We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting, informative and enjoyable”

Lao National History Museum
Ranked #15 of 76 things to do in Vientiane
Attraction details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“interesting, informative and enjoyable”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

a nice museum covering a lot of Laos history, very interesting to see all the black and white photos depicting the Lao peoples past. wide variety of subject matter covered, good layout and value for money. a nice way to spend an hour or two out of the sun :)

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank pippa_scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    126
    165
    66
    28
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Definately worth a visit”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I spend about an hour here on my one day in Vientiane. The museum covers a wide range of exhibits - from prehistory of Laos (pottery, bronze working etc), to the Lao minority groups, which I found very interesting (although I have already visited a few villages etc).

Then the French imperial era and war with the USA. The captions on the photos are sometimes funny in their bias, "the brave solders of Laos fight off the American imperialists and their puppets" - though I do have to agree with in part with this viewpoint, what where the USA bombing Laos for again??!

So definitely stop off here, as I did not see anything similar in Luang Prabang, nor Pakse etc.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dutchcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

For a poorly funded institution, what they have is both interesting and informative. It lacks the technology many western museums have adopted and focuses on pictures and information

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank AIDANinTASMANIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

A lot of things and history to see. However the upkeep of the museum needs urgent attention.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arthyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“a must for an overview Laos cultural history”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I'm so glad we stopped by the National History Museum - recently renamed from the National Revolutionary Museum. It definitely has its roots in revolutionary exhibits.

The building is extremely run-down and when we first walked past it was closed. We assumed closed for good it was such a decrepit building. But we went back the next day and it was open.

The museum provides an excellent overview of Lao cultural history and its revolutionary history, with a focus on the Vietnam war and French colonialism. There are some barbaric images of how Lao people were treated and some special exhibits featuring models, urns, stonework and much more.

The overviews of things like the Plain of Jars are fascinating. I wish we had more time. You could easily kill 2 - 3 hours here.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldlyWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lao National History Museum also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Lao National History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing