We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far the best condition”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dream Home Hostel 2
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Far the best condition”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Wifi great. Clean room. Cheap beer across the road. Air con is cold. Shower has excellent pressure and hot. Bed sheet is soft. We even had a tv and fridge in our room. I saw they also put movie on. Not too noisy for sleep. Not too quiet for a drink and party. (We had private double).
Far the best condition hostel I ever stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yem27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    149
    74
    36
    29
See reviews for
10
104
162
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

You get what you pay for here. It was super cheap and you know why when you get there and see it with your own eyes. The AC is only on certain times of the day which was rough when I was trying to take a nap in the hot afternoon. The staff walks into your room when ever they want and for no real reason. They started cleaning the bathrooms at 7am which were right across the hall from my room and consisted of banging things around. You have to slam the door shut to keep it close and there was no lock. It seemed there were nicer place around for a little extra which I will gladly pay for next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dchantlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The staff were all very nice people and always willing to help. I stayed in a 4-bed dorm for 60 000 kip (including breakfast), for 4 nights... if you are on a budget, there are cheaper dorms available nearby.

With strong wi-fi, an air conditioned movie room and a pool table, it's great for solo travellers. They also have private rooms available.

Nice big lockers under the bunk beds for you to lock away your entire backpack during the day. Each bed is equipped with a personal light and energy socket... very convenient!

Also, the showers was probably one of the highlights of my stay: Big round overhead shower heads!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My stay at Sihome Backpackers was extraordinarily pleasant. I have traveled throughout South East Asia and have stayed in countless hostels. Sihome Backpackers is by far my favorite, for many reasons. Everyone was very friendly, and they all speak English. The owner, Ngoc, was extremely helpful when I needed to get a Visa to Myanmar. Ngoc printed the visa application for me to fill on the spot, and in three days, I had a Visa to go to Myanmar. Her staff personally dropped off my application to the Myanmar Embassy. They also picked it up. I never had to step foot inside of the Myanmar embassy – her staff did all of the work!

I originally planned to stay at Sihome Backpackers for only two nights, but I ended up staying five nights. The location of Sihome Backpakers is ideal if you seek great bars, as well as very local restaurants. Moreover, Sihome Backpackers rent bicycles. For a little over $1.50 cent, you can rent a bicycle for 24 hours. This is an excellent way to see the City during the day, and at night.

What makes Sihome Backpackers so special is the fact that all of the rooms are located on the second and third floor, which means that all outside noise is pretty much canceled out, and the rooms are extremely quite at night. The beds were also very comfortable, and the bathrooms as well as the showers were exceptionally clean. I highly recommend Sihome Backpackers!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuyenqtuynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My friend and i come to Vientian sometime, we have ever stayed in some hotel, hostel. This is the second time in Sihome backpacker hostel. We are very happy. It is like my home far from my home, we also make friend with many friend guests here. Good price, good location, clean, good service are enough for our choosing. Thanks again to all staffs and if we have next time, we still choose your place again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckyhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington hts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Do not leave your phone in the room, my SIMM card was stolen from my phone and I did not turn it on again until I got home and found out. That means someone entered the room removed the the back of my phone took the card, put the phone back together and put it back in my bag. They could have just taken my I pad, but then I would have noticed that. The phone calls from my card started the day I checked out.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The whole place looks nice and new and it's very social (pool table, movie chill out room) so great to meet other travellers. But overpriced to my opinion, even though breakfast is included. Dorm rooms are small, there's only three showers for all floors and they took the remote of the aircon away to switch it on only during night time so staying in your room at daytime is unbearable due to the heat. They also charge higher prices for drinks than the store across.. Feels a bit unfair towards the guests. If you don't care about meeting other people and can do with a little less cleanliness, stay in one of the hotels closer to the center (though Sihome is walking distance) with private rooms for less money.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maaike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.7 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.0 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dream Home Hostel 1
Dream Home Hostel 1
#2 of 100 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backpackers Garden
Backpackers Garden
#8 of 100 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vientiane Star Hotel
Vientiane Star Hotel
#6 of 197 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Home Hostel 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Home Hostel 2

Property: Dream Home Hostel 2
Address: 056 Sihome Road | Ban Sihome, Vientiane 0100, Laos (Formerly Sihome Backpackers Hostel)
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dream home Hostel. This is a brand new property of Western Standards Managed by Michael from Australia and Chef Johno from South Africa. This new establishment is located in the heart of Vientiane. The surrounding area hosts a large number of authentic Lao food options, markets, foreign restaurants, bars and the famous Mekong River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dream Home Hostel 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing