We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the search!”
Review of Rays Grille Laos

Rays Grille Laos
Ranked #6 of 401 Restaurants in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the search!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We had such a hard time finding this place when it was right off a main street all along!!
It took us 2 days to find and every
Person we asked for help was no help at all. Don't follow google maps. It will lead u to the wrong dirt road. Have your hotel call and find out the best way to get there

Anyways, the burger and Philly cheesesteak were incredible! The burger melts in your mouth because the meat is so fresh. I don't know how, but I finished everything! I highly recommend this place especially if you need a break from the Asian cuisine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janejk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    117
    30
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I came here on our last night in Vientiane. We seriously considered staying an extra night or two to return to Ray's for another Philly Cheesesteak.
The food is really top quality, well prepared; the service is great, we liked the music and the snickers brownie was something else!
Here's the tricky bit: finding the place. Go to the corner of Souphanouphong Avenue and Khoun Boulom; there's a whiteboard outside with the menu on it but there's not much else to identify Ray's. On Google maps it's approx. where 'CCC' is shown.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lissoni_Lamington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best American food you can hope to get!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

If you ever come to Vientiane and you have a craving for a american food, do not miss out on Ray's Grille! I had the signature Philly Cheese Steak and my girlfriend the chicken quesadilla. Both were just heavenly! The Fries were super yum too! Ray is a really nice guy and the whole atmosphere is great. Burgers, Bear and Blues - what more do i need to say?

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaxKopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
“Worth finding!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We had been eating traditional Laos food and were looking for some burgers. Ray's Grill could not have been more perfect! The meat is really tender, fries perfect and sauce incredibly tasty! Plus, Ray is really great(:
It is true that we took a while to find it but that is because GOOGLE MAPS AND TRIP ADVISOR's MAP ARE BOTH WRONG! It shows the wrong road! Instead of taking the street that they show, take the one next to the gas station. Ray's restaurant has a really small sign and if you face the gas station the restaurant is on the street on your right. In any case, the address is right and you can ask for Sihom street 17/1 and local people will (somehow) guide you.
It is really worth the effort! After seeing that we had really struggled to find the place Ray even comforted us with a great chocolate brownie and coffee.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We wanted a burger, we got more than that”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I'm not a particular burger fan usually so when I decide to get one, it has to be good. And that's exactly what I got a Ray's Grill, if not more. The place is basic, nothing fancy, just what we expected. The owner, even though super-busy, took care of us from the moment we came in. My boyfriend & I both got the beef burger with bacon, cheddar cheese and Danish blue cheese. We're french so obviously cheese had to be on the list :) And honestly it made all the difference.
Nothing was wrong, from the fries perfectly grilled to the salad on the side and the good service. I'd definitely recommend the place to budget travellers willing to fill up their craving for western food, or to Vientiane expat who don't know the place yet (it's quite hidden even though centrally located!)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kolynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rays Grille Laos also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Rays Grille Laos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing