelingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalyan, Turkey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2009

We stayed at the Lani - an old, colonial house with a beautiful garden for a week.. It was a delight. Lovely large room with comfortable beds, TV, airconditioning and free WiFi. Large clean bathroom with good shower. The staff were pleasant and we had time for several long conversations. Breakfast was good and taken in the garden and if you asked for something different they would provide it for you. Great situation right in the centre of town, loads of restaurants and bars nearby, but situated down a track by the side of a Wat which meant it remained quiet at night - apart from the occasional banging of drums first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LilyBritinDalyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2009

Some what run down, rooms were dingy, shower tiles falling off, etc. I was visiting friends in Vientiene and after dinner we went to hotel to catch up. They stayed pretty late and when they were leaving, the night guard approached them and started berating them. He informed us that we needed to leave the hotel in the morning and wanted money for the unregistered guests. The next morning, found another, much nicer property just around the corner. When I went to check out the staff seemed surprised. The manager had no idea about the previous evenings events and was particularily upset that we had paid the guard and not "gotten a receipt". She appologized and said that the guard "should" be fired (a receipt probably would have changed that). Not a pleasant stay at all.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank getting_younger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2009

We stayed two times before and after Luang Prabang. First time room number 2 at the main building was ok, but the second time we got a room on the back and it was dark, small and during the first night noisy, a big difference and almost same price.
Breakfast was ok
We liked the location, near a wat, and also the general ambience but it does not merit the price.

  • Liked — Ambience and location
  • Disliked — The price, the room on the back
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AntonioRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
1.2 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lani's House By The Ponds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lani's House By The Ponds

Property: Lani's House By The Ponds
Address: 281, Setthathirat Road | Ban Haysok, Vientiane 01000, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lani, one of Vientiane's classic high-end guest houses has been lovingly revived and is now Lani's House by the Ponds. The breezy colonial house, set in a peaceful tropical garden in the city centre, is a few minutes' walk from the Mekong Riverbank. Located just off Setthathirat road, lined with temples and old trees, this gem of a hotel is close to many of Vientiane's finest cafés, restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lani's House By The Ponds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lani Guest House Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing