We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soviet-Style Shiningesque Dump”
Review of Lane Xang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lane Xang Hotel
Ranked #45 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Soviet-Style Shiningesque Dump”
Reviewed February 1, 2011

This place should be shut down. It is run down, dilapidated and a bit gross. They have really grotty mats with the different days of the week that they put in the lifts. The breakfast was terrible-we had bread and dared not to eat anything else. The photos of the pool are on Trip Advisor must have been taken during the Secret War. A weird place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmcelduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    25
    22
    8
    11
See reviews for
5
21
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

My partner and I stayed at Lane Xang for four nights whilst we were in Vientiane and we really enjoyed our stay.
We did some research online and we saw that the other reviews on tripadvisor were quite mixed for Lane Xang but as it had a pool and it was in the centre of town, we thought we'd give it a go.
When we arrived we queried what rooms were available and how much they would cost. We were told that a standard double would cost $45 but we had seen on their website that a standard double was $32. The receptionist informed us that they had increased their prices but the website had not been updated. We asked if we could stay for $32 per night as this is what we had seen on the website so the receptionist checked with his manager and they agreed to let us stay for $32 per night.
Our room was large, clean, had a new bathroom and had a balcony which overlooked the Mekong river (ask for a room at the front). Our room was cleaned daily and we were given fresh fruit and water each day.
The hotel has a pool and as the weather was wonderful whilst we were there, we spent a couple of days sunbathing by it and had regular dips. We had the pool to ourselves on both days and it was large and clean.
The only thing that let Lane Xang down was the breakfast. Breakfast is included in the room rate and it's a buffet served from 07:30 to 10:00. On our first morning we went down at 09:30 and all of the food had been sat there since 07:30 and there were bugs on the salad/fruit and a trail of ants on the milk jug. The hot food was barely warm and did not look appetising at all. On the following mornings we went for breakfast at 08:00 and although it was an improvement, it still wasn't great!
All in all Lane Xang is a great hotel in Vientiane. It is reasonably priced with lots of facilities and although the exterior could do with a make-over, the rooms make up for it. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

I began staying at this hotel around ten years ago but had stayed elsewhere over the last four years as it had gotten hard to book or was full when I tried. This year I was able to book a room and was delightfully surprised over the re-done bathroom in my room. And apparently they had installed noise reducing windows in the front rooms as the street noise was nowhere near as bad as in former years. The room was spotlessly clean and re-cleaned daily and fresh fruit left above the refrigerator. They arranged transportation for me to the train which was spot on time . The only bad feature was the less than wonderful breakfast which seems to have slid downhill over the years. There were two weddings while I was there which were interesting to see and no bother to guests. I look forward to staying there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkibbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2010

Travellers with any respect for the folk who clean rooms, attend reception desks and clear plates in SE-Asian restaurants and hotels for meagre sums should be cautious about criticisms which - by weight of numbers - might endanger occupancy rates and employment. Even so, some things should not be allowed to slide and the state of this hotel is one.
It is cavernous and featureless with an odour that is not typical of that fecund, mildewy smell that certain of us find enticing in Asian hotels. This pong is something else and it makes one conscious of breathing too deeply.
Turn back the sheets and - presto - there's a mat of black hair on the blanket. Yes, blankets attract detritus but most hotels seem to take account of this.
The grouting in the bathroom could only have been done by someone who was visually-impaired of tripping. Maybe they were having a laugh at the expense of credulous falangs.
The walls of the room are in seriously need of filler and paint. The breakfast was barely passable whilst the coffee was indescribable. Three packets of whitener did not change its colour at all. Get coffee right and certain other failings can be overlooked.
Valuables into safe-deposit? Certainly. Just bung them in the bank of beat-up school-style book lockers near reception.
At $10 per night much can be forgiven but at $45 this is beyond a joke.
And the smell . . . .

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roffedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Denmark
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2009

I have been reading some of the other comments and there must be another hotel with the same name. I simply can not belive that some people find this hotel nice. We booked a excutive suite to me, my wife and our 2 kids for a price of $80. The staff showed us up to the room and we were chocked. We were met by a strange odor that probably came from the very old carpet.
The carpet was full of stains and the walls were yellow and dirty. The sofa was made of plastic, but the worst was the smell.

The staff were very nice and showed us some other rooms. The junior suite were a little better but at that time we could smell the strange odor every way and simply had to find another hotel.
The staff were very helpfull and called another hotel and even took us to the new hotel.

If you decide to take the chance with this hotel then remember to see the room before you sign in so you can see and smell for yourselfe.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikkelsenPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

Our bus arrived a block away from this hotel so we checked it out and decided to stay. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff very kind. Our plane left very early and when we checked out they gave us a bag with a vegetarian breakfast, I can't even remember how they figured out we were vegetarian but somehow they did. The breakfast buffet is ok. It's well located, has a pool and massage service, but the spa located right next to it is awesome! The spa is very cheap but with all the luxuries you would find at a plush hotel in the US, unbelievable. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KNDC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
curver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2009

For the first time in eight years or so, the management of the Lane Xang hotel has changed their prices. From now on, expect to pay 36$/40$ (single/double) for a night, including breakfast buffet and use of the swimming pool.

I agree that the hotel has seen better days and the breakfast buffet is not the most wonderful one can imagine (certainly not the coffee), but considering the central location and the use of the pool, this is not such a bad deal.

To book directly with the hotel management, please use the following address:

[-]

Friendly regards,
Curver

  • Liked — location, pool, price
  • Disliked — coffee
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank curver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
#16 of 93 in Vientiane
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phasouk Residence
Phasouk Residence
#29 of 93 in Vientiane
119 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Rose Boutique Hotel
New Rose Boutique Hotel
#12 of 93 in Vientiane
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Champa Garden Hotel
Champa Garden Hotel
#47 of 93 in Vientiane
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.2 mi away
Douang Deuane Hotel
Douang Deuane Hotel
#34 of 93 in Vientiane
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lane Xang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lane Xang Hotel

Property: Lane Xang Hotel
Address: Fa Ngoum Road | Chanthaburi District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lane Xang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lane Xang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lane Xang Vientiane
Hotel Lane Xang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing