We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth visiting”

Lao National History Museum
Ranked #15 of 76 things to do in Vientiane
Attraction details
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

There is a lot to take in here, give yourself a good hour. Very interesting history made me walk away having even more respect for the people of Lao.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckyJellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    126
    165
    66
    28
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Informative and needs more visitors”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was my first trip to Laos and it won't be my last. I try to visit a museum each time i visit a country and I was glad that I did here. Although the building and some of the exhibits could do with a facelife, the exhibits and information provided were interesting. I did prefer the ancient exhibits more than the section on the country's revolutionary period. I know that the information provided is accurate and up-to-date because I am in the middle of reading Last Ape Standing, a book that chronicles how humans evolved. For the 10,000 Laotian kip (about USD1.25), a visit here is well worth the price.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Facelift needed”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Could be beautiful and some of the exhibits upstairs are interesting but the whole place needs a facelift.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank twooldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Some good information”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The museum consists of two parts. The first part highlights the the main places of interest in Laos. We were not aware of many of them. The second area deals with the military and political history. There are some very interesting photos. Most exhibits have English captions or explanations. The cost is just over one dollar. The facility itself is not in the best shape. They close for lunch hour a little before noon and make everyone leave. Note that some of the Lao maps still show the museum at the old location. No photos allowed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jimandcarolstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Its rundown but still very nice”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

It was only last year that I went into this museum from living in Vientiane for 9 years. Its run down but there are heaps of information and items to look at. It took me a good 2 hours to walk around the museum to see everything. Try to get there in the morning as there isn't much air flow through the building and if it is high temperature then it will be hot.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lao National History Museum also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Lao National History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing