We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveler rating
199
91
16
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
91
16
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelbeautiful hotelpremier roomnight marketcolonial stylefree airport shuttlemekong riverphorooms are hugein easy walking distancelovely boutiquestayed for two nightscomfortable bedbreakfast buffetthe location is perfectcentral vientianeyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 312 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2017

This is a beautiful hotel, reproducing French colonial style, with huge rooms, excellent staff. very good breakfast and restaurant at very accessible price. The hotel is truly beautiful and unique. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hugo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017

The Dhavara was my home for 5 days while attending a business conference in Vientiane, and I count it as one of my little favorites.

Rather than a huge convention hotel (like the one that hosted the meetings), the Dhavara is a little jewel-box, a white filigreed building of just 7 or so floors on a prime corner in old central Vientiane --- perfectly located and scaled to a really personal boutique level.

My room was one of the premier rooms on the 6th floor, and it felt like a suite ---- a very large room with white walls and wooden plank flooring (with a Persian style rug) and cozy seating areas, anchored by a royal king bed. Nothing standard about this room --- the details were quirky but charming, including the faux antique phone and the bedside lamps (marred only by the use of a tacky-looking plastic charging strip that, however, did the job of charging my laptop and phone).

Wi-fi was fast and reliable, with my devices picking up the signal instantly from anywhere in the hotel (there are different networks for each floor, if I recall correctly, but that was no impediment). TV channels were limited, but manageable.

The bathroom is large, if somewhat empty looking (it had a slightly bleak look despite the fancy fixtures and all the usual 5-star amenities. But, again, this is not your typical chain hotel bathroom look, so I could revel in the uniqueness of it all. The tub shower is rather high from the floor, and might be dangerous for a less nimble guest.

The hall outside the room is a simple airy area shared by just a few rooms (I think 3 or 4 on my floor), opening to an old staircase that I preferred to use (the small single elevator was handy too). The room door frames don’t fit too perfectly into the walls and some jostling is needed to close them well, but that’s a small quirk.

Breakfast is not a huge spread but an exquisitely well chosen mini-buffet in a lovely second floor room overlooking the street corner. I felt transported to a more gracious long-ago era. The breakfast choices were excellent (do take time to order from the menu in addition to sampling the buffet fare) and I could choose different items every day for the five days I stayed here.

One superlative: Dhavara’s cappuccinos and lattes rank with the best I’ve ever tried and enjoyed in hotel breakfasts around the world!

And there’s the gracious service, delivered with warm smiles by eager staffers. It as delightful to see the lobby staff perk up when they spot me walking from across the street, approaching the hotel from 30 meters or so away --- they run to meet and greet me, even just to welcome me back from a meeting day or dinner engagement.

All in all, an inspired choice. A great location. A good experience.

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wingdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised by how good this hotel is. Most of the staffs here speak good English. The design and furnishing of this hotel is simply gorgeous. It's quiet in the room in spite being so close to the main road. Lots of restaurants and cafes in the vicinity. The only downside is small parking space.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank KNSYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

Luxury hotel with rich ornamentation, fully furnished rooms and modern bathrooms
prestigious hall and restaurant decoration with precious wooden carvings and other artistic and handcraft pieces
excellent cooking of local classical food

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Giorgio Vincenz... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017

This hotel is so beautiful and charming. The rooms are huge is size, the amenities are top notch and the location is fabulous too. The is a grandeur feeling the moment you walk into the hotel lobby and the staff are very well trained too. The buffet spread is excellent and this hotel has attention to details. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Concierge3725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews