We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but infested with bed bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vientiane Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #16 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Vientiane
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

This hostel would be really good, but it is unfortunately completely infested with bed bugs. I woke up covered in bites and saw them crawling on the sheets.
Good location though, excellent hot showers, good free breakfast.... But not worth the bites!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 177 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a 12 bed dorm which was comfy and clean. My bed had a few bedbugs, I told the guys in reception and they sorted it straight away. Spent a couple of evenings having beers out the front, very nice! Overall, nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blacky1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Even though we do not have high expectations since we have been backpacking many weeks in Asia we did not like our stay in this hostel.

(+) Let me get this straight: The beds in the dorm were good. The bed linen was clean and they had good working air conditioning. Also our dorm (on the top floor) was very quiet. We got good sleep there.

(-) But the bathroom and breakfast area was very dirty. The showers and toilets have neither windows nor air shafts, therefor it was extremely humid and hot in there. The showers, toilets and sinks were not cleaned every day as far as i can tell, also there were bath mats on the floor that never got exchanged and were soaked up from water.

(-) There was a dog running around on the ground floor. he was laying on the table once were we had breakfast, i saw him in the kitchen and he also went into the showers to drink the dirty water (the drains were always blocked).

(-) It was not allowed to hang wet clothes or towels in the dorms, but there was no facility to hang them. So everyone put them on the stair handles in the hall. One day not only my own towel but also the one I rented (I had to pay for it) were gone. After asking several times for it I found it running through the heaps of dirty laundry in their laundry room.

(-) There was one young and very helpful, encouraged guy in the staff who was my contact person of choice. But there also was this one older guy who was always very rude and lazy. One night he was obviously drunk and yelled at us that we did not have paid for our drinks (which we definitely had). He directly started shouting and threatened us to throw us out if we did not pay right away. So since that was our last night we paid for other people's drinks just to have our peace and got out of there as quick as possible the next morning.

Conclusion: WORST stay of our whole trip, even though the beds were okay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed in this hostel for about a week and some days before moving on to another hostel. The facilities are quite nice, dorms and bathrooms seem to be new and clean. The staff are quite nice, although the owner is a bit off. Kind, but quick to lose his temper and is not willing to address unruly guests and even encourages some unethical behavior which causes things to get out of hand with excessive drunkenness. It could be a nice hostel, if only more respect for the guests were implemented. It is a good price, and if you are looking for someplace to party (like many SE Asian travelers are) then this is the place for you. For all other looking to get some sleep and avoid unruly tourists, there is better accommodation near by. (Also the water was boiling hot in the showers, I would imagine it has been fixed by now)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziggy28104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The air con in the 16 person dorm was apparently on the fritz. The fans helped slightly but sleep was near impossible.

The bathrooms are located on the main floor of the hostel, with what I would consider NO circulation to get the moist, hot air from the countless showers out of the building. The showers themselves look nice enough, but standing in line for 5 minutes to wait for the toilet was almost unbearable.

Another backpacker in the opposing set of dorm rooms was attacked by bedbugs.

Positive note: the booking agency had one of the cheapest trips from Vientiane to Bangkok.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank Erica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is currently suffering from a big outbreak of bedbugs in both dorm rooms. If you have a tendency to react to the bites like I do I'd avoid this place.

Got bitten terribly the first night, asked to move dorm rooms but the same thing happened the next night too. I talked to quite a few other guests who'd had the same problem and one girl in particular had been eaten alive and reacted very badly.

From what we witnessed, the staff checked the beds and that was about it.

Apart from the bedbugs, hostel is pretty nice, good common area, decent free breakfast, wifi is also good. Repeating what others have said though, we found cheaper travel agencies down the street. Bathroom and common areas were kept clean.

Overall, as a hostel, it's quite nice, but for 40,000 kip I at least expect a clean bed and a night relatively free from bites.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank faye_mulholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

situed in the center of the town, closer to the night market, some beautiful temples, a lots of differents restaurants bakeries, ! the place have perfect single and double room, with private hot shower and also dorms for backpackers. service and staff is so nice and cool! wifi good everywhere. rooms are clean every days so its stay property every day. breakfast is include every morning 7 to 10. i spent 9 days here and i got no problems during this time, everything was perfect. just do it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amaurysottas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.2 mi away
Memory Hotel
Memory Hotel
#39 of 93 in Vientiane
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
#15 of 93 in Vientiane
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mixay Guesthouse
Mixay Guesthouse
#78 of 93 in Vientiane
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Funky Monkey Hostel
Funky Monkey Hostel
#22 of 109 in Vientiane
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dream Home Hostel 2
Dream Home Hostel 2
#1 of 109 in Vientiane
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vientiane Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vientiane Backpackers Hostel

Address: 13 Norkeokoummarn Road | Ban Mixay, Vientiane 856, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Vientiane
Price Range: $10 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vientiane Backpackers is a modern, clean and friendly hostel which is ideally located in the centre of the Lao Capital, Vientiane. Close by is the scenic Mekong River aswell as restaraunts, cafe's and a small number of bars. Next door is the Vaimiay Temple and good local transport links as well as various travel agents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Vientiane Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing