We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room and staff ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Funky Monkey Hostel
Ranked #22 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Vientiane
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night. Very nice rooms, clean, quite a loud hallway outside the rooms, but luckily no one made noise ;) very friendly staff, we booked nightbus to 4000 Islands and it was a luxury bus! Highly recommendable :)

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Anne Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Funky Monkey Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 223 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

Vientiane Travellers House Felt like a home away from home! free poll table is very good for fun,great location with everthing near by and good place for meeting new frien. Lovely people and surroundings. All staff was very very helpful and friendly.STAY HERE IF YOU ARE IN VIENTIANE.. this the best Hostel for stay in vientiane.....i come back again, Thank you

Room Tip: Room 401 good view
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Since every 3 months I need to do the Thai visa run I know Funky Monkey will be my home away from home. It is clean, well run and has the most comfortable beds EVER. The owner is amazing and goes out of his way to help in anyway possible. The downstairs chill area is cosy so your bound to stike up conversations and make a few new friends. Love this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agata G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is all a backpacker could want. Clean dorms with air con, good social area with pool table. Great place to meet people & in a good central location. This hostel is made even better by the helpful and friendly staff. Also the price at 40.000 kip with breakfast is unbeatable in my opinion......great place. Ken will take care of you!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank Marc U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The Funky Monkey is an alright place to spend a night or two in Vientiane. Spacious dorm (40,000 kip). Cool hangout downstairs with pool table. Wifi and location are at par. Free breakfast is included.
The only serious downside is the overwhelming number of mosquitos throughout the hostel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank Giant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

just let you know, i arrived in vientiane and get to this place with the advice of a local people friend. the guesthouse is situe 50meter to the mekong river, in the town center with many restaurants, bars all around and just in the riverside a little night market so cut, also 200meter far you can go to the municipality swimming pool, play tennis and watch great local football match in the national stadium. but if you want to stay cool and chill all the day, don't worry, guesthouse offers free pool, you can watch last us movies or sports or whatever you wish on the tv, just sitting on the sofa, or use good wifi connection at every floor. or you can just stay outside on the table for share your last destination with your friend or just read a book quietly. you can also bring your own food and eat it inside or outside the guesthouse. i was leaving in one of the dorm for 2 week, wish was cleaned everyday. i used to meet lots of every generations people. staff is nice and sometimes we were having a beer together, while speaking lao. well, just make it your own feeling it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amaurysottas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Great location in fun area, good environment and comfortable beds. Lots of good restaurants nearby and a walkable distance to the river. The dorms are clean and showers have good water pressure. They offer all services for your convenience like motorbike rental, bicycle rental, laundry, free western breakfast, and good English speaking staff. The management was very accommodating as well! I would return to this hostel when I get a chance to return to vientiane.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sktrinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#10 of 93 in Vientiane
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dream Home Hostel 2
Dream Home Hostel 2
#1 of 107 in Vientiane
630 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mali Namphu Hotel
Mali Namphu Hotel
#7 of 199 in Vientiane
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vientiane Star Hotel
Vientiane Star Hotel
#3 of 199 in Vientiane
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Monkey Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Monkey Hostel

Address: Francois Ngin Road, Ban Mixai, Chanthabouly District | Fa Ngum Road, Vientiane 856, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Vientiane
Price Range: $10 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Funky Monkey Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky Monkey Hostel offers a variety of dorms and private rooms. All with A/C and fans, WiFi in all rooms, laundry service, lockers, 24 hour security and reception and complimentary breakfast each morning. All showers are equipped with hot water All solo and group travellers are welcome. Hang out in our common room to meet other guests. We provide local tourist information and maps as well bicycle and scooter hire to get you around town. We have in house travel consulting and booking facilities includes visa specialising in bus, airline and rail bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Funky Monkey Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing