We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY GOOD HOSTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vientiane Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #22 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Vientiane
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
“VERY GOOD HOSTEL”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed here 1 week with 12 beds dorm , it was clean everyday , the room with airconition , free breakfast and wifi in 40000 kip per day , you can meet other backpackers at this hostel , nera the mekong river and restaurant , you can enjoy laos food and beer , we will come back on next time

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoukham ounman... k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    51
    39
    20
    15
See reviews for
Families
0
9
82
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Otherwise a great hostal. Yummy breakfast and great location but I'm afraid this does not make up for being bitten! The hostal workers knew there were bed bugs and i told them again so hopefully they will do something about it but i doubt it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

The hostel is pretty average for the price - good clean bathrooms, good wifi, free breakfast etc but they have a HUGE bed bug problem.
We only stayed one night here because we got beg bugs...guess we should have listened to the graffiti all over the walls.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank britishtraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

This hostel would be really good, but it is unfortunately completely infested with bed bugs. I woke up covered in bites and saw them crawling on the sheets.
Good location though, excellent hot showers, good free breakfast.... But not worth the bites!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Lat, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a 12 bed dorm which was comfy and clean. My bed had a few bedbugs, I told the guys in reception and they sorted it straight away. Spent a couple of evenings having beers out the front, very nice! Overall, nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blacky1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Even though we do not have high expectations since we have been backpacking many weeks in Asia we did not like our stay in this hostel.

(+) Let me get this straight: The beds in the dorm were good. The bed linen was clean and they had good working air conditioning. Also our dorm (on the top floor) was very quiet. We got good sleep there.

(-) But the bathroom and breakfast area was very dirty. The showers and toilets have neither windows nor air shafts, therefor it was extremely humid and hot in there. The showers, toilets and sinks were not cleaned every day as far as i can tell, also there were bath mats on the floor that never got exchanged and were soaked up from water.

(-) There was a dog running around on the ground floor. he was laying on the table once were we had breakfast, i saw him in the kitchen and he also went into the showers to drink the dirty water (the drains were always blocked).

(-) It was not allowed to hang wet clothes or towels in the dorms, but there was no facility to hang them. So everyone put them on the stair handles in the hall. One day not only my own towel but also the one I rented (I had to pay for it) were gone. After asking several times for it I found it running through the heaps of dirty laundry in their laundry room.

(-) There was one young and very helpful, encouraged guy in the staff who was my contact person of choice. But there also was this one older guy who was always very rude and lazy. One night he was obviously drunk and yelled at us that we did not have paid for our drinks (which we definitely had). He directly started shouting and threatened us to throw us out if we did not pay right away. So since that was our last night we paid for other people's drinks just to have our peace and got out of there as quick as possible the next morning.

Conclusion: WORST stay of our whole trip, even though the beds were okay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
242 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed in this hostel for about a week and some days before moving on to another hostel. The facilities are quite nice, dorms and bathrooms seem to be new and clean. The staff are quite nice, although the owner is a bit off. Kind, but quick to lose his temper and is not willing to address unruly guests and even encourages some unethical behavior which causes things to get out of hand with excessive drunkenness. It could be a nice hostel, if only more respect for the guests were implemented. It is a good price, and if you are looking for someplace to party (like many SE Asian travelers are) then this is the place for you. For all other looking to get some sleep and avoid unruly tourists, there is better accommodation near by. (Also the water was boiling hot in the showers, I would imagine it has been fixed by now)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziggy28104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Funky Monkey Hostel
Funky Monkey Hostel
#20 of 100 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Garden
Backpackers Garden
#8 of 100 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dream Home Hostel 2
Dream Home Hostel 2
#1 of 100 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dream Home Hostel 1
Dream Home Hostel 1
#2 of 100 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mixok Guesthouse
Mixok Guesthouse
#33 of 197 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Niny Backpacker hotel
Niny Backpacker hotel
#5 of 100 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vientiane Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vientiane Backpackers Hostel

Property: Vientiane Backpackers Hostel
Address: 13 Norkeokoummarn Road | Ban Mixay, Vientiane 856, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vientiane Backpackers is a modern, clean and friendly hostel which is ideally located in the centre of the Lao Capital, Vientiane. Close by is the scenic Mekong River aswell as restaraunts, cafe's and a small number of bars. Next door is the Vaimiay Temple and good local transport links as well as various travel agents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Vientiane Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing