We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hotel in the heart of Vientiane!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Ranked #17 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Very friendly hotel in the heart of Vientiane!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located near to the night market and many good bars and restaurants. The rooms are very nice with good air con and soft beds. The breakfast is included and was good. Kim is the concierge and he was extremely helpful arranging excursions. There is a pleasant small pool that is very needed as it gets very hot here. Highly recommend this spot.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the ones with the small balcony overlooking the pool. A nice place to sit and read...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiriusSkier23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    219
    114
    42
    36
See reviews for
64
202
81
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Good price for the room. We paid about $30 and the room was clean and basic. There is a decent pool. We didn't have the breakfast but it's included in the price (we left early to catch a flight.) They can arrange a car for you very cheap. Good find in a city with lousy hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tmo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel has the nicest staff I have witnessed yet on my SE Asia travels. The hotel is right down from the river and walking distance to lots of restaurants, bars, Buddhist shrines and temples. The rooms are nicely decorated and you can leave the air conditioner running when you go out...which is very rare in Asia. The bathroom is clean and modern and the room has everything you could need. I would definitely recommend checking this place out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guess_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed four nights in this hotel and didn't stay longer only because they were fully booked. We had a large, clean and quiet double room overlooking the garden/pool area. Staff was very nice, attentive and understanding to some of our peculiar needs (at the moment we are travelling with a kitten). They helped us find another place to stay when we wanted to extend and they couldn't offer us a room. Breakfast was good. Having a swimming pool was great as it was such a warm weather.
What we think they should do something about is: 1) too many mosquitoes in rooms/reception and breakfast area. It is really too much. 2) perhaps cleaning the swimming pool more often and maybe putting a shower outside so that people can wash themselves before actually getting into the pool.
As for the location, it is not right in the middle of the "guesthouse district" but it is a short distance walk from the Mekong, the night market and some of the temples. We had no problem whatsoever getting there, all tuk-tuks seemed to know where it was.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaracolBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

A quiet location which is set back from the main street. 10 minute walk from bars & restaurants. This hotel was a lovely surprise. It's just opened up and yes they are still trying to get things right. But you'll find that's the case with most hotels in Asia, standards are just not up to western expectations yet, if they ever will. It appears they are taking note of feedback, so well worth adding your feedback on websites.
The rooms are a decent size and well furnished. Staff are helpful and very friendly. The pool is a welcome retreat after a day's sightseeing in the heat and a quiet place to relax.
Breakfast seems to have improved from previous comments but could still improve. A random selection of things on offer.

By the way, if you book a balcony room, it doesn't mean you get your own balcony. It just means you are on the top floor with a balcony that runs across all the rooms.

We didn't have a problem with tuk tuk drivers not knowing where the hotel was. Just take a the hotels business card with you.

Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mala8830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The views on trip advisor all rate this hotel, we must have been unlucky. The reception and our room were infested with mozzies, we are used to them but this was overboard. Also the man who took our cases to the room, keeping in mind its not a mansion, 1 bed, 1 bathroom, he proceeded to show us the tv, bathroom etc, then wanted a tip which he actually asked for, was taken aback by the audacity of him asking. We had booked in to the hotel for 3 nights in a superior with balcony, we were given a ground floor room with a bench. We moved out after the 1st night, the hotel did give us $30, there was also a plastic like matress protector on the bed, plastic cups in the run down bathroom, would never stay there again, we didnt even stop to have the breakfast. Its an overrated 3star, more like a backpackers high end.

Room Tip: If you want to be eaten by mozzies and stay in a run down hotel, then this is the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DenTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Vientiane, Laos
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Spent 4 nights there with 2 children in April 2013. Hotel is not easy to notice from the street and tuk-tuk drivers do not usually know the place either. Prepare yourself with the directions. The hotel itself is a nice surprise, although at first sight I felt it a bit overrated on Tripadvisor. But in a few days the ever smiling and attentive staff and the super-relaxed environment helped me to understand the rating.

The room is ok, nothing special. Everything worked and indeed the beds are comfortable. The bathroom was basic with a bathtub and shower. Cartoon Network works and there are couple of other channels but most are Lao-speaking. Another big plus for those travelling with children is that the hotel has a close courtyard with no direct access to the street.

Make sure you buy a MOSQUITO KILLER SPRAY in a nearby corner shop. They sell it for $1.50 or so and it is the best investment ever made! You would not enjoy your stay without it.

Breakfast is not the most important meal for us and it was ok with 5 or 6 options on the menu including various egg meals, pancakes or noodle. Comes with free flow of coffee, tea and fruit juice. A few different fresh fruits are also served.

It was constant 40+ degrees Celsius in Vientiane during our stay and the pool was so great to have. A true life-saver after a full day walking around in the city.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the ground floor with a very convenient access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tghu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.0 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#19 of 93 in Vientiane
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.3 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#11 of 93 in Vientiane
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vientiane Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vientiane Garden Hotel

Property: Vientiane Garden Hotel
Address: 056 Sihome Road | Ban Sihome, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vientiane Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the most centrally located hotel in Vientiane, the Vientiane Garden Hotel is a wonderful authentic hotel inspired by leading boutique hotels around the world. The hotel offers world class accommodation in the heart of the city, sure to impress even the most discerning traveler with its 12 superior Garden View, 24 deluxe Garden View, 4 suites Garden View. Our central location together with various facilities will ensure that you have the perfect base to explore this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vientiane Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing