We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, fun, not half-bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Funky Monkey Hostel
Ranked #22 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Vientiane
Reviewed May 4, 2014

It's basic, it's good value and it's a place to lay your head.

The AC is excellent although the cleaners seem to open the windows during the day and forget to close them at night, thus attracting a million mosquitoes. If you man the windows and keep them shut, it's a good night's sleep.

There is a free breakfast which definitely eases the hangover. One of the better places in Vientiane.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Funky Monkey Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 223 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

The hostel is clean but basic. The dorm had air con which was really good. Good price for a bed, 40000 kip including breakfast. The. Location is good close to Mekong river.
The only minus is many many mosquitoes, bring your repellent!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank beanss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Funky Monkey has the best location in town. Music is good. It is run by a Vietnamese family and an Ausie supporter named Kane. The landladies are very helpful, friendly and dedicated. Kane is pretty excellent at organizing fun activities and connecting everyone. I came during Pi Mai Lao (Water festival), they have truck for all of the backpackers to climb up and play water-fighting. Every night Kane takes us to clubs, or have barbecue if we want. i have never been so close to other backpackers before. He even helps me to stay closer with my companion.

Its hard to sum up in just a few words but FM is definitely a warm place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChubbyTeapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Assuming you are already looking for a hostel, look no further. I stay at Funky Monkey every time I travel to Laos for my Thai visa. Its the best place to meet new travelers and its conveniently located near the river in the center of the....well, action. Although Vientiane is not an action-packed city considering bars and the overall nightlife shuts down at 12 midnight, Funky Monkey offer after-hour drinks with a pool table, plenty of guests and a staff that is friendly and accommodating. They also have private rooms for those dormaphobes. I highly recommend Funky Monkey to those who pass through Vientiane on their way north or south. I have made some lifelong friendships at FM and I will continue to support them. Oh, and the bacon cheeseburger at Full moon Saloon (15 steps away) is worth a try too!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vincentfl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night. Very nice rooms, clean, quite a loud hallway outside the rooms, but luckily no one made noise ;) very friendly staff, we booked nightbus to 4000 Islands and it was a luxury bus! Highly recommendable :)

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Anne Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Vientiane Travellers House Felt like a home away from home! free poll table is very good for fun,great location with everthing near by and good place for meeting new frien. Lovely people and surroundings. All staff was very very helpful and friendly.STAY HERE IF YOU ARE IN VIENTIANE.. this the best Hostel for stay in vientiane.....i come back again, Thank you

Room Tip: Room 401 good view
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Since every 3 months I need to do the Thai visa run I know Funky Monkey will be my home away from home. It is clean, well run and has the most comfortable beds EVER. The owner is amazing and goes out of his way to help in anyway possible. The downstairs chill area is cosy so your bound to stike up conversations and make a few new friends. Love this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agata G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#10 of 93 in Vientiane
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dream Home Hostel 2
Dream Home Hostel 2
#1 of 107 in Vientiane
630 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mali Namphu Hotel
Mali Namphu Hotel
#7 of 199 in Vientiane
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vientiane Star Hotel
Vientiane Star Hotel
#3 of 199 in Vientiane
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Monkey Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Monkey Hostel

Address: Francois Ngin Road, Ban Mixai, Chanthabouly District | Fa Ngum Road, Vientiane 856, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Vientiane
Price Range: $10 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Funky Monkey Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky Monkey Hostel offers a variety of dorms and private rooms. All with A/C and fans, WiFi in all rooms, laundry service, lockers, 24 hour security and reception and complimentary breakfast each morning. All showers are equipped with hot water All solo and group travellers are welcome. Hang out in our common room to meet other guests. We provide local tourist information and maps as well bicycle and scooter hire to get you around town. We have in house travel consulting and booking facilities includes visa specialising in bus, airline and rail bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Funky Monkey Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing