We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great. . . Don't get your Cambodia visa in Vientiane (Here or anywhere)”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vientiane GuestHouse
Ranked #42 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Vientiane
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Location:

The guesthouse is located fairly nicely. It is a short stroll to the river where the night market is held. It is close to the center of town and you can reach all of the good restaurants and bars by foot.

Room:

It was a double ensuite and it would have been a struggle for one traveler. Extremely small and poorly laid out. We did manage to sneak a peek into a twin room and it was quite a bit larger. They don't clean the room unless you leave the key. The water makes a loud pumping noise any time you use the shower/tap/toilet. That goes for your neighbor upstairs as well. So better hope your on the same bathroom break schedule during the night, otherwise your going to be woken up a LOT!

Staff:

The staff is actually pretty helpful. Sometimes there is a language break down, so you need to make sure you are understood.

Visa:

DON'T get your Cambodia visa here or anywhere. We paid $39 to get our visa, thinking this would circumnavigate any trouble at the border. The fact is, if you are going over the border with a bus company that does cross border travel they take care of everything for you anyway. Those that were on the bus with us paid a total of $30 for their visa. We paid $39 in Vientiane AND we had to give an extra $6 per passport for the customs stamps. Think we got through some line quicker? Nope, same wait.

For more on Vientiane, copy and paste the link below into your browser.

aroundtheworldtripping.com/2012/10/16/vientiane/

Room Tip: If your a couple, just go for the twin room. You get more space.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Gospel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
There are newer reviews for Vientiane GuestHouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here after booking a room in Vientiane Backpackers Hostel through HostelBookers.com ... Or so we thought. Vientiane Guesthouse is a sister-hostel to the Backpackers Hostel and this is where you are sent if you book a private room through HostelBookers.

After arriving at the Backpackers Hostel the guy took our money and sent one of his staff to walk us to the Guesthouse. We arrived and were asked to take off our shoes before entering Reception. This is usually a sign that the premises will be really clean but unfortunately this is not the case for VGH.

I'll summarise the Good and the Bad.

The Good:

1) Location is good being a 5 minute walk from the night market at the river
2) the rate included a simple breakfast of toast, butter, jam, tea, coffee and bananas
3) we booked a double room and ended up with a huge room with a double bed and a single bed (and wardrobe)

The Bad:

1) when we arrived the room hadn't been cleaned properly. This was clear because there was a cigarette butt on the floor in the bathroom and the hand-basin was filthy. We told the guy on reception who apologised and went and 'cleaned' it himself (to a fashion). Not a good start. In general the place was pretty dirty, floors included.
2) the room/ bed sheets and towels all smelled a bit damp
3) the white sheets and pillow cases were all covered in stains. Same for the towels.
4) the shower was inoperable when I first used it due to a kink in the shower hose (I had to wash under the tap). We reported it to the guy who first tried to fix it & then said he would replace the shower hose the next morning. After replacing the hose & the shower-head the next day we then lost most of the water pressure & the shower was not much more than a trickle from then on. We asked the guy to fix it but it never happened
5) one evening we lost water completely in our room. We couldn't flush the toilet or brush our teeth. The guy said the water tank was empty and got us to brush our teeth in a room on the ground floor instead (!?)
6) the room contained a combination of fluorescent light bulbs and about 6 standard bulbs but only the fluorescent bulbs worked
7) there was a slow leak coming from the toilet
8) there was also a leak from the shower cubicle
9) our room wasn't cleaned one day & when we asked for clean towels neither the maid or the guy on reception could find any. We did get some eventually but we found it strange that they had run out!
10) the wardrobe doors wouldn't stay shut unless you tied them together
11) the bathroom smelled of drains

As you can see, we weren't impressed. We should have left after the first night but we thought the guy was going to fix some of the important things. (Also, we had paid up front & we Brits hate confrontation!!)

This place is cheap for Vientiane but truly awful. Avoid, avoid, avoid.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walsined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in August. The room was clean and the hotel staff are friendly.The reception area was very small, but all the smiling faces made it become a warm place. We stayed there for three nights in August 2012, and found it to be an outstanding hotel.The location is perfect. We arranged to be picked up and dropped off at the airport, and that, like everything else, worked like clockwork.We are already planning to come back. We met the owner, who could not have been more helpful and friendly.He even helped me to book the flights tickets to Cambodia because i had problem with my visa card . He also gave me a lot of advises for my trips.Thanks Kien for a great stay.I will be back !

Room Tip: ask for window
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edwin734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.3 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
501 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
917 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#18 of 93 in Vientiane
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.3 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
410 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mali Namphu Hotel
Mali Namphu Hotel
#7 of 199 in Vientiane
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vientiane GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vientiane GuestHouse

Address: 044/19 Chao Anou Road | Ban Hai Sok, Vientiane 856, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Vientiane
Price Range: $10 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing