We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok Hotel - a little run down and old.”
Review of Mercure Vientiane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Vientiane
Ranked #24 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ok Hotel - a little run down and old.”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was my first time in Vientiene. On the advice of my colleague i moved up to a business club room as he advised that the standard rooms had some problems on his previous stays. The room was a little aged but i found it comfortable and acceptable.

The hotel service was very good, they were very helpful to our needs. The food was acceptable and the barman made a mean long island ice tea. The hotel is walking distance from the meekong and we found it nice to go for jogging along the river or to walk to dinner to the many restaurants on the river bank.

Room Tip: It could be worth while to consider paying for a business room up top. A little pricey but you then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davo_asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    160
    171
    68
    27
See reviews for
41
120
74
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Room was ok, not to a standard i would have thought for a mecure hotel, could do witha makeover. Location a tad to far from centre of town for walking but tuk tuk readily available. Freindly and helpful staff.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lois62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

For the price the rooms were a good size but as an earlier reviewer said, the rooms do feel a bit empty, and to me they also felt very basic.
The staff tried hard but, surprisingly, for a major brand seemed unfamiliar with international guests and struggled a little.
I would say save your money and go for somewhere slightly lower range on the river and you will get more value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirkbyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
742 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you're a tourist in Vientiane, I'd try getting a hotel closer to the waterfront if you want to wander around. If you just want to lounge by the pool, that's a great area and is considerably nicer than the rooms themselves. They are large but empty e.g. one chair in a twin bed room. The passageways echo with the sound of other guests and while the restaurant/pool area feels like a contemporary hotel, the rooms feel like something from an older more soviet time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hotel is okay, and the staff seem to be responsive and caring. Location is not convenient to downtown Vientiane, but tuc tucs are readily availabe just outside the hotel to take you wherever you want to go. Restaurant is quite good, and it served a very good buffet breakfast which was included in the room price.

Unfortunately when the temperature reached 42 degrees, the Air Conditioning was not able to adequately cool. I moved out after one night.

Wifi is very slow

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank GypsyBoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent one night here in a room at the back, which faced large trees full of very noisy ciccados!The hotel was very dated and smelt musty on arrival.The beds were very narrow and the breakfast was basic.glad we weren't staying any longer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 892Janpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

in terms as for service for money it was the worst I ever experienced in the last 2 years of traveling. Overpriced. I have nothing against old furniture but when the content of 4 pillows from the last years is compressed it gets stuffed in one which is hard to sleep on...only one example of what the rooms are like.
Breakfast is very basic too.
staff was friendly.
I'm surprised to find such a bad quality under the accor group. They need a clear Quality Management Check up and Audit.
Not recommendet!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Franz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.6 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
#18 of 93 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mandala Boutique Hotel
Mandala Boutique Hotel
#20 of 93 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rashmi's Plaza Hotel
Rashmi's Plaza Hotel
#25 of 93 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Vientiane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Vientiane

Property: Mercure Vientiane
Address: Unit 10 Samsenthai Road | PO Box 585, Vientiane 8562, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Vientiane 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Vientiane is a 4 star hotel located close to both the centre of Vientiane and the airport. As the ideal location for business trips and holidays, the hotel offers a range of conference and leisure facilities. Featuring 172 rooms, the hotel also boasts an executive floor. Relax with a drink while listening to music in one of our three bars, or enjoy a meal in our restaurant. We also offer a fitness centre, outdoor pool, sauna and tennis court. Parking is available for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Vientiane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Vientiane Hotel Vientiane
Hotel Accor Vientiane
Novotel Vientiane
Vientiane Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing