We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay; would definitely recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Ranked #22 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed four nights in this hotel and didn't stay longer only because they were fully booked. We had a large, clean and quiet double room overlooking the garden/pool area. Staff was very nice, attentive and understanding to some of our peculiar needs (at the moment we are travelling with a kitten). They helped us find another place to stay when we wanted to extend and they couldn't offer us a room. Breakfast was good. Having a swimming pool was great as it was such a warm weather.
What we think they should do something about is: 1) too many mosquitoes in rooms/reception and breakfast area. It is really too much. 2) perhaps cleaning the swimming pool more often and maybe putting a shower outside so that people can wash themselves before actually getting into the pool.
As for the location, it is not right in the middle of the "guesthouse district" but it is a short distance walk from the Mekong, the night market and some of the temples. We had no problem whatsoever getting there, all tuk-tuks seemed to know where it was.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaracolBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 524 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

A quiet location which is set back from the main street. 10 minute walk from bars & restaurants. This hotel was a lovely surprise. It's just opened up and yes they are still trying to get things right. But you'll find that's the case with most hotels in Asia, standards are just not up to western expectations yet, if they ever will. It appears they are taking note of feedback, so well worth adding your feedback on websites.
The rooms are a decent size and well furnished. Staff are helpful and very friendly. The pool is a welcome retreat after a day's sightseeing in the heat and a quiet place to relax.
Breakfast seems to have improved from previous comments but could still improve. A random selection of things on offer.

By the way, if you book a balcony room, it doesn't mean you get your own balcony. It just means you are on the top floor with a balcony that runs across all the rooms.

We didn't have a problem with tuk tuk drivers not knowing where the hotel was. Just take a the hotels business card with you.

Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mala8830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The views on trip advisor all rate this hotel, we must have been unlucky. The reception and our room were infested with mozzies, we are used to them but this was overboard. Also the man who took our cases to the room, keeping in mind its not a mansion, 1 bed, 1 bathroom, he proceeded to show us the tv, bathroom etc, then wanted a tip which he actually asked for, was taken aback by the audacity of him asking. We had booked in to the hotel for 3 nights in a superior with balcony, we were given a ground floor room with a bench. We moved out after the 1st night, the hotel did give us $30, there was also a plastic like matress protector on the bed, plastic cups in the run down bathroom, would never stay there again, we didnt even stop to have the breakfast. Its an overrated 3star, more like a backpackers high end.

Room Tip: If you want to be eaten by mozzies and stay in a run down hotel, then this is the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DenTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Spent 4 nights there with 2 children in April 2013. Hotel is not easy to notice from the street and tuk-tuk drivers do not usually know the place either. Prepare yourself with the directions. The hotel itself is a nice surprise, although at first sight I felt it a bit overrated on Tripadvisor. But in a few days the ever smiling and attentive staff and the super-relaxed environment helped me to understand the rating.

The room is ok, nothing special. Everything worked and indeed the beds are comfortable. The bathroom was basic with a bathtub and shower. Cartoon Network works and there are couple of other channels but most are Lao-speaking. Another big plus for those travelling with children is that the hotel has a close courtyard with no direct access to the street.

Make sure you buy a MOSQUITO KILLER SPRAY in a nearby corner shop. They sell it for $1.50 or so and it is the best investment ever made! You would not enjoy your stay without it.

Breakfast is not the most important meal for us and it was ok with 5 or 6 options on the menu including various egg meals, pancakes or noodle. Comes with free flow of coffee, tea and fruit juice. A few different fresh fruits are also served.

It was constant 40+ degrees Celsius in Vientiane during our stay and the pool was so great to have. A true life-saver after a full day walking around in the city.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the ground floor with a very convenient access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tghu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed at the Vientiane Garden Hotel recently on a visa run from Thailand. This hotel is a better than average hotel based primarily on service. On check in I was attended to by three staff members. The English was very good, and while the desk manager was confirming my reservation, another staffer presented me with a cold towel to refresh with as well as a glass of orange juice. The room was clean and comfortable, and the grounds of the hotel, while small, were quite lovely, centered on the pool which was surrounded by shade trees. The hotel is a little off the beaten path, but only about a 5 to 8 minute walk to the main tourist, shopping, and hotel areas. There were several good restaurants nearby. I will most likely have to return to Vientiane within the next couple of months and I plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms were very quiet. I highly recommend the Khop Chai Deu bar and grill, about a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for more than two weeks, on a business trip. The hotel is well located; 7 min walk to the center, which keeps it calm and quiet while still being convenient. The hotel itself is based around an inner garden giving all its charm to this place. It has beautiful pool and you can have your breakfast just next to it, they’ll serve you there.
The breakfast might look limited at the buffet but then you can order pancakes, egg and bacon, French toast, omelets, offering nice variation and always just cooked food, which to me is always better than something sitting at a buffet for hours.
The rooms are new, with nice furniture, spacious and very comfortable bed. All the rooms have TV will lots of international channels. The shower room is big enough and you have good water pressure.
Finally, the internet worked great, never ever let me down, which is great when you’re here for business. Laundry gets back in 24h, sometimes less. They will also arrange all transportation needs you may have and actually the staff being always helpful you can ask easily about any of the troubles or needs you have.
I was impressed, especially for the price, and I will stay here again, which to me says it all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pierre-Yves B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights. All the staff were very friendly and helpfful. It was very clean - yes women were on their knees cleaning. The pool was awesomeand they were continually checking te quality of water. At night around pool was mosquitos - saw very few mosquitoes inour room. I asked at front desk about getting plane tickets to Hanoi.They booked them for us Plus aride to airport.
Tony, the Manager, booked for room in hotel in Hannoi,(worked well) for Peter to pick us up at airport late at night (worked well) and then he booked for us a trip to HaLong Bay I will never know how the guides do it, but they do a great job. We were picked up at our hotel on time in Hanoi,, driven to Ha Long Bay, they split us up (because everyone books a different iterary thru different people) and the 2 of us were taken by guide to a restaurant - excellent food, Alex, our guide pickd us up nd we wwent and got on boat It was wonderful, the food was truly amazing, the staff were greatand wonderful karyoki singers/next day 2 0f us got taken to anotherboat taken to Cat ay island/ climber a mountain with a great giude Alan/ taken to hotel on island - great - picked uup and taken to main port - again we were aqken toa place to eat/ picked us up and back to Hotel Thanks uou Tony great job

Stayed: March 2013
Thank ckmdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
582 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#7 of 97 in Vientiane
425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#21 of 97 in Vientiane
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
#14 of 97 in Vientiane
73 reviews
1.5 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#9 of 97 in Vientiane
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vientiane Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vientiane Garden Hotel

Address: 056 Sihome Road | Ban Sihome, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: $28 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vientiane Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the most centrally located hotel in Vientiane, the Vientiane Garden Hotel is a wonderful authentic hotel inspired by leading boutique hotels around the world. The hotel offers world class accommodation in the heart of the city, sure to impress even the most discerning traveler with its 12 superior Garden View, 24 deluxe Garden View, 4 suites Garden View. Our central location together with various facilities will ensure that you have the perfect base to explore this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vientiane Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing