We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“buddha park” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buddha Park

Buddha Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.00*
and up
Vientiane City Day Tour and Buddha Park Visit with Lunch
Ranked #3 of 70 things to do in Vientiane
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This sculpture park is a collection of hundreds if Buddhist and Hindu statues scattered around a meadow.
london
Level Contributor
114 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“buddha park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

very nice park but; far away i paid 1000 bath to get by taxi its difficult to see a taxi in this city, dont take a tuk tuk cos you will regret it
$1 to get in,its small but worth the effort

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyhalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    626
    343
    84
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What a fun place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Buddha Park is a whimsical place with unusual statuary throughout. It was a lot of fun to visit, but it could use some TLC as it seems to be in disrepair in places. It's also a difficult drive to reach, as the roads are not in the best condition.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dragonfly727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
444 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Our favorite attraction in Vientiane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Amazing mixture of Hindu and Buddhist statuary. Well maintained grounds and very attractive presentation.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mikesflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
632 reviews
317 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Didn't Look Worth It”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

I need a disclaimer on this review: I didn't actually go into the Buddha Park. I looked at it from the outside, and decided it didn't look worth exploring (especially for the price). However, I think this is still a valuable review. The park is located 23 kilometers outside of Vientiane, and takes a lot of effort to get there. I had rented a motorbike for the day and was out riding around the area, so instead of stopping I just kept riding around. However, if I had paid for a tuk-tuk to get there, or had devoted 45 minutes to sitting on a bus on that terrible road, I would not have been happy to get there and realize that the park didn't look like much.

You can see just as interesting Buddha sculptures if you explore the area on your own (though, admittedly, not so many concentrated together). My personal favorite that I discovered on the way to the Buddha park was a giant gold Buddha in a temple on the road looking out over the Mekong River to a giant golden Buddha in a temple on the Thai side of the river. Absolutely gorgeous, and I didn't see anyone else there or have to pay to check it out.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlnAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Was fun, interesting and beautiful ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Buddha park was great. Some really amazing statues and buildings. With Buddhist and Hindu religious figures mixed together. There is also a giant, stone reclining buddha. It is a little bit pricey to get to from the city, but well worth tuk tuk charge.

Helpful?
Thank mad-m0nk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddha Park also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Buddha Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing