We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dream Home Hostel 2
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I had just booked one night here but decided at the last minute to take a night bus at the last minute. The staff were incredibly helpful, letting me leave my stuff, use the facilities (including a shower) and letting me chill in the lounge downstairs.

Everything was clean, very cool vibe, and well-equipped for the average backpacker.

Definitely a good value, especially in this price range.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waytogonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 637 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed at the Sihome Backpackers for 3 nights and was absolutely satisfied with the hostel and the staff. The rooms were ok, maybe a little bit loud sometimes, because of the music, but what i reallz appreciated were the hot and new showers, which I really miss in SEA. What I really liked, was the friendly and warm hearted staff!! Especially David, he drove me everywhere by his motorcycle. I am normally really afraid of driving with someone on the motorbike, but at this day I felt the first time safe !!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lkllklklkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

They are well located, the staff are nice and helpful and the breakfast was ok. But...

The room floor was not clean enough to walk without shoes. (The entrance was worst). There are mosquitos everywhere, including inside the room. The mattress is horrible as you are sleeping at the floor. It's a very noise place, early in the morning or late at night. The day we left there, a group of people was watching SuperBowl since 7am and screaming, but none from the staff said anything. We like when the hostel has a area to have fun and to take a beer, but it's also important to have peaceful areas and times to rest. There are a lot of people for few staff to serve the breakfast. The internet was horrible and my poor 3G was working much better.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ASSjunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

The room was ok at the 1st look, but then we realized the floor was not clean enough to walk without shoes. (The entrance was worst)

There are mosquitos everywhere and no solution.

The mattress is almost a rock. Seems you are sleeping at the floor.

It's really difficult to take a rest there, because it's a very noise place, early in the morning or late at night. The day we left there, a group of people was watching SuperBowl since 7am and screaming, but none from the staff said anything.

We like when the hostel has a area to have fun and to take a beer, but it's also important to have peaceful areas and times to rest.

There are a lot of people for few staff to serve the breakfast.

The internet was horrible and my poor 3G was working much better.

On the other hand, they are well located, the staff are nice and helpful and the breakfast was ok.

Don't miss the italian restaurant "PDR" beside the hostel!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank AnaAnibal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was our last stop in Laos and was the perfect place to say "goodbye". The hostel was fun, very clean, with a a great complimentary breakfast, and a fantastic shower...just have to add that! The staff was extremely warm, to say the least, especially David!!! Such a sweetheart! He spent one whole day courting us around. He took me and my boyfriend to his friend to unlock my phone, then took us to Buddha Park and in the evening, introduced us to a great dance club!! Thanks David and Sihome Backpackers for a lovely Laos experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexitravel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hostel is hands down the best hostel I have ever stayed at. Run by a fantastic Australian manager and owned by a very hospitable Vietnamese man that has a long background in running successful high end resorts in Vietnam. The combo of the 2 meant great service, the type you would expect at a high end luxury hotel. We opted for a private room which was very affordable and well decorated (not like your standard simple hostel). It had a private bathroom and was HUGE. The common area of the hostel was great, with grafitti from former guests, pool table, patio for people watching and a bar and couch area. They also just opened Sihome bakcpackers garden which we visited and it also had very cool art work, a beach volley ball court and they were working on putting in a pool. The common areas made for a very social enviroment where you could chat with other backpackers.

The location was close to the mekong river and night market

It was also very very clean and well maintained!

I would highly recomend

Room Tip: opt for the private room if you have the budget. We paid $30 a night and it was a huge room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serena200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This place was a great place to start off exploring Vientiane, heard loads of rumours of the capital being a bit boring but this place was really fun. A great highlight was the waterfall showers. The rooms were very clean and it was easy to get a good nights sleep. Brilliant customer service who put friends up in the movie room when it was full and very patient when booking tickets went a bit awry. The movie room was great for chilling out in as well as the pool room. There's also a BBQ going some nights. Short walk into Downtown Vientiane.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsp8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.7 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
420 reviews
1.0 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
525 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#19 of 93 in Vientiane
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dream Home Hostel 1
Dream Home Hostel 1
#2 of 110 in Vientiane
226 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sailomyen Cafe & Hostel
Sailomyen Cafe & Hostel
#3 of 110 in Vientiane
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backpackers Garden
Backpackers Garden
#14 of 110 in Vientiane
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Home Hostel 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Home Hostel 2

Address: 056 Sihome Road | Ban Sihome, Vientiane 0100, Laos (Formerly Sihome Backpackers Hostel)
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Vientiane
Price Range: $12 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dream home Hostel. This is a brand new property of Western Standards Managed by Michael from Australia and Chef Johno from South Africa. This new establishment is located in the heart of Vientiane. The surrounding area hosts a large number of authentic Lao food options, markets, foreign restaurants, bars and the famous Mekong River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dream Home Hostel 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing