We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location but a little outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
Ranked #16 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Perfect location but a little outdated”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had a nice stay in this hotel but make sure that your room isn't on the streetside... Loud talks and laughters comming from one of the restaurants accross the street, till 3 am. Impossible to close an eye.
The room was ok, but a little outdated furniture. The swimming pool could also use a little makeover.
Breakfast was nice, and so was the staff. Very friendly, doing everything to make you enjoy your stay.
William, Senta & baby Ella

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William_Decoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    120
    42
    15
    4
See reviews for
13
63
50
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel from 17th Nov 2012 to 20th Nov 2012. We arrived from Luang Prabang by flight and bought a taxi coupon from the taxi counter at the airport for US7, ignoring some other "taxi drivers" who tried to talked us into hiring their taxi. When we checked-in, we were given a welcome drink coupon of our choice, including Lao Beer. Our first room on the 1st floor was spacious, clean and had everything we wanted except that the hotel room is old and dated. We had no objection as we had been fore warned. But what we could not put up with was the view outside the window which was a white wall belonging to the buildinng at the back , separated only by a lane which was dirty. We immediately requested a change of room to the front but as the hotel was quite full, we could only get the front room on the 4th floor for the 2nd and third nights. The front room was slightly bigger, clean and similarly old and dated. It had a balcony looking down to the street below, and to the left we could see the Mekong River at the far end. Opposite the hotel, almost every shop was a restaurant. Two or three roadside stalls would open to sell BBQ food stuff at the same road not far from the hotel. In the evening, we walked to the riverside to view the beautiful sunset and to visit the night market. Many local people went there as well to rest and stroll leisurely in the evening. The hotel 's breakfast ( included in the hotel rate of US88m per night) was a simple buffet consisted of fruits, bread and coffee, but we could choose our eggs cooked to our choice and served with potato.
For lunch and dinner, there were so many restauants around, on the same street and on the nearby streets. We could even find chinese food in GuangDong Restaurant in the China Town , a short walk from the hotel in the N-W direction.
Overall, we were satisfied with the hotel and our stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the back because the window view is blocked by a wall. Ask for front room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

After reading some mixed reviews of this hotel was a bit hesitant to stay, however I was very pleasantly surprised. For a capital city offers decent value by Western standards.

The lobby, bar and restaurant area are nicely furnished and welcoming. The Staff were very helpful and friendly and let me check in early as my plane arrived into Vientiane at 8:30am, this was hugely appreciated. I also had a very early flight 2 days later to Bangkok where the Staff (upon inquiry) kindly prepared me a “to go” breakfast. The hotel also offers a free shuttle bus to the airport.

The room was clean and spacious, nothing fancy but there was air conditioning, comfy beds and a flat screen TV. The hotel has a swimming pool which I didn’t use but it looked clean and refreshing.

Breakfast was great, lots of choices it was part buffet and part cooked to order, they also had an expresso machine for us morning coffee addicts.

The location was perfect, only minutes’ walk to temples, riverfront (including river front night markets), restaurants bars, shops (including Carol Cassidy silk weaving). Some of the main attractions are too far to walk to but tuk tuks are plentiful, however do bargain hard as it is likely you will be initially quoted a rather steep amount.

A great place to eat and drink is 'Sticky Fingers' directly across the road. I would also recommend a visit to the COPE museum. Buddha Park is cool but is a very bumpy tuk tuk ride so look into a bus or van to get out there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SydneyKate_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed in the best western in October for business. I had stayed there before 4-5 years ago and i remembered that the location was very good. I chose it this time because of the location, which continues to be good, but all the rest is not impressive. The rooms are kind of old and dated, there is nothing specially wrong with them, but there is nothing special about them either. The hotel is not dirty but does not come across clean either, there is carpet/mochette in most of the floors and it needs to be changed. The service is average. Very nice people but it is not easy to communicate, so you end up going in circles. The breakfast is also nothing special. I think for the price you pay you can get much more value for money in several other places, either paying a 10-20 USD extra and getting a real nice hotel or paying half of what you pay here and getting a proper / cozy bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartaVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I spent 4 days in this hotel. Yes, this hotel is definately a hidden gem – in case that you once in your lifetime want to experience a really bad hotel.

So if you are like in a hotel:

1. non-working wifi even they state on their website that there is free wifi in all rooms
2. mould in the bathroom
3. ants everywhere (in your bed and bathroom, but also on your computer and mobile, in the kettle, on the mugs and finally in your luggage)
4. a lot of blood stains and other brown (?) stains on pillow and blankets
5. dirty old grey towels with a lot of stains (see pic!)
6. run down reception area, restaurant and lift (see pic!)
7. used dirty old slippers in your room (isn't it disgusting?)
8. not sleeping thanks to unbelievable much noise from the busy street (the balcony door and the windows do not close properly which makes you feel like sleeping on the sidewalk. There are a lots of bars, restaurants on the other side of the street and of course alot of cars and motorbikes). So be prepared: you will definately not be able to sleep in this hotel.
9. to argue with unfriendly and rude manager about the extremely bad condition of the hotel
10. Lizards sharing the room with you (in my case a lizard family living in a hole at the entrance door)
11. having your breakfast at very dark light so that there is no way to read newspaper
12. to listen to depressed loud music at breakfast
13. to prepare instant coffee for breakfast because they don't offer freshly brewed „real“ coffee (see pic!)
14. to have black tea but no green tea (in Asia!)
15. to have cold fried egg for breakfast after having ordered 15 minutes ago
16. to have only fruits and marmelade for breakfast (no ham, no cheese, no yoghurt, no cereales - simply nothing)
17. to stay in a hotel with an old soviet atmosphere and Stalin's charme
18. to be fooled by their advertising „the fitness center is equipped with modern fitness equipments“ - the fitness center is in a dark corner, run down and equipment is old and not working (see pic!)
19. to be in the fitness center with hotel's staff sleeping on the benches
20. to be offered to move from a booked deluxe room to a cheaper standard room without getting a refund
21. sticky dirty brown and disgusting shower curtains (see pic!)
22. to be at the pool and not getting a towel for the sunbed even you ask for
23. to be insulted by the front desk staff while you complan about not existing wifi
24. to risk your life on the way to the pool because you have to use the fire exit stairs
25. to walk to another hotel for getting a citymap because the one offered by your hotel is an unreadable black-white copy of a copy of a copy of a copy... without street names on it!
26. to stay in a not clean room with dated old and dammaged furnitures (see pic!)
27. to go to a gym without towels being provided there
28. to pay higher rates for a deluxe room and to end up at the noisy street side without getting to sleep
29. to pay higher rates for a deluxe room with a balcony but there are no chairs and no table on the balcony – only the noisy aircondition
30. other person's black long hairs in your bathroom
31. to be fooled, cheated and not be taken seriously as a guest of a hotel and if you appreciate that there is absolutely no attention paid to hotel guests...

then this hotel is a real find!

The only thing that honestly was really good (and reliable) was the free transfer to the airport. All the rest: forget about it!

Three people deserve to be mentioned:
First the Manager of the hotel. I never got to see her in real because she was never around during my 4 days even the hotel was fully booked and there was a lot of work for her staff. But I had a very unpleasant phone conversation with her. She is unfriendly and seems to manage the hotel from at home. No wonder that her very young and unexperienced crew was overcharged being left alone like this. What a prototype of an hotel manager she is! You will see, she will never react on this review or if she does she will blame me for telling the untruth.

Secondly Mr Tongkham from the front desk. Even being young he should not be that rude and outrageous. I have never experienced such a behaviour in an hotel in Asia. He inspired me writing this review by saying „write a message (I assume he ment 'review') we don't care about it“. If I would be his boss I would ask him to find something different – but not to work in tourism ever again.

The only really competent person was a young trainee working at the front desk. In the most professional way and always with a smile he tried to find solutions to difficulties. Hopefully he will not get spoiled by his colleagues. That amazing guy has a bright future in hotel management. I wish him good luck and hope that he will soon work in a better hotel than the Best Western Vientiane.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank netsrac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilavanh S, Manager at Best Western Vientiane Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear sir,

Thank you for providing a complete quality assessment of our hotel service and amenities which we will improve as soon as possible.

Our hotel has been in operation since 1994 and it has maintained a good reputation since then. Being a member of the Best Western Hotel Group has made us strive to achieve for international standards, including increased security and safety for our guest, something that major hotels do not have in Laos.

It is the first time that we received such a hard complaint. We did our best to move you into new rooms but you were always not satisfied. During your stay the hotel was under renovation and a number of pictures you posted were in the construction buffer areas. The refurbishment is completed now, for example all temporary storage areas are now cleared.

Again thank you for the sincere complaints. We really hope to see you in the future.

Best regards,

Vilavanh Souvannavong(Ms)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Western
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

First the flaws. The bath and shower combination is poorly designed. Water from the shower flows to the back of the bath, from where it then floods the floor. Great care has to be undertaken. Lack of English and inconsistencies in the room manual led to minor inconvenience. Housekeeping was very good. The room was comfortableand large. Featured arm chair and two seater with an ottoman. Balcony was availalble but the air con exhaust made it a short term option. Breakfast was O.K. Staff were all very good, apart from small fault above.

Room Tip: I had the second level of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila Phils.
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel reminds me of colonial heritage hotels with its wooden floors and old-style building. What's great about Best Western though is its proximity to a shopping, eating and tourist spots. The staff is great, always w/ a ready smile and a good morning. We walked around the riverside and enjoyed bargaining in the Night Market. There were all types of restaurants in the area from French dining to delicious yet inexpensive street food. You'll be spoiled for choice. You can walk to most of the spots or take a tuk-tuk to COPE, the Wats and tourist spots. We truly enjoyed Vientiane and looked forward to going back to the comforts of Best Western Vientiane.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esmodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.3 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.2 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#11 of 93 in Vientiane
387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Vientiane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Vientiane Hotel

Property: Best Western Vientiane Hotel
Address: 2-12 Francois Nginn Street | Mixai Village, Chanthaboury District, Vientiane, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Vientiane Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Vientiane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tai Pan Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing