We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“House of Chicken Rules!!!!”

Ban Gai House of Chicken Tex Mex Cantina
Ranked #157 of 392 Restaurants in Vientiane
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Indian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Please come visit Vientiane's only Tex Mex serving the finest and freshest dishes from scratch made fresh everyday.Sizzling imported beef fajitas, authentic enchiladas, tacos, giant stuffed burritos, and MORE!! We still serve Laos first and only Fried Chicken and Waffles, fresh spicy Hot Wings, Sweet Potato french fries, handmade buttermilk biscuits, full breakfast and gourmet coffee. Authentic Tex Mex. Asian food, US Southern Comfort food, if it's chicken, we make it!! Open Tues-Sun, 11:00-9:30 WE DELIVER
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“House of Chicken Rules!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a great place to go and have a bit of the western world cuisine that is not a hot dog or hamburger. The menu is simple and well thought out. The biscuit recipe is that of Eric's (co-owner) grandmother who was an awesome cook. Biscuits and gravy for breakfast is not to be taken lightly... Gravy is mother's milk to those of us from the southern US.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cricketdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    19
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendliest restaurant in town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Positioned opposite HHI apartments on Sokpaluang Rd. Ban Gai has super friendly and attentive staff and a solid mix of chicken based dishes hot or cold to satisfy the chicken lover in you.
Thank you already for several very enjoyable meals with my beloved beerlao and relaxed comfortable seating available too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdWeiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

My family loved the chicken wings! We also had great eggs. They have real maple syrup. All the food is really really tasty. Service was prompt and friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Portland_OregonKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Southern American Chicken food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Ban Gai has quickly become one of my favorite places to eat in Vientiane. It's very close to the German Embassy, a short ride off of Kouviang Road, which itself is just a 5 minute drive from the city center.

I've gotten to know the owners well. One is Bon, who is a lovely Lao woman that speaks very good English. Her husband Eric is from Texas. They offer several typically Lao dishes that are excellent, but I go there for the fried chicken and biscuits and gravy. There is no other place in the city (or country that I'm aware of) that compares if you are looking for a uniquely Americanesque BBQ.

This place is well worth the trip if you are craving some guilt food. There are no fast food joints in this country, so this is your place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patrickburke1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ban Gai House of Chicken Tex Mex Cantina also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Ban Gai House of Chicken Tex Mex Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing