We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An undiscovered Secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kungs Cafe

Kungs Cafe
Ranked #24 of 392 Restaurants in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An undiscovered Secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

My friend Dick told me "I've found this great little cafe and I want you to come and see it". After a few weeks I agreed and I was not disappointed.
Sticky rice pancakes with mango and drizzled honey plus a great coffee coconut shake made for a superb afternoons repast. In fact, I took several Lao friends there who declared they had no idea where it was. It's down a side lane about 70 metres but worth discovering. And the old fella that owns it (Mr JB) teaches English and French classes after it closes. He speaks English with only a slightly discernible American tinge.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    35
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path, great food and ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

When someone visits me in Laos, the first place I take them is Kungs for sticky rice pancakes, pork soup, mango fruit shakes, and great Lao coffee!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeinlaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

When we arrived, we realised that it was past the opening hours! The lady boss however was very nice to accommodate us. We had the sticky rice mango pancake, which was THE BEST dessert we had in Laos!! She even showed us how to do it!

We also had soup noodles and fried noodles, both of which were also delicious!

Lovely ambience down a long alley!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JulynnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Find it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

I concur with a recent review by Stutravel. It was a pleasure to dine at Kungs, and luckily as it was quiet spend some quality time with the very lovely and humble owner Maly. She is a delight and was more than happy to chat at length with my wife and I. I encouraged her to display a bigger sign at the alleyway as it's very easy to miss and she deserves the patronage. An experience in itself.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Warwick182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing throughout!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at around 12:30 when there were about 4 tables eating/waiting to be served. The waitress ignored us so we had to find some menus. After 10 minutes of asking to order and the waitress walking away, they finally took our order. The papaya salad was inedible and we refused to pay for it and the rest of the food was tasty but very small portions. It seems like a cute little place but they need more staff if they cannot handle 4 tables. in the time we were there they got orders wrong, someone walked out from the frustration of being ignored and they took so long to bring out the food someone was late back from their lunch break, it did not seem that it is the best place to eat in vientiane!

Helpful?
3 Thank BTaylor276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kungs Cafe also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Kungs Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing