We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pakistani food I've had in SE Asia, no question”

Jamil Zahid Punjabi Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 408 Restaurants in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Please note that if you are coming to my restaurant that the map on trip advisor is incorrect we are actually very close to Bang Long Vietnamese Temple.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Pakistani food I've had in SE Asia, no question”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Unbelievable food (the chicken or mutton Channa masala, the tandoori tikka, the daal, and definitely addicted to the butter naan), great atmosphere (off the street, cool, quiet, hip, and like eating at home.... Granted, a very cool home with food far beyond anything i could dream of concocting!). Follow the alley across from Mspot market thru the tables that look like a low rent wedding and boom, you're there. Not to be missed in Vientiane.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MagicMikeSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    72
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warning this place is a dump”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Hi I am traveling the past few weeks with my girlfriend , we are very carful not to get sick while traveling . We got a flyer for this place and said we would look at the reviews so all is good so we set out to find it . We spent 2 hours looking and couldn't find this place people were raving about so we gave up . On night 2 in Vientiane we set out again with better knowledge of the area and eventually found it. It's a glorified shed not a restaurant so like you have to do in Asia sometimes just sit down order and hope for the best . So we turned a blind eye to the fact it was a shed and the dog walkin around the "restaurant" and we ordered first off the complacently bottled water wasn't sealed ,which we only realised after our meal , secondly my plate was dirty when it arrived . The food was very ordinary and in knee I was going to be sick after eating it . I almost immediately knew that something wasn't right so 6 am the next morning I wake with cramps and spend 45 min on the bog , I had to shower afterwards I felt so disgusting . I then I took to writing this review .Don't just don't eat here trust me

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Celica99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very nice food and authentic indian&punjabi food.we live and work in lao.we visit this reasturant every week.price also very nominal

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacobjohninlaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The most charming restaurant in VTE”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Jamil and his wife make all there food fresh, the menu is small but has everything you could want from Northern Indian/ Pakistani cuisine. My favorites are the beef Masala and the eggplant dish. His breads are by far the best in Vientiane as well as his chai. He is super friendly and very fun to talk to. The restaurant is a bit hard to find but once you do you will keep going back, the atmosphere is perfect as are the sweet Lasis!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank SafariSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“delicious north indian food surrounded by friendly service”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We tried a lot of indian restaurants in South East Asia, but the food was nowhere as authentic and tasty as in Jamil Zahids Punjabi Restaurant.

We liked it so much that we visited Jamil both days of our 2-day vientiane stay.
They have a real clay oven (tandoor) and know how to deal with it ;) We ordered the garlic and a butter naan which was at the same time crusty and soft...so delicious!! The long-time marinated chicken tikka sheek kebab comes with fresh salad and a traditional green and spicy dip. Chicken was tender and well grilled in the tandoor. We can also recommend the channa masala which makes me think of rajasthani food. Sooo yummy!!!
The second day we recogniced that they have an airconditioned area inside and so we stayed a whole afternoon in the cool room and could plan our trip with the free wifi. We enjoyed the small talk with Jamil who is really interested in his guests and that they feel comfortable.
We can highly recommend this place :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamil Zahid Punjabi Restaurant also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Jamil Zahid Punjabi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing