We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if you can”
Review of Dhavara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dhavara Hotel
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We were in 603, what a wonderful suite, the best we have experienced so far we think. Beautiful sunset view. A ball of burnt orange.a huge room with desk and. Hair (ideal for the wifi which worked well), TV, large sofa and coffee table, dining table and 4 chairs. Lots of space. Huge bedroom with dressing table and poof, another TV, wardrobe and bedside tables. Huge bath in the bathroom plus king size walk in shower, double basins. Luxurious with large Lanvin toiletries. Nothing was missing. There slippers, robes, hairdryer, ironing board & iron.
The hotel is ideally situated for the night market, the Mekong and within a short ride from many of the sites.
Breakfast was adequate. Would have liked different yogurts and crispy pastries but that is my preference. We cannot rate this hotel and its staff highly enough. Love to return here.

Room Tip: If you can afford the 6th floor you get a wonderful sunset view. All rooms are light, airy & spa...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HudsonS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for Dhavara Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 268 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

Booked on short notice, this place was a nice temporary home to us on a short trip to Laos' capital. Not too big, providing a nice atmosphere and very comfortable rooms. Officially rated four star, it's missing only little to the fifth one. Room rate was reasonable, WLAN free and a good breakfast included. It's rated #1 for a good reason, we can really recommend it!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank saintex13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The rooms are very large and clean. Breakfast includes many choices but the breakfast room is hot. Front desk clerk was terrible. We booked a tour with him and asked for an English guide. The next morning someone showed up to give us a tour and couldn't speak English. Then we asked for a cab to take us to dinner. The same clerk arranged a cab for us. He told the driver the wrong place. What is worse is he told us the cab was $10 and prearranged with the driver. If we had used the meter, it would have been $3.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed a night at this hotel as it was fully booked during the period I was in Vientiane. Great location, close to the night market and cafes and restaurants. Upon my check-in, I was upgraded to a premium room that was HUGE. As the hotel is new, it was a pleasure to see bright, airy and clean interiors (especially bathroom linen!). The hotel staff was very helpful in helping me get my cell phone, which I had left behind in the previous hotel I had been staying at. The airport pick up and drop off is a very welcome service! The only area that needs to be tweaked is the breakfast, as most of the fresh fruit and breads remain uncovered and we saw mosquitos sitting on them. Also, the pancakes I ordered tasted very powdery. They could do with a better choice of fresh yogurts and juices. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seems33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I loved my stay at this hotel. If you are in Vientiane and are looking for clean, affordable, amazing spread of food at the breakfast buffet (which I ate outside on the balcony every AM), this is your spot. Good part of town, convenient, great staff. No complaints here, its my new "goto" when in Vientiane.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Khaneseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Right in the centre of Vientiane, unfortunately situated next to a building site, the Dhavara proved to be a good choice. Big rooms well equipped bathrooms and a 5 star breakfast made our stay very pleasant. Staff is friendly, a better knowledge of English would be welcome. No pool, but a pleasant outside terrace on the first floor allow you to sniff the city. Don't sniff too much, traffic increased enormously over the past years. It has a kind of Chinese feel. We would have liked international newspapers. Other than that, just solid good quality.

Room Tip: there are no rooms with a view, the river is too far away, so expect a view on the rooftops of the c...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orangeAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Dhavara Hotel as the first stop on an extended trip through Laos, Cambodia, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam and Hong Kong in January.
We were picked up at the airport which is always a relief when you arrive in a strange city for the first time, and from that point forward everything went well.
We loved the hotel from the moment we arrived and the service we received was outstanding and the staff wonderful. To start with the room was much better appointed than we have generally been lead to expect and we have travelled extensively to all parts of he world. It was large and airy with very high ceilings and french doors to a small balcony. There is an old world elegance with hardwood floors and wooden furniture. The public rooms are reminiscent of a grand hotel or stately home with beautiful furniture, mirrors and chandeliers. The hotel was spotlessly clean and response to requests for service was immediate.
Breakfast was in a beautiful dining room and the breakfast was excellent. There was an interesting combination of a la carte and buffet, with some selections made from a menu (type of eggs,selection of bacon sausage, etc.) with the rest being self service from the buffet. There was always a good selection and everything was fresh and appealing.
The staff were charming and responsive to all our needs and generally provided a very positive experience.
The hotel is a short walk from the Mekong river which features a river walk, a night market, as well as lots of bars and restaurants. We enjoyed the river walk and the nightly sight of people excercising in classes or families along the river embankment. The highway along the embankment closes in the evening for people to walk, run, ride their bikes and otherwise exercise which we found novel but also very civic minded.
Vientiane is not a holiday hotspot, but we found it to be a lovely quiet city with friendly people and a wonderful place to get your clocks adjusted and recover from the time change of a long flight from western Canada. Some people found it too quiet for their tastes, but if you want to visit a country and generally get the feel of the country and its people, rather than just doing "stuff", I would recommend Vientiane, and particularly the Dhavara Hotel as a place to start.
If we return to Vientiane, as I hope we will, we will certainly stay once again in this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: I suspect every room is good. The higher in the hotel the further you would be from traffic noise...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaffyUke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.2 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
917 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
455 reviews
1.4 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
1.1 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#6 of 93 in Vientiane
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#10 of 93 in Vientiane
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhavara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhavara Hotel

Address: Manthaturath Rd. | XiengNgeun Villiage, Chanthabury District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: $106 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dhavara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sabaidee and welcome to the Dhavara Boutique Hotel, Vientiane. It is our pleasure to welcome you to our colonial residence in the Vientiane Capital. The name, Dhavara, derived from Sanskrit which means ‘beautifully white’ as the inspiration of the architecture. The Dhavara Boutique Hotel is honored to introduce the Lao culture and tradition to you through the hotel decorations, services, and cuisine while you will have the comfort of your home away from home with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your Dhavara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing