We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very beautiful & clean and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Ranked #19 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed June 29, 2013

due to the fact that the hostel next door was booked out, we spent 5 nights in this beautiful hotel. clean rooms, which need some shower curtains, longer shower hoses and mosquito nets, but it was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. free Wifi and the pool was cleaned every morning. it was low season so we had a much cheaper price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globalcycling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

356 - 362 of 516 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We ended up late at night coming from Vietnam on bikes, and first were planning to go to Sihome backpackers, however, the price for a double room was relatively high. We were referred to the hotel next door, vientiane garden hotel. It seemed a bit above budget, but managed to make a deal that was on par with sihome backpackers. However, the facilities were way better than expected. The swimming pool was 3/4-star luxury, very decent breakfast, I personally enjoyed the staff ended up singing 'healing the world - michael jackson' with one of them.

Vientianne is an expensive city, and if you end or begin your trip in an hotel and you do not mind to spend a bit above budget, I opt for this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMK1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The rooms and place is good and clean. The staff weren't particularly helpful or endearing. They didn't go out of their way to help you or offer you information.

Breakfast was a bit of a challenge because it's partially buffet and ala cart. They set out some bread and spread that you can toast and drinks for your consumption. But you only get one plate from the list of "main course". I had the pancake that was supposed to come with bacon but apparently you have to ASK for the bacon. It doesn't come readily on your plate as said on the choices.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Booked a 'Deluxe Balcony' room in this hotel for 3 nights in May, - mainly because it seemed to be one of only a handful of hotels in Vientiane with a pool. Also, the rooms looked good on their web-site and it looked fairly close to the centre of Vientiane.

However, as soon as I pulled up to the entrance and shown to my room, I was disappointed. It just didn't look as good as the photos on their web-site, and for $60 a night, I expected more in south-east Asia (and I got more elsewhere).


My main gripes with the hotel are...
-- The room doesn't have a private balcony at all, just an elevated walkway to the front door of the room.
-- No safe in the room.
-- Cheap wire hangers in the wardrobe.
-- The Bathroom was very dated and missing a shower curtain, Bath Mat and the sink plug didn't fit.
-- The bathroom was very dark and lit by a dim light, so I learnt to shave in the day rather than in the evening.
-- Noisy air-conditioner (some nights I had to turn it off so as I could sleep).
-- Poor breakfast. No real coffee, only instant-coffee (and this a former French colony!!).
-- WiFi was very slow and it was generally unusable.
-- The water in the pool was dirty, and my conclusion was that the water wasn't cycled, so that basically it was a pond with rain water. The staff seems to be always fixing it, and one morning we were not allowed to use it. Either way, the water was no uninviting than I never used it.
-- One night I felt the key with the receptionist. When I came back at 1am, it was on the reception-table and the staff were sound asleep, so anyone could have easily just taken it and gone into my safe-less room.
-- Hotel is a bit off the beaten track down a side road. Not far form the centre, but in Vientiane heat, I wished it were closer.


All in all, I was disappointed with my choice, and wished I had chosen somewhere a bit closer to the real centre, even if it were a few dollars more. A picture tells a thousand words, so I have included some photos in this review.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BrilloAido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I spent three nights here on a visa run, and it was lovely. the staff were mega friendly, i enjoyed the breakfast, the pool was nice, and the rooms were lovely. It's an easy walk to various streets and the river, and the staff helped me to haggle the price of my tuk tuk to the embassy down - I paid half of what other people I met at the embassy who were staying nearby (or closer). Loved it.

Room Tip: I have mobility problems and emailed ahead to ask for a room on the ground floor - they were very ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

So I finally arrived at the hotel after being stranded for 7 hours at km 83 out from Vientianne when my motorcycle died.
My relief at arriving was immediately gone after the treatment I received by the young guy at the front desk. Barking orders at me about my booking, my name, my voucher. In 30 years of travel and visiting over 60 countries I don't think I have encountered a ruder or more unprofessional greeting at a hotel.
This guy should not be working in the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
2  Thank realmc26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

i just arrived in bangkok and the first thing i do is write this review. whatever good experience i had in laos was overshadowed by my money being stolen in my room. dont get me wrong, the hotel was fine, the staff was friendly. perhaps thats why i became complacent. on my last day, my train was scheduled to leave in the afternoon. the manager tony was kind enough to agree to a late check out. at 12:00 i decided to have lunch and had the foolish notion that my stuff would be safe in my room. everything was packed and i took only enough money to cover lunch. i was back by 12:50. when i was getting ready to leave, i checked my wallet and found 100sgd missing. i was sure because i counted my money that night and i was on a strict budget. i notified the manager immediately but of course everything was denied. they even asked me to count the money in front of them. my room was locked but they still had access. i dont expect to get my money back but im writing this for other travelers to Laos. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL!

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank 1nolimits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.0 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
529 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#20 of 93 in Vientiane
106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
1.5 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#8 of 93 in Vientiane
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vientiane Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vientiane Garden Hotel

Address: 056 Sihome Road | Ban Sihome, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: $32 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vientiane Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the most centrally located hotel in Vientiane, the Vientiane Garden Hotel is a wonderful authentic hotel inspired by leading boutique hotels around the world. The hotel offers world class accommodation in the heart of the city, sure to impress even the most discerning traveler with its 12 superior Garden View, 24 deluxe Garden View, 4 suites Garden View. Our central location together with various facilities will ensure that you have the perfect base to explore this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vientiane Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing