We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Frills but Fine Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a fairly new hotel located at the heart of the city. It is within walking distance to some of the main tourist attractions such as the famed Patuxai,Talat Sao morning market, restaurants coffee places, bakery, massages. It is also literally a stone's throw away from the night market right across the road. What more could we possibly ask for ?

Though a a tad small for our room is clean and adequate with all the basic necessities and a strong shower. A shower cap and some basic items like shampoo and sanitary bag would be good.

Friendly and helpful staff. The staff at the reception speaks enough English for us to communicate and enquire about the places to eat and book a cab. As this is a frill-less hotel, no tipping is required as there is no porter to help you with your luggages to begin with. Housekeeping service was prompt. The extra pillows which we requested for came in literally split seconds.

We opted for a non-breakfast room as we wanted to explore the local breakfast places. So, can't comment on the food quality.

The coffee sachets provided in the room have all expired but this is a small problem. Overall, still a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: It's best to get a room on the other side of the hotel instead of the ones facing the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Gorgez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 396 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

Brand new hotel in a very good location. Room 401 has a low frequency whining sound coming probably from the ventilating motors on the roof. We were moved immediately to another room when we complained. The breakfast spread is good.

While the staff were friendly, they lacked familiarity with the town. Most of them seem to be from Burma or Thailand with no local knowledge. Do not ask them for directions to places other than what's around the neighbourhood. We did see candidates getting interviewed in the café so may be with more locals in the team knowledge of the city will improve. There should be options for pillows. The ones in the room were too high. Also there were flies in the café. The place needs a few insect killer lamps.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor, especially 401 as there tends to be AC unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandip_mallik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

If the hotel was located in Frankfurt it would be OK to stay there during a short business trip. In Asia you would expect that someone helps you with your luggage. The breakfast was not included. The elevator was hot like hell. The room to the street was very noisy. It is clean, bed is good, next to the old city.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank tekworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has only been open for a couple of months it has a few teething problems but will be fine. Being a large hotel group the standards are high. The service from the staff was excellent the girl in the dining area was great. Breakfast was included at it was fine and plenty to choose from western or lao. We stayed for three nights it was close to most of the attractions around the city. Plenty of dining options close and there is good available from the Ibis.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutthereWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had difficulties in finding a convenient hotel in Vientiane and decided to chose this one just because we knew already the standards of IBIS chain. The hotel was not yet opened when we made the booking but had no hesitation.
It was a very pleasant experience since also the hotel staff was very attentive and careful with us.
The hotel location is also very convenient, very close to all city's attractions and nice restaurants in the Nam Phu Fountain area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Diana_VP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 1階は、喫煙室もあるので、2階以上をお薦め。
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank Yoko2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank akaneirot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.5 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
582 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vientiane
973 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#7 of 97 in Vientiane
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#9 of 97 in Vientiane
497 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vientiane
Crowne Plaza Vientiane
#3 of 97 in Vientiane
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#10 of 97 in Vientiane
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel

Address: Namphu Square, Setthathirath Road | Chanthabury District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: $56 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing