We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Settha Palace Hotel
Ranked #10 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Weird”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Great little property although in duff location. Staff distant and unhelpful at times. But and it is a big but lots of character and worth staying at in amidst rough and tumble of Vientiane. Would we come back, probably not.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melvin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    163
    56
    17
    7
See reviews for
42
211
38
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

One of its kind in Vientianne. Love the tree-shaded driveway and the London cab parked at the entrance. Conveniently located and one can walk to most places of interest and a variety of restaurants serving Lao cuisine and western food. Although this hotel cannot be compared to the Raffles and E & O hotels around South East Asia, we thoroughly enjoyed our 3D2N stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodHound_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a very good hotel, old colonial in style, very attentive staff, comfortable beds with lovely wooden floors, good bathroom with strong shower, delicious generous choice of breakfast, idyllic swimming pool, free wifi and importantly in a very good location to discover the city on foot and yet close to the airport. The only criticism would be that the room smelt a little musty.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor at the front which was absolutely fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T00ts10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice staff. Food above average and well presented. No elevator but only 2 stories. Old colonial style. Walk to the market and jog path along the Mekong river . Rooms large. Free wifi with password from the staff.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rdukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Obviously one of the best hotels in Vientiane, a colonial building with all the charm one would expect in this part of the world. The staff were welcoming and attentive and our 2 days here were on the whole enjoyable. However I would have to say for the hotel to really go for "great" requires a bit more attention to detail on a few elements. One couldn't help notice that a bit of investment in soft furnishings such as bedroom curtains, more plentiful supply and quality of towels and softer pillows , mattresses and bed linens could greatly enhance the experience and recapture the charm that hotels of this size and history so often offer vs some of today's more prevalent soulless bed factories.

Room Tip: Garden view preferable to street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

A beautiful old colonial style hotel within easy walking distance of the centre of Vientianne. Some rooms are a little on the small side and the menu range in the dining room is limited but I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Sitting among the frangiapani trees by the pool is bliss. Definitely at the more expensive end for Vientiane hotels but among the best.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Scone-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

It is true that the Settha Palace seems to be the best hotel in town. Delightful public areas, lovely bar, colonial architecture lovingly restored, well appointed bedroom, lovely pool. The ideal place to stay in what isn't exactly a tourist haven. All well and good except they seem to have forgotten that it's the little things that make a 5 star just that and these are missing here. I had a long list of service issues which needed a letter to the GM - much apology and a bottle of wine and canapés on the house to ease our experience, but never did get to meet the man. If you want threadbare towels, minimal turndown, no hangers, only one robe, inability of staff to call a cab in a downpour, staff absent around the pool, a 2 hour wait to get the bathroom lights fixed and more, then this is the place for you. No doubt the new GM will get it sorted in time, who knows?

Room Tip: Ground floor with a pool view seems best - but there are new hotels in town which might be a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TonyAyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SetthaPalace, General Manager at Settha Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Tony AYK

As I mention is the response to the note you send to me, I am very sad to learn from your lines that your stay with us is not up to your expectation.
After receiving your note, I immediately take all appropriate action to erase or at least appease the disagreement that you encounter. Most of the points are link to a lack of attention from the team and I must thank you for bringing this to my attention as all those points as been debriefing with the relevant employees and managers.
I do try to reach you at several occasions to discuss with you but was out of luck
Its seems that you were unfortunate enough that several factor come together which I agree with you, is not up to the level of standards we mean to offer to our patrons.
Enhance the level of service at the property and enforce consistency is our endeavor and we are dedicated and firmly determinate to do so.
On behalf of the team here, I solicit that you accept my most sincere apologies for the dysfunction in our services.

To end with, thank you very much to mention, despite the inaccuracy in some part of our services, that the Settha Palace is the best hotel in Vientiane. in our services, that the Settha Palace is the best hotel in Vientiane.

Yours, sincerely


Hugues Hervier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.5 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
910 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
482 reviews
1.0 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#7 of 93 in Vientiane
484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settha Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settha Palace Hotel

Property: Settha Palace Hotel
Address: 6 Pang Kham Street | PO Box 1618, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Vientiane
#4 Family Hotel in Vientiane
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vientiane
#6 Spa Hotel in Vientiane
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Settha Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1930s French colonial heritage building, with high ceilings, period furniture and lighting, beautiful Italian-marble floors and richly crafted rosewood furniture at this luxurious colonial hotel will take you a step back in time. Beautifully restored to its former charm, the Settha Palace is a hotel you will never forget. Relax by the free-form pool with beautifully landscaped surroundings. Indulge your appetite at our French Mediterranean restaurant, La Belle Epoque. Stay connected with modern facilities like wireless internet service. Now with free WIFI in all public areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Settha Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settha Palace Vientiane
Hotel Settha Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing