We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sumptuous and Relaxing”
Review of Dhavara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dhavara Hotel
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a relatively new hotel in Vientiane but has been beautifully styled for elegance and colonial charm. From the outside the pure white facade with glittering mirror tiles makes it a cool and appealing haven and it is no different inside. The lobby is light and bright and filled with the scent of fresh lilies. The staff are welcoming and polite without being stuffy or obsequious. We decided on a standard room but it is huge, with a vast bed and ample space to move around. The bathroom is beautifully decorated in marble with rococo-style mirrors. The shower is hugely powerful and predictable - none of that sudden dosage of freezing cold water when someone down the corridor turns on a tap.
Breakfast is fantastic with a massive buffet of western and asian dishes, fresh fruit, juices, breads, fried rice, yoghurt and cereal and there are additional menu items including french toast and pancakes and of course eggs cooked anyway you like which arrive in moments and are perfectly cooked. And of course coffee, excellent coffee.
It is the little touches that make all the difference at Dhavara from the iced welcome drink on arrival, through to the full sized mugs (not silly little cups) for tea and coffee in the room, to the little plates of fresh exotic fruit and macarons from the salon de the downstairs that arrive in your room sometime between when you go out for dinner and return to sleep.
Dhavara is a lovely hotel, with a opulent feel and a friendly atmosphere. By comparison to some of the other hotels of a similar star rating which are either a bit outdated or a bit slap-dash, this would always be my first choice when holidaying in Vientiane.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhineasPhogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for Dhavara Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 268 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2014

The hotel is so elegant and the furnishing beautiful and top quality. Service is impeccable although there were some language problems but this is understandable in Laos. The hotel is in a convenient location walking distance to restaurants. This is the best luxury hotel I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank png-kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Definitely in love with the style of the hotel. Very convenient if you stay in Vientiane and closed to any attraction. Service was good, the staff were very polite, I was a little disappointed just because I was expecting too much from what attracted me on the web.

The robe with a hole, the bath door with a crack and breakfast with ants! Apart from these faults I liked the hotel very much.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ttma_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed here for our two nights in Vientiane. We arrived a little before 9 in the morning and were able to check in straight away. We were tired as we had had an early start and asked if we could have breakfast, which we did for $10 USD each. After breakfast we slept, so the early checkin was very welcome.
Dhavara hotel is just beautiful. Comfortable bed, good amenities, all was just beautiful.

Breakfast is amazing, I think one of the best we have had in SE Asia. You are presented with a menu when being seated and can make a choice from a variety of breakfast styles. On two of the mornings we asked for mango and one was quickly prepared and bought to our table. The service at breakfast was outstanding, plates were quickly cleared and coffee refilled. (they had a coffee maker, where we could order lattes and cappuccinos )

The overall service everywhere in the hotel was fantastic. If we walked out of our room and a maid was there we would be greeted with a massive smile and hello. When we checked out we were waiting for the shuttle bus, incidentally they have free airport pick up and drop off via a hotel shuttle bus. The manager came to chat with us, ensuring we enjoyed our visit and the hotel. When talking to him he told us that Dhavara was one of the few hotels in Vientiane that employed purely Lao staff. It is a credit to the hotel, sometimes there is slight language problems with not all staff having the best english, but all people need to learn somehow and although it can be a little frustrating like when we ordered room service and the wrong thing was delivered, I think it is a small thing in the big picture and can be overlooked for the out standing service throughout the hotel.
This hotel is number 1 on Tripadvisor for a reason, if you are in Vientiane we would definitely recommend staying here. It is also perfect location one block back from the river and the night market.
The hotel will be extended in the near future with extra rooms being built on the adjoining block, it will also have a rooftop pool.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnda667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Loved this hotel!!
From start to finish of our visit we received everything we needed - We arrived early (around 11:30am) and we were able to have our room which was great as check in is normally 2pm. Upon leaving we we given a free ride to the area where we were due to catch a bus to our next location (they usually only do drop offs at the airport, so this was a lovely end to our stay). Each night of our stay we were delivered a plate of macaroons, very tasty!
The breakfast was very nice, there was an option of selecting from a menu to be cooked and a buffet of continental items as well.
The room was gorgeous and had everything we needed, including a in-room safe, hairdryer, toiletries & an iPod docking station. Everything was clean and tidy, the room had lovely views over Vientiane.
The location of the hotel was perfect it was right in the centre of the town and was in walking distance of all the sights.
I would 100% recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank thedistancekc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We were in 603, what a wonderful suite, the best we have experienced so far we think. Beautiful sunset view. A ball of burnt orange.a huge room with desk and. Hair (ideal for the wifi which worked well), TV, large sofa and coffee table, dining table and 4 chairs. Lots of space. Huge bedroom with dressing table and poof, another TV, wardrobe and bedside tables. Huge bath in the bathroom plus king size walk in shower, double basins. Luxurious with large Lanvin toiletries. Nothing was missing. There slippers, robes, hairdryer, ironing board & iron.
The hotel is ideally situated for the night market, the Mekong and within a short ride from many of the sites.
Breakfast was adequate. Would have liked different yogurts and crispy pastries but that is my preference. We cannot rate this hotel and its staff highly enough. Love to return here.

Room Tip: If you can afford the 6th floor you get a wonderful sunset view. All rooms are light, airy & spa...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HudsonS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Booked on short notice, this place was a nice temporary home to us on a short trip to Laos' capital. Not too big, providing a nice atmosphere and very comfortable rooms. Officially rated four star, it's missing only little to the fifth one. Room rate was reasonable, WLAN free and a good breakfast included. It's rated #1 for a good reason, we can really recommend it!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank saintex13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.2 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
917 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
455 reviews
1.4 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
1.1 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#6 of 93 in Vientiane
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#10 of 93 in Vientiane
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhavara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhavara Hotel

Address: Manthaturath Rd. | XiengNgeun Villiage, Chanthabury District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: $106 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dhavara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sabaidee and welcome to the Dhavara Boutique Hotel, Vientiane. It is our pleasure to welcome you to our colonial residence in the Vientiane Capital. The name, Dhavara, derived from Sanskrit which means ‘beautifully white’ as the inspiration of the architecture. The Dhavara Boutique Hotel is honored to introduce the Lao culture and tradition to you through the hotel decorations, services, and cuisine while you will have the comfort of your home away from home with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Dhavara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing