We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stylish hotel”
Review of Dhavara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dhavara Hotel
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

This is the sort of hotel they used to do in the old days and that you see in old movies except that it is only a few years old. So you have old charm and modern comforts. The room we had was massive with period fourniture and clean. It had a small balcony and an aircon. (Plus kettle, safe etc). The staff was friendly. Breakfast was nice. Moreover the location is good and everything is in walking distance.
One evening we had dinner in their restaurant. The food was very nice (we had curry and fried rice) and not too expensive.
So to sum up a great place to stay

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Laurence26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 294 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel is well appointed, with large, clean rooms. The service cannot be faulted, with all the staff willing to help you out with whatever you need. The beds are very comfortable and the breakfast is good with a good choice of hot and cold food. The only thing that stops this being 5 stars is that there's no gym, fitness centre or pool, which would be good in the humidity of the city.

It's only a short walk from the hotel to a small park area, which has a market on each night. From there you are close to the Mekong river and a nice walk in either direction. There are plenty of good restaurants around and the hotel offers transport to and from the airport. I would go back here if I am back in Vientiane.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlasgowEuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed at the Dhavara Hotel for one night and liked it so much that I extended it for another evening. The rooms are very spacious, the bed is big and wonderful to sleep in, the staff are great and the breakfast was also really nice. There is not a single thing that I can fault them on and would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jirreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This hotel couldn't be in a better location: a short stroll from the river/night market, surrounded by restaurants, cafes, and night spots, tuk-tuks always waiting right outside (although just about anywhere in town is easily walkable). The hotel gave me transportation from and to the airport. My flight got in late morning, and they had no problem with me checking in a couple of hours early. The staff were lovely, start to finish, as was the hotel itself. Every time I came back to the room in the evening, there were French macarons, fresh tropical fruit, and a new pair of slippers awaiting. They excelled in some areas that can't always be counted on when travelling in Southeast Asia: the bed was extremely comfortable, the air conditioning was strong and quiet, the WiFi was solid, and there was steady, endless hot water and excellent water pressure. The big soaking tub was a treat. The breakfast buffet was large and varied (try the excellent pastries supplied by neighborhood bakery Le Banneton). The only quibbles I have are very minor (e.g. a desk in the room without any nearby accessible power outlets), and more than made up for by all of the positives. I felt well taken care of, and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eneesee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a relatively new hotel in Vientiane but has been beautifully styled for elegance and colonial charm. From the outside the pure white facade with glittering mirror tiles makes it a cool and appealing haven and it is no different inside. The lobby is light and bright and filled with the scent of fresh lilies. The staff are welcoming and polite without being stuffy or obsequious. We decided on a standard room but it is huge, with a vast bed and ample space to move around. The bathroom is beautifully decorated in marble with rococo-style mirrors. The shower is hugely powerful and predictable - none of that sudden dosage of freezing cold water when someone down the corridor turns on a tap.
Breakfast is fantastic with a massive buffet of western and asian dishes, fresh fruit, juices, breads, fried rice, yoghurt and cereal and there are additional menu items including french toast and pancakes and of course eggs cooked anyway you like which arrive in moments and are perfectly cooked. And of course coffee, excellent coffee.
It is the little touches that make all the difference at Dhavara from the iced welcome drink on arrival, through to the full sized mugs (not silly little cups) for tea and coffee in the room, to the little plates of fresh exotic fruit and macarons from the salon de the downstairs that arrive in your room sometime between when you go out for dinner and return to sleep.
Dhavara is a lovely hotel, with a opulent feel and a friendly atmosphere. By comparison to some of the other hotels of a similar star rating which are either a bit outdated or a bit slap-dash, this would always be my first choice when holidaying in Vientiane.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhineasPhogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

The hotel is so elegant and the furnishing beautiful and top quality. Service is impeccable although there were some language problems but this is understandable in Laos. The hotel is in a convenient location walking distance to restaurants. This is the best luxury hotel I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank png-kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Definitely in love with the style of the hotel. Very convenient if you stay in Vientiane and closed to any attraction. Service was good, the staff were very polite, I was a little disappointed just because I was expecting too much from what attracted me on the web.

The robe with a hole, the bath door with a crack and breakfast with ants! Apart from these faults I liked the hotel very much.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ttma_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.2 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vientiane
993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 97 in Vientiane
493 reviews
1.4 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vientiane
Crowne Plaza Vientiane
#3 of 97 in Vientiane
134 reviews
1.1 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#8 of 97 in Vientiane
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhavara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhavara Hotel

Address: Manthaturath Rd. | XiengNgeun Villiage, Chanthabury District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: $90 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dhavara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sabaidee and welcome to the Dhavara Boutique Hotel, Vientiane. It is our pleasure to welcome you to our colonial residence in the Vientiane Capital. The name, Dhavara, derived from Sanskrit which means ‘beautifully white’ as the inspiration of the architecture. The Dhavara Boutique Hotel is honored to introduce the Lao culture and tradition to you through the hotel decorations, services, and cuisine while you will have the comfort of your home away from home with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Dhavara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing