We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Social environment, nice owner, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vientiane Travellers House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vientiane Travellers House
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Social environment, nice owner, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

The free pool table was great to meet people, and the free breakfast was also very good. The location was pretty ideal, next to the night market, and many many restaurants close by. The bikes are great that you can rent, good quality. Our double room was slightly small, but nothing to worry about.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
6
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is in a good location in Vientiane. The room we had was up 2 flights of stairs. Room included air conditioning, flat screen TV and hot water. Cost 180,000 kip per night. Breakfast is included in this price.

We stayed for 2 nights.

When we checked up the lady at reception said we owed 400,000 kip. When I told her we were quoted 180,000 kip per night- she changed her mind and charged the correct amount.... This could have been a mistake, except the same thing happened with our bus tickets which we booked through the hotel. We were quoted 40,000 kip pp (for a bus to Vang Vieng) and when we went to confirm and pay- the price was 50,000 kip per person.

Overall, I would still stay here again, but be sure to confirm prices and check your change.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmat7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

my second time in vientiane Laos,the Vientiane Travellers House it Place i stay,this the best hostel for Backpackers like me stay in there.only 50000kip ( 6,25usd) for night i got free excellent breakfast and to fast wifi,pool table free and i meet many new frien when i stay there,Bear Laos very goo to, Hight Recommend this To you.......

Room Tip: i stay in 16 beds dorm,it very goo aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights in Vientiane Travellers House. The hostel was very clean, comfortable & on a fabulous location. I had a great time over there. Michael was very helpful to explain all the possibilities for tours in the city. I will surely come back when I am in Vientiane.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimMarie1194700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We arrived here via Tuk Tuk after a long bus journey we had 3 other people in our tuk tuk and on arrival the gentlemen outside the hostel asked if we had made a booking to which i replied yes then he moved his attention to the 3 other people in the Tuk Tuk trying to get them to stay at the back packers to 10 minutes later i finally sat down to check in, he then said the hostel was full and moved us to a different hotel all a bit weird. But dont be alarmed if this happens to you because the hotel they move you to which is called the Sinnakhone is a good one!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hostel is very good, in a great location, and is a great value. The dorm rooms are very clean and have large lockers. The staff are exceptionally helpful. I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone in Vientiane.

Room Tip: The dorm is good if you are on a budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I came to Laos last years with my friends. We had trips around the Asia so we chose the cheap ones. When we came to Laos, we was introduced Vientiane Travellers House. This is a very cheap and convenient Hostel located in down-town. They provide locks to personal drawers, have clean beds and facilities. Staff were very helpful and friendly.....hope can come back hostel some time. If you are looking for a social budget accomodoation I definately recommend it!

Room Tip: Higher floors have nice view and less noise
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mickyjoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.2 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#10 of 97 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#18 of 97 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dream Home Hostel 2
Dream Home Hostel 2
#1 of 95 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vientiane Travellers House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vientiane Travellers House

Property: Vientiane Travellers House
Address: Francois Ngin Road, Ban Mixay, Vientiane 856, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vientiane Travellers House offers dorms with A/C, WiFi, laundry service, lockers (buy your own lock), 24 hour security and reception, a restaurant with food and drinks in the lobby and free tourist information with maps and consultation. Tourist consultation includes visa service, bus ticket, airline ticket, train ticket and some tours to Vietnam and other parts of Asia. There is a common room with Wifi, TV, A/C and beer so you can meet other backpackers or just relax away from the heat with a cool drink. We have a very friendly and knowledgeable staff who can speak English and are happy to help you. Oh, and bring a board game to leave behind, and you get a night in a dorm for free. Can you paint? Do us a wall piece, and stay a night for free. Are you a carpenter, help us out and stay a night for free. We're just cool like that ;) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing