We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Building” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ho Pra Keo

Ho Pra Keo
Book In Advance
More Info
$66.50*
and up
Half-Day Vientiane City Tour
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I really enjoyed it here - lovely building and gardens in the heat of the day. I saw a couple of Lao Wedding parties which was interesting too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CrusaderBex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    126
    61
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Small, but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Along with Pha That Luang, one of the major sights of Vientiane. It is a small, quiet temple with some good photo opportunities. You can cover it in 30-45 minutes.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peegfeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Beautifully Old”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

When visiting temples we have always prefer old charm rather than sparkling new ones.

Ho Pra Keo (or Ho Phra Keow) is actually a museum but within it has a section for worshippers. Ho Pra Keo was our favourite among the many museums/temples that we have visited in Vientiane.

Admission 5,000kip for foreigners and 2,000kip for locals.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CarinAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“A Temple In The Gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Wat Ho Phra Keo is a beautiful temple set in the lush greenery of a vast and beautiful garden with colourful flowers and shady trees all around. It has maintained its original form without any new paint or makeover and exudes a dignified spiritual aura most conducive for those seeking calm & solace and even for meditation.

Built by King Setthathirat in 1565, it had long served as a royal temple of the Lao monarchs and is considered one of the oldest temples in Vientiane. This temple was destroyed during the Siamese invasion of 1828 which also saw the Emerald Buddha statue snatched away and brought to be placed in its name-sake temple in Bangkok and which has remained there ever since.

This temple is no longer used for religious purposes but instead have been converted to a museum of sorts which houses various religious and cultural artefacts and also invaluable Lao treasures. There are numerous sculptures, stone tablets, ancient manuscripts, wooden carvings and also statues and statuettes of Lord Buddha inside the building. On the exterior there are many stone sculptures and antique statues of the Buddha placed all around the temple building, and even the wide staircase leading up to this temple had a pair of concrete dragons acting as balustrades, facing visitors & protecting the temple behind them.

Wat Ho Phra Keo is located right across the road from Wat Si Saket and adjacent to the Presidential Palace, all of which are in the city centre area of Vientiane. This ancient temple/museum is a definite must-see site for visitors here.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Danny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
174 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Unique and historical”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Among the many temples we visited in Vientiane, Ho Pra Keo probably was our favorite. We liked the beautiful garden, and many Buddha statues dressed in gold. The temple looked ancient and peaceful.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank arangemas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ho Pra Keo also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Ho Pra Keo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing