We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything is good, except...”
Review of Backpackers Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers Garden
Ranked #11 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Vientiane
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
“everything is good, except...”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Everything is good, except they won't pick you up at the airport. So I need to walk through the airport to get taxi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxkmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    56
    36
    25
    27
See reviews for
5
77
111
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Staff were great!! Best hostel we have stayed in across the globe, with very clean rooms and bathrooms.
Nice little menu with some very tasty food.
Cinema room and pool table allowed for some fun times, helped along by the affordable beer.
BBQ night was fantastic with a great range including for vegetarians.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbeall78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brest, France
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This hostel is a very nice and peacefull place to stay. Dorms and bathroom are really clean, with free and delicious breakfast.
People working there are always smiling and welcoming
To meet people, relax, have good time it's the perfect place to be.

This hostel has a really good music, good quality of sound !!
They are hopefull and make you enjoy your staying there

Very good atmosphere

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docteur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hostel is nice, people are friendly - very chill-out. The only things that drives my balls off is that the WiFi is super slow, incapable of streaming videos at lowest quality. At the time of writing I really want to give it 1/5, but I can't deny that it's in overall a great hostel ^^

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Laos on a visa run from Thailand and had planned on staying for only one night. However, once arriving at Sihome Garden we decided to stick around for a few more days, four actually. Phil and Steve-O were both great and we honestly couldn't have asked for more friendly and inviting people. Steve-O was a photographer and it was great asking him about shooting spots around the area and talking with him about other creative projects. As others have said, if your looking for a great place with creative people, this is your spot!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly back packers, staff are very helpful and cheerful.
Nice to go somewhere and made to feel welcome.
Has Wi-Fi everywhere and air conditioned tv room with pillows and blankets to relax after walking around Vientiane.
&a guitar :-)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Very chillaxed place, dorms were clean. Nice and intimate and so good to get to know ppl. Price was fantastic too. Great location, great management and staff who knew lots of guests by name. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Neeve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.7 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
401 reviews
0.9 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dream Home Hostel 2
Dream Home Hostel 2
#1 of 101 in Vientiane
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dream Home Hostel 1
Dream Home Hostel 1
#2 of 101 in Vientiane
218 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hive Hostel
Hive Hostel
#4 of 101 in Vientiane
8 reviews
0.5 mi away
Funky Monkey Hostel
Funky Monkey Hostel
#19 of 101 in Vientiane
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Garden

Property: Backpackers Garden
Address: 028 Sihome Road, Vientiane 0100, Laos (Formerly Sihome Backpackers Garden)
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers Garden is a hostel based in Vientiane, right next to the city center. It's a quiet place where everybody is welcome to feel home & where we have different artists decorating our walls from all over the world. Feel free to drop by :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Backpackers Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing