We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does One Thing Well”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Douangpraseuth Hotel
Ranked #70 of 95 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

There are smartphone apps that do one thing well. This hotel is similar in that it is the best place to stay when you are in Lao for a Thai visa run.

Rooms are big and clean. We were on the third floor, our wifi connect was strong and fast. Breakfast we pretty good, typical Asian fare, but pretty good.

I was here with my wife and four kids, we got two triple bed rooms. We stayed two nights.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 70 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed here for the Typical Visa run as most others do. Managed to check in earlier than the time stated which was a Bonus as upon arrival into Laos the rain clouds opened. So was nice to be able to relax until the Thai Embassy also opened.

The Room itself was a great size. The Bathroom was large,

Can't comment on the staff's friendliness as for most of them a smile seemed to be the impossible.

And the winner was to read that breakfast was included in the price. However if you want to even see the food, make sure that you are the first person in there.

Obviously they could see from their bookings that they had a group tour of 50+ Asian travellers staying. They managed to eat all the food, so by the time 8am rolls on up. (breakfast is advertised between 6.30-9.30) there is absolutely nothing left apart from a few scraggles of bread. Asking when more is going to come out. Was given a dirty look and told there was no more. Not even a slice of bread. The Manager didn't seem too fussed either.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

If you're in Vientiane for a night or two on a visa run, this is probably the best place to stay. It's inexpensive, clean, comfortable, has helpful, friendly staff, and is literally across the street from the Thai embassy. You can also book a bus to Chiang Mai at the front desk for a good price, and the woman at the front desk was very helpful in answering my questions about the city.

The cons are that it's not too close to anywhere in the city worth visitng except for the Morning Market. Anywhere else and you need a tuk-tuk (there are quite a few eating and coffee options around the corner though).

Also, while the wifi was good for me on the second floor, another guest told me that it's not that great on the higher floors, and that she would have to go to the lobby if she wanted internet access.

Overall though, if I have to go back to Vientiane for another visa run, this is the place I would stay. If you stay here as a tourist, expect to take tuk-tuks everywhere for your daily excursions.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Lani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I have been Vientaine for 3 times but this was the first time I have stayed here on November.2013 , the staff so was friendly and helpful , good english speaking too , located in center of vietnataine , I will be back netx year

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisadoze80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

When I was attending ATF 2013, I stayed at this hotel as it was an official hotel of that event. The hotel was clean, has a spacious room and their staff was very helpful although not all of them speak english.

The location of this hotel is good enough which is within easy access in Vientiane city. I can easily find restaurant, spa, shop and transportation.

I will be back to this hotel when i fly again to this city

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I Putu Yudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed here for four nights and the hotel is clean and very reasonably priced. The staff are excellent and the location is great for the Thai embassy but a bit far from the main area of Vientiane. The worst thing about this hotel is the internet connection. It took me three hours to book a flight - not searching or comparing (I knew the airline and flight I wanted) this was just trying to connect to their website. The connection was this bad about 90% of the time I tried to use the internet - both WiFi in my room and the computers in the lobby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Clean rooms, fast wi fi, elevator, perfect price compared to backpacker hotel.
Perfect for thai visa. Please not that the Embacy closes on weekend. Good location. Some strange rules of the hotel as it closes doors at 11:30 pm!!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sameh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.3 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#19 of 95 in Vientiane
106 reviews
1 mi away
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
#17 of 95 in Vientiane
64 reviews
1.5 mi away
Memory Hotel
Memory Hotel
#52 of 95 in Vientiane
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sinnakhone Hotel
Sinnakhone Hotel
#31 of 95 in Vientiane
96 reviews
1.4 mi away
New Lao Silk Hotel
New Lao Silk Hotel
#47 of 95 in Vientiane
108 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sengtawan Riverside Hotel
Sengtawan Riverside Hotel
#40 of 95 in Vientiane
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douangpraseuth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douangpraseuth Hotel

Address: Rue Bourichane, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 95 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: $23 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Douangpraseuth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Douangpraseuth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing