We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!”
Review of Day Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Day Inn Hotel
Ranked #28 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Central District
2 reviews
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

This place is a block and a half up the street from the Nam Phou fountain (walking away from the Mekong. It is behind the big, impersonal Lao Plaza Hotel.) The building is a renovated French villa and is charming. The rooms are charming with high ceilings, bamboo/wicker furniture, and big clean bathrooms with tubs. The included breakfast was tasty and the staff was attentive and helpful. It was about $30 a night and that is a lot in Laos but it was such a nice room and a great location - we thought it was worth it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zhenwizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    33
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
18
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ayutthaya, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The room have been renovated. The one I was in had a bath tub and a separate shower with a rain nozzle. The room also has a balcony that overlooks a patch of grass and mango trees. Restful.

There is no swimming pool, but for Thai Baht 400 it is possible to use the pool at the Lao Plaza hotel around the corner.

The hotel is within walking distance of Nam Phu Fountain and the restaurants there. .

Staff are helpful

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Putachesnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We stayed here just one night on out return from our adventures in Laos and found this hotel to be comfortable and handy. We were in one the the newer rooms. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. It is close to the stadium to go for a run in the morning and there are tennis courts nearby. Everyone was very nice, we would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fltstandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2009

Do not stay at this hotel. Not very clean but the location is good. Staff were terrible.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordondavid1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

This hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Vientiane, within easy walking distance of the main square with the fountain. The hotel is old and the rooms have a feel of a dormitory. But the bed is comfortable and it has TV, fridge, very cheap wi-fi and pleasant and friendly staff.

The hotel collected us from the airport and there was no charge. Very nice!

Breakfast is pretty decent. Nothing too fancy - eggs, hot dog, ham, french bread, juice, jam and coffee. Strangely, they lock the hotel gates at 11pm and you have to wake the guard up to get into the grounds and into the hotel. Apparently this is common in Laos. But even though the guard was sleeping, he seemed happy to let us in at 1am.

People in Laos give off a genuine warmth and friendliness. They make visiting the country a real pleasure. Vientiane itself has virtually no tourist attractions - you really can do them in a morning. But it has some nice bars and restaurants as well as very cheap but great quality wine.

The Day Inn is best for those who want a pleasant but basic place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKKSCOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
potatoprincess
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2009

The rooms at this hotel are very different. We stayed there on two separate occasions. The first one we stayed in was on the first floor and was big and clean. The second was tiny and on the ground floor right near the car park; it smelled of mould and did not feel clean and there were mosquitos - I didn't feel safe or comfortable there. We were also meant to be picked up from the airport but no one arrived, so we had to arrange and pay for a taxi on our own. The staff have only very basic English which may account for the lack of pickup. On the positive side, the location is very central and close to most things.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank potatoprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.0 mi away
Sabaidee@Lao Hotel
Sabaidee@Lao Hotel
#15 of 93 in Vientiane
203 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Inn Vientiane
City Inn Vientiane
#14 of 93 in Vientiane
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phasouk Residence
Phasouk Residence
#29 of 93 in Vientiane
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Champa Garden Hotel
Champa Garden Hotel
#47 of 93 in Vientiane
87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Douang Deuane Hotel
Douang Deuane Hotel
#34 of 93 in Vientiane
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Rose Boutique Hotel
New Rose Boutique Hotel
#12 of 93 in Vientiane
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Day Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Day Inn Hotel

Property: Day Inn Hotel
Address: Thanon Pangkham, 059/3 Ban Sisakhet, 1 Chanthaboury, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Day Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Day Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Day Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing