We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star for value, relatively cheap and good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vientiane Star Hotel
Ranked #5 of 198 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“4 star for value, relatively cheap and good”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Not many places in Vientiane got great reviews and seemed cheap but we found this one and it was pretty good, the one English speaking person who worked there seemed quite difficult but the other staff there were constantly referring customer questions over to her. The rooms were a great size and it was a perfect location right in the middle of town so good value for the capital. Like others have said though, the beds are rock solid, good job we were pretty tired and got to sleep quickly but I imagine many people have woken up with quite a stiff back in he morning. Nowhere in Laos seems to be able to do nice beds and nice pillows, here the pillows were great whereas everywhere else it has been the other way around. They do a good sausage egg and bread breakfast included in the price too. Would stay here again if we were ever back here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    104
    70
    36
    32
See reviews for
43
105
110
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Staff were nice, breakfast was good, location was good. Only thing was the toilet is very small (even by Asian standards) and the shower didn't have hot water!

The family also have small children who wake up early and are very loud. Not a big problem for us but if you enjoy a longer lie when your on holiday then keep this is mind. Overall I would stay here again if I had to stop of in Vientiane.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryanyoung89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here September 2013 for one night, it's a good location close to river, set back from road slightly. Clean and good sized rooms, decent bathroom for a cheap hostel, air con, wifi , communal area etc all fine, but....one very bad point, The beds are so uncomfortable, rock hard, Im sure the mattress must be filled with concrete, so needless to say I got very little sleep. If you don't mind a very hard mattress then it's fine for a night...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I chose this hotel because of its good location, reasonable price and positive reviews. There were some good and bad points that made my experience "average", all things considered.

Good points: easy-going and friendly staff; great breakfast - banana shake, omelette & baguette; nice common courtyard area with tables & chairs; quiet location but close to restaurants and river-front night market.

Bad points: Things had a habit of breaking and staff seemed unable to fix them:
- When I first arrived I turned on the power in my room and five minutes later there was a flash and a loud "bang". The result of this, a singed piece of wire protruding from the ceiling fan and no power in the room. I was allowed to move to another room.
- The aircon in this room didn't work and staff advised it would be fixed tomorrow. The next day they told me it was fixed, I checked and found it wasn't fixed and told them. I checked out three days later, it still wasn't fixed. There are no flyscreens on the windows, so unless you want mosquitos in your room the aircon is the only way to get fresh air at night. I turned the ceiling fan on, but couldn't open the windows.
- The internet was down for a 24 hour period of the three nights I stayed there. And when it was working, internet was painfully slow.

Although staff were friendly, they seemed poorly trained, slow and disorganised. I know it's a different culture to where I'm from, but I didn't have confidence in them to book my outgoing transport or provide visa service.

Room Tip: Request a room that's not on the ground floor - better for security and less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 276JAMES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Found this place on tripadvisor and booked it for 4 nights. Arrived very late from Luang Prabang and the tuktuk driver didn't seem to know the street, though it's a very centrally located street filled with restaurants and other guesthouses. Got a tiny not so great room at first, located in the "old" building, but the noise from the people in the room above me was so loud, so I went to ask for another room. They immediately gave me another room, this time in the "new" concrete building, which had a double and a single bed, was twice the size of the previous one and had a nice and clean bathroom (and for the first time in Laos the basin wasn't leaking!!!).
Aircon, fan, sattellite tv and breakfast included, all for a very good price.
Breakfast is eggs and bread in different forms and I particularly liked the choice of drinks in the morning. Not being a fan of morning coffee or tea, the fresh watermelon juice or banana or pineapple milkshakes were a real treat.
Staff is very helpful and nice.
I'd stay there again!!
Ah, the aircon is a bit noisy, but earplugs will solve that problem easily! You might also need them if you stay here in the high season as rooms look upon the patio, and you can't keep out the noise of loud people passing or having breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gueva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

An amazing Hotelier!!! Thank you for the best customer service I've ever experienced!!! Vientiane Star Hotel rocks!!! Highly recommended!!! The owners treat you like family! We paid kip40,000/person which is about $6/person. It comes with free western style breakfast including coffee or shake your choice, honest people/staff, clean rooms, visa service for a small fee, travel agent for a small fee...what else can you ask for?

So on the last day I leave my iPhone and remembered it half way to the bus station heading to Ho Chi Minh City!! We called the owner Vu about 15 minutes prior to the bus embarking on this what became a 40-hour sleeper bus ride. Vu agreed to try his best to bring my iphone and charger to the bus station. As the bus was starting to embark, here comes Vu the owner of the hotel running to the bus with my iPhone and charger!!!

If that's not superb service I don't know what is!! To tell you the truth I'd still stay in hotel even if I saw cochroaches running around after that experience!!

Room Tip: Centrally located within backpackers square and close to the Mekong Riverfront in Vientiane, Laos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ty N M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Go there! I wonder, why i am the first user to write a review about this hotel!
The rooms are nice, the staff is not only friendly, its authentic and honest. The atmosphere is great!
We paid 120.000kip for an a/c double room including a delicious 'western' breakfast (ok the coffee was instant, but food and shakes were nice), for which you normally pay 20.000-30.000kip/person in a restaurant or hotel.
The location is very central, in front of the guesthouse is a little local restaurant with tasty and cheap food.

Thanks again for your help and your uncomplicated behavior for solving minor problems! We had a good time...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad-Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.4 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
483 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
405 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#18 of 93 in Vientiane
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.2 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#19 of 93 in Vientiane
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vientiane Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vientiane Star Hotel

Property: Vientiane Star Hotel
Address: 18 Manthatourath Rd, Xien Yuen Village, Chanthabouly District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 198 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vientiane Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Vientiane Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing