We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chris D nailed this fine no-thrills hotel with his review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Chris D nailed this fine no-thrills hotel with his review”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was staying at Vientiane Garden Hotel 5 nights in late November, into December and I also had room 604.

Chris D got all right, so in stead of jabbing on about this place, I'll suggest you to read his review called: “A detailed report on what you should expect” - great lengthy review.

My few comments as below:

The pressure of the hot water was too low, so it was hard to adjust the temperature, I told Tommy about this and something might happen.

I measured the Internet speed and it was poor, very poor. OK for emails, but forget about streaming. Anyway Internet in Laos as a total isn't good, so don't blame them for that problem. I asked other places and they said that that it was a common problem.

The door to room 604 is the usual sub-standard Laos stuff. I'm in woodworking, so I know what they do wrong: everything. But unfortunately that's the standard unless they import from Thailand, but that's too expensive. I tried if I could open it from outside with a metal knife - yes, took less than the time for using the key! So don't leave anything of value when you are out.

All furniture in the room is made of bricks and mortar, even the bed. But at least it's not emitting any noise. DON'T fall and hit your head, these things won't forgive!

I tried to book through Agoda - they said sold out - I contacted the hotel direct; no problem... So go directly to them from the information given in Chris D's post.

Room Tip: See Chris D's review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    219
    114
    42
    36
See reviews for
64
202
81
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Patong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

It could have been a nice hotel IF NOT THAT ANNOYING GROUP OF CHINESE BYCICLISTS they put every morning under my window, waking me up every morning at damn 6 a.m.

Also quite funny story with water pump. One night I compained that some noisy equipment in the hotel back make too much noise and spoil the night sleep. So they moved it away one night, but probably the other night some other people complained AND THEY MOVED IT BACK. So prepare to put something in the ears if you don't want to wake up every 10 mins or at 6 a.m. seeing 50 bycyclists prepare for their next trip directly under your window.

Rooms nice, pool COLD - no one swims. Hotel Manager lies and does not keep his promises.
It could be a nice place to stay if they were able to manage groups and protect the people good sleep - but very noisy and annoying in fact.

Room Tip: avoid rooms on first floor. Sound proofing is absent and its quite noisy when someone is talking ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Arrived after long bus trip from Luang Prabang having booked a twin bedded through Agoda a couple of weeks previously to be told - surprise surprise - no room available we would have to have a king size bed, not acceptable. After much 'discussion' we were finally taken to a family room.
Air-con very feeble which was nuisance as the room was really hot and stuffy, no shower curtain or screen so very wet bathroom floor.
Nice touch though was the tea and coffee in the room.
Breakfast was basic but nice, with eggs, pancakes cooked to order. Surprised only instant coffee though.
Reception was sort of helpful, reluctant to part with a free map of Vientiane so we had to rely on vague directions.
Nice people though.
Location was ok as it was only a 5 minute walk to the river and about 15 to the night market.
It was an ok stay but think I would try somewhere else if I went back

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirlFerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This Hotel was picked and booked on line because of the pool which was great as temp reached 41 degrees. Good ground floor room next to the pool, The breakfast was good with a variety expected from a Hotel in this price range.

The staff were helpful although had to use the internet behind the front counter.

The visit was just what the Dr ordered.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed seven nights (4 couples) in October 2013. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Tommy the manager is a great guy, very friendly and helpful and so are all his staff. Rooms very clean and comfortable, breakfast more than adequate. Excellent location close to everything with a small convenience store directly opposite the hotel. The hotel pool and surrounds make a very pleasant area to sit and have a cold beer or two. If I visit Vientiane again I would definitely stay again at this hotel.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are nice as you can sit outside on the verandahs overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_S658842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2013

..you can probably find better. This place is more like a hostel than a hotel, IMO, with no hot water, room service, or even good locks on the doors. The free breakfast is extremely basic. It's located in a kind of alley between a busy street and a side street; outside everything is dusty and bland. The pool is smaller than it looks in the photo; no one swam in it when I was there. This place will do for a night or so, but then you might want to hike around town and find somewhere a bit nicer.

Room Tip: People party at night in the central area, so if you want to sleep soundly a room upstairs or in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Spotlessly clean and comfortable room with quiet air con. Very quiet but convenient location close to main areas. Good wifi in room, reception and around a good sized shaded pool.

Great and generous breakfasts, with omelettes, fried eggs, French toast, pancakes.

Helpful and friendly service - would definitely recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidaying_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.0 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
482 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#19 of 93 in Vientiane
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.3 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#11 of 93 in Vientiane
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vientiane Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vientiane Garden Hotel

Property: Vientiane Garden Hotel
Address: 056 Sihome Road | Ban Sihome, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vientiane Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the most centrally located hotel in Vientiane, the Vientiane Garden Hotel is a wonderful authentic hotel inspired by leading boutique hotels around the world. The hotel offers world class accommodation in the heart of the city, sure to impress even the most discerning traveler with its 12 superior Garden View, 24 deluxe Garden View, 4 suites Garden View. Our central location together with various facilities will ensure that you have the perfect base to explore this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vientiane Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing