We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$128
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $69/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Salana Boutique Hotel(Vientiane)
$89
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$62
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lao Plaza Hotel(Vientiane)
$139
$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ansara Hotel(Vientiane)
$89
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$142
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$33
$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lao Orchid Hotel(Vientiane)
$58
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveler rating
197
90
16
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
90
16
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelbeautiful hotelpremier roomnight marketcolonial stylefree airport shuttlemarble bathroomlovely balconymekong riverphorooms are hugein easy walking distancelovely boutiquestayed for two nightscomfortable bedbreakfast buffetmain road
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 309 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Right in the centre of Vientiane, unfortunately situated next to a building site, the Dhavara proved to be a good choice. Big rooms well equipped bathrooms and a 5 star breakfast made our stay very pleasant. Staff is friendly, a better knowledge of English would be welcome. No pool, but a pleasant outside terrace on the first floor allow you to sniff the city. Don't sniff too much, traffic increased enormously over the past years. It has a kind of Chinese feel. We would have liked international newspapers. Other than that, just solid good quality.

Room Tip: there are no rooms with a view, the river is too far away, so expect a view on the rooftops of the city.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orangeAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Dhavara Hotel as the first stop on an extended trip through Laos, Cambodia, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam and Hong Kong in January.
We were picked up at the airport which is always a relief when you arrive in a strange city for the first time, and from that point forward everything went well.
We loved the hotel from the moment we arrived and the service we received was outstanding and the staff wonderful. To start with the room was much better appointed than we have generally been lead to expect and we have travelled extensively to all parts of he world. It was large and airy with very high ceilings and french doors to a small balcony. There is an old world elegance with hardwood floors and wooden furniture. The public rooms are reminiscent of a grand hotel or stately home with beautiful furniture, mirrors and chandeliers. The hotel was spotlessly clean and response to requests for service was immediate.
Breakfast was in a beautiful dining room and the breakfast was excellent. There was an interesting combination of a la carte and buffet, with some selections made from a menu (type of eggs,selection of bacon sausage, etc.) with the rest being self service from the buffet. There was always a good selection and everything was fresh and appealing.
The staff were charming and responsive to all our needs and generally provided a very positive experience.
The hotel is a short walk from the Mekong river which features a river walk, a night market, as well as lots of bars and restaurants. We enjoyed the river walk and the nightly sight of people excercising in classes or families along the river embankment. The highway along the embankment closes in the evening for people to walk, run, ride their bikes and otherwise exercise which we found novel but also very civic minded.
Vientiane is not a holiday hotspot, but we found it to be a lovely quiet city with friendly people and a wonderful place to get your clocks adjusted and recover from the time change of a long flight from western Canada. Some people found it too quiet for their tastes, but if you want to visit a country and generally get the feel of the country and its people, rather than just doing "stuff", I would recommend Vientiane, and particularly the Dhavara Hotel as a place to start.
If we return to Vientiane, as I hope we will, we will certainly stay once again in this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: I suspect every room is good. The higher in the hotel the further you would be from traffic noise. But although we could here traffic in the early morning it wasn't a problem for us.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaffyUke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Upon entering we were greeted with a complimentary cool beverage. Check-in was fast and we were shown to our room without having to lift a finger.
The room was VERY spacious and finished very well. Honestly, this is a true boutique hotel that you are sure to enjoy. Very close to the market, river, and many great restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 04 are very nice and a great location. If you can get 601, you've hit the jackpot!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rwa95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Apolo and his team really have a nice thing going here.

The hotel just opened in October of 2013, so everything was very clean and neat. The rooms were so lovely with all the essentials: a comfy bed, a safe, a refrigerator and a clean bathroom. But, then was only the start. I really loved how the rooms where decorated, and wood floors are so elegant. As my husband is a photographer, I always look for a balcony. He loves to sit and watch people. The balconies here are large and inviting.

The breakfast was good, but you could see that they were still working out a few bumps there. We were at the hotel for 6 days over 2 weeks, and I noticed that by the end, breakfast was running very smoothly. If you get an omelet, as for some grilled tomatoes, they were really yummy.

Finally, I want to send a special thank you to Apolo, the hotel manager. He is a fine gentleman, and is very passionate about treating his guests with care. The quality of this hotel is a reflection of him.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a balcony, and at the front of the hotel. I am not sure if all rooms have them or not.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two nights and I had a wonderful stay. In fact, it was one of the nicest and most memorable hotel stays ever. The staff are just incredibly friendly, the rooms are large, beautifully decorated and very well equipped. The location of the hotel is great, too, it's just a short stroll from the river and many bars, cafes, restaurants and shops in the city center. The service was beyond expectations: free shuttle service to the airport, a welcome drink, a sumptuous breakfast buffet, great coffee, fast and complimentary wifi and above all very friendly, attentive and helpful staff. It was also the little details that made the stay so perfect: the staff would put small night snacks into your room and that was such a nice surprise when coming home from a long day exploring the city. I can highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again the next time I am in Vientiane.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews