We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Settha Palace Hotel
Ranked #10 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Good Overall”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was an absolutely beautiful hotel overall. The French furniture in our rooms was very desirable, the restaurant food was simply, very tasty, and the hotel service was very good! Our room was large, with a nice big lounge section. Overall, excellent

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jiya X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    163
    56
    17
    7
See reviews for
42
211
38
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were so pleasantly surprised at this hotel. Great location so you can walk everywhere,beautiful building that has been so tastefully restored and decorated. The restaurant is good and reasonably priced and the staff so professional and very helpful. The pool is not small and the surrounding garden is well manicured . A great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynn f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel needs an update to the furniture and fittings but, more importantly, the staff needs some serious training. One can understand some mistakes and language confusion but not an attitude that shrugs these off as normal. A disappointing experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SetthaPalaceHotel, General Manager at Settha Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for giving us your feedback.
We have just completed an upgrade of the soft furnishings for the furniture that needed it and the whole hotel interior has been newly painted.

I am sorry that some of the staff had trouble with English, we've had some new service staff come on board and they have not had enough English classes yet.
We can do better and we will.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Settha Palace Hotel is the embodiment of paradise. Palm trees, pools and luxurious rooms filled with life and culture. Despite this, the air conditioning is quite noisy and doesn’t exactly make for quite the pleasure to stay inside and relax. Nonetheless, the experience of the pool is tremendous and definitely makes up for the city traffic and the overbearing air conditioning.
The restaurant for the hotel is absolutely gorgeous. A posh European style is being presented to you in every way possible; polite waiters, appealing food, classical chairs and décor that suites the days of French colonialism to the tee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sueann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Positives:
- Great service, staff is very helpful
- Old but charming hotel
- Great location, very close to downtown
- Great food for breakfast and at the restaurants (for lunch)

Negatives:
- No gym, pool is kind of small
- Rooms are a bit small
- Expensive considering the place/city you are in..

Overall:
- If you can afford it, probably one of your best bets in Vientiane

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank prast8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel has a weird location, an island surrounded by roads but handy for the city. The rooms were very comfortable, what you would expect for a colonial hotel. The air-con was noisy and you couldn't open the window because of the traffic.

The restaurant, although excellent, was somewhat pricey. The service was a bit hit and miss, but they meant well.

We found a wonderful massage parlour quite close by, their foot massages were terrific - I think we must have been there three or four times during a three nights stay!

The Settha is a marvellous haven of comfort if staying in Vientiane.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrHooFangDung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

For what is meant to be one of the top hotels in Vientiane the Settha palace disappoints in many ways. Its saving grace is its pool. A lovely oasis in the hot dirty city.
Cleanliness was seriously lacking. The marble wall opposite the toilet had splashes of something not too pleasant which had clearly been there for sometime. There are stains on the inside of the bath.
The towels look like they have not been replaced since it was renovated in the 90s. Somewhat grey and tired.
The buffet breakfast was disappointing. Being celiacs we have limited choices. Yoghurt was not there most mornings and had to be requested. The cheese slices looked like they had been sitting on the heat for hours. The coffee was terrible. And Lao coffee can be good.
Pool service was laughable. Most days there was nobody there to ask for towels and we were never asked if we wanted a drink or a snack. The last day all the cushions had been removed.
It seems the owners of this hotel are running it into the ground and do little to motivate staff to show initiative. Staff were always pleasant but had not much English and seemed very lazy.
The price of this hotel is not justified.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JemmaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.5 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
910 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
483 reviews
1.0 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#7 of 93 in Vientiane
484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settha Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settha Palace Hotel

Property: Settha Palace Hotel
Address: 6 Pang Kham Street | PO Box 1618, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Vientiane
#4 Family Hotel in Vientiane
#6 Spa Hotel in Vientiane
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vientiane
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Settha Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1930s French colonial heritage building, with high ceilings, period furniture and lighting, beautiful Italian-marble floors and richly crafted rosewood furniture at this luxurious colonial hotel will take you a step back in time. Beautifully restored to its former charm, the Settha Palace is a hotel you will never forget. Relax by the free-form pool with beautifully landscaped surroundings. Indulge your appetite at our French Mediterranean restaurant, La Belle Epoque. Stay connected with modern facilities like wireless internet service. Now with free WIFI in all public areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Settha Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settha Palace Vientiane
Hotel Settha Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing