We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”
Review of Rays Grille Laos

Rays Grille Laos
Ranked #4 of 400 Restaurants in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Ate there twice on my short trip. Philly cheese steak sandwich was excellent. Maybe it's because I've been out of the US for so long, but I thought the hamburger was the best I've ever had. Perfect bun and toppings. Beef was high quality, charred just slightly on the outside and juicy inside. Incredible flavor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    115
    30
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice friendly place”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I was here once for dinner and had the philly cheese steak sandwich on baguette and it was terrific. The place is actually named after his young son who you will probably see wondering around playing. Very friendly and local expat atmosphere.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank songoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not "relative" western food”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Many of the Western restaurants serve "relatively" good food for being in Laos. However, Ray's is DELICIOUS - not relative at all. I've had the philly chicken sandwich and a burger and would recommend both. Also, this place has the best fries in VTE.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwanza Region, Tanzania
Level Contributor
200 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Revelatory”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

A small joint that you can easily walk past, run by Daniel. The restaurant is named after his son Ray. The menu is small and changes day to day depending on what's come into town and what's available. Lunch is good but evening dinner is better, as there is a vibrant crowd of regulars of many nationlaities.
My wife and I have been here several times but I had two things tonight that I had never had before, both of which were revelatory. The philly cheese steak sandwich in fresh lao french baguette is so damned tasty I almost carried on and ate my arm. The home-made fresh tortilla chips (as opposed to out of a packet) are layered almost as finely as good as millefeuille and beautifully fried, with great salsa and avo dips.
Daniel is a thoroughly nice guy who engages all customers, plus there is lots of chat between tables. The atmosphere makes the place. And the BeerLao is beautifully cold!
The prices are ridiculous. 17,000 kip for a half philly cheese sandwich. You cannot go wrong.
Daniel is moving soon so if you go here and he's gone, ask around. The new place will be less than half a kilometer away, close to Wind West bar/restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shedheadabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome food and great guy.”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I first found Rays Grille when i was walking around looking for something different to eat.... i saw a guy cooking out side a little place so i decided to try it out.... the food was amazing 2 years on its my number 1 choice whenever i am in Laos. Daniel is a great guy and the atmosphere is very relaxed and enjoyable. I highly recommended it to every one. :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rays Grille Laos also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Rays Grille Laos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing